BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-28-2011, 10:03 PM   #1
AW128i
Major
AW128i's Avatar
United_States
18
Rep
1,004
Posts

 
Drives: E82 N51
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Southeastern, PA

iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to AW128i
TPMS problem...search didn't turn up anything

The TPMS light came on yesterday morning and so I checked the tires and everything seemed normal. Drove to work and back, let car sit for a couple hours and pressures were reading a few psi higher than they were in the AM, but I added a couple psi of air just in case. No luck, TPMS light still on. Checked again today and pressures were where I left them the day prior. Recommended pressures are 32 front/35 rear (non-sport package) and that's where I normally keep them. Right now they're at 33 front/36 rear and the light is still on. I'm using the same pressure gauge I've always used and it's a manual gauge so I don't think that's a variable. If a battery goes bad in one of the sensors, would it trigger the light?
Appreciate 0
      07-28-2011, 10:41 PM   #2
kkrikkett
Second Lieutenant
kkrikkett's Avatar
Canada
5
Rep
273
Posts

 
Drives: 09 135
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: BC

iTrader: (4)

reset it
Appreciate 0
      07-29-2011, 06:05 AM   #3
AW128i
Major
AW128i's Avatar
United_States
18
Rep
1,004
Posts

 
Drives: E82 N51
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Southeastern, PA

iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to AW128i
If only it were that simple. It won't let me reset it, and comes up with a message that says Tire Low when I try to.
Appreciate 0
      07-29-2011, 03:41 PM   #4
Nitroxide
Banned
0
Rep
71
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 135i
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Vancouver BC

iTrader: (0)

Had this before. It was the sensor "Base" in one of the wheels. Does yours tell you what wheel specifically? That sensor is probably fucked.
Appreciate 0
      07-29-2011, 05:33 PM   #5
Dackelone
Moderator
Dackelone's Avatar
Germany
690
Rep
16,668
Posts

 
Drives: 135i Silber mit/Rot 6MT N54
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bayern, Germany

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AW128i View Post
If only it were that simple. It won't let me reset it, and comes up with a message that says Tire Low when I try to.

You have tp reset the TPMS target pressure while NOT moving. Reset it via the BC and then drive the car for a few miles. The BC should "learn" the new target pressure for the tires.

You can not acess the BC TPMS resetting screen while moving.
Appreciate 0
      07-29-2011, 05:34 PM   #6
AW128i
Major
AW128i's Avatar
United_States
18
Rep
1,004
Posts

 
Drives: E82 N51
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Southeastern, PA

iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to AW128i
Checked the pressure before I left work today and everything is normal still. Started the car and the TPMS light is gone and it stayed off for the duration of the 35 mile drive home. Weird!
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 AM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST