BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-16-2011, 05:14 AM   #1
Vtec Abuser
First Lieutenant
 
Vtec Abuser's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 135i DCT
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Every-bloody-where..

Posts: 351
iTrader: (0)

N55 + DCT + LC + 1/4 Mile Strip =

FAIL!!!!!

Right guys, wondered if you can help?
I took my 2011 135i DCT to our local FIA approved 1/4 mile strip yesterday to give the old girl a few runs.
I have ran at this strip for many years and have run many cars there in that time ( bit of an addict ). This strip is seen as the most accurate (although not always the quickest) 1/4 mile strip in the country, mainly due to it hosting Top Fuel events and European championships (FIA approved). So what most people use as a marker.. http://www.santapod.co.uk/
Anyway I had previously tried running my 1er at a organised 0-60 / 1/4 mile event which was set up on an old airfield (just for fun). The surface was by no means smooth and no matter how many times I tried to launch the 1er with LC, the car would leave the line fine but then the stability control would through a fit and cut all the power in first After being confused for a good while, I put it down to the electronics not liking the surface and as soon as it hit a bump under load, the stability would call it a day.
You can here the power being cut just after the car leaves the line on this vid and also see the black lines of tarmac that caused the problem..




Now with LC not being available when stability control is switched off, this then left you with a tick over launch mixed with a bit of lag. In other words, a waste of time if you're after a good 1/4 mile time. So I gave up...
I was then able to strap a V-Box to the car after this event and on a smooth surface to see what the car would actually do under normal circumstances. Data came back with :-
0-60mph = 4.5
0-100mph = 9.9

So I knew the car had potential..

Anyway, after this disappointment I thought no worries, as with Santa Pod being a proper drag strip the electronics would not spoil the party there and all would be fine. So yesterday I headed there with my new non-runflat rubber fitted and see what the car can do.. Guess what? Same problem again This strip is pretty smooth with only a few minor imperfections on the start line. But no matter how many times I tried, the stability light just flashed on every run and cut power in 1st AGAIN!!! I was getting a bit of axle tramp on each run, so not sure whether that had anything to do with it?
Basically I was left with the option of going home very early or doing a few runs with stability off and launching from tick over revs This was the outcome (best run), but just check out the 60ft time




Temp was between 15oC - 17.5oC (60-62oF) and the car has a Stage 1 flash but otherwise bone stock, bar the change to non-runflats.
I was hoping to take the 1er to a few 1/4 events over the next couple of years, but unless there is a solution to this there is just no point. Now with me being a bit of a 1/4 mile fan, I would find this fairly gutting to be honest. The real odd thing about it all is that on the road the LC works fine!!!, So i'm a bit

So guys, am I screwed? Or is there another solution to get this bloody thing to launch on anything other than a glass-like, flat surface?
I know there is plenty of you that have managed to run their car with LC on the 1/4 mile, so what am I doing wrong?
Sorry for the long rant/post. Just a bit disappointed with this set up tbh
My last car (Mk5 Golf GTI) had the DSG box and the LC on that was 100x better as it also allowed you to launch at what revs you wanted under the default 3k+, which was very handy with it being modded and 2wd.

Thanks in advance..

Last edited by Vtec Abuser; 10-16-2011 at 05:26 AM.
Vtec Abuser is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-16-2011, 04:36 PM   #2
gdub
Private First Class
 
Drives: none
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: dfw

Posts: 142
iTrader: (0)

The re090s on the car no matter in what condition, are AWFUL. I'd be willing to bet if you got some nitto 555r you wouldn't get the traction control issue at the track.
gdub is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-16-2011, 04:50 PM   #3
Vtec Abuser
First Lieutenant
 
Vtec Abuser's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 135i DCT
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Every-bloody-where..

Posts: 351
iTrader: (0)

I have Goodyear Eagle F1 Asy 2's all round now mate (non runflat). But road legal track rubber would give more grip, no doubt. Just not an option for me as a full time set up with work etc. Plus I like to run my car on the strip as it is 100% of the time (ie road trim)..
Vtec Abuser is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-17-2011, 02:14 PM   #4
GeeRam
Captain
 
GeeRam's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London,UK

Posts: 872
iTrader: (0)

I'm confused.... that vid clip isn't at the Pod...???
__________________
2011 135i M-Sport Coupe DCT ~ Bluewater:Coral Red | BMWP CF spoiler & BMWPE | Birds B1 suspension | Forge FMIC | Hartge footrest | Alufelgen CS7 & Pirelli P Zero

2012 Harley Davidson Softail Slim ~ lots of mods
GeeRam is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      10-17-2011, 10:19 PM   #5
Pangloss
Lieutenant
 
Pangloss's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 135i Convertible
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: South Florida

Posts: 563
iTrader: (0)

I don't know why people are posting tire suggestions. Bad tires aren't costing him a full second of 0-60 time. Something else is wrong.
__________________
2012 135i convertible, DCT, Black/Beige, HK, Prem, M sport, no nav.
Pangloss is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-18-2011, 02:55 AM   #6
Vtec Abuser
First Lieutenant
 
Vtec Abuser's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 135i DCT
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Every-bloody-where..

Posts: 351
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pangloss View Post
I don't know why people are posting tire suggestions. Bad tires aren't costing him a full second of 0-60 time. Something else is wrong.
Exactly mate, traction isn't the issue, electronics are..
Vtec Abuser is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-18-2011, 04:21 AM   #7
RimasRS
Colonel
 
RimasRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i MT 2009 AW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Europe

Posts: 2,396
iTrader: (0)

I think you want procede with boost limit in a 1st gear. You said you have a flash tune so that makes me think that electronics of LC is adjusted for oem power to go with least of wheel spin. Now when you have flashed your car it just doesn't work right.
RimasRS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-18-2011, 05:11 AM   #8
Vtec Abuser
First Lieutenant
 
Vtec Abuser's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 135i DCT
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Every-bloody-where..

Posts: 351
iTrader: (0)

Could be an option mate. Possible fail safe that the stability cuts in if too much power, torque and traction are combined maybe?
Strange thing is, it works fine on the road... Maybe something to do with the drag strip surface, who knows..
Vtec Abuser is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-18-2011, 05:38 AM   #9
RimasRS
Colonel
 
RimasRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i MT 2009 AW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Europe

Posts: 2,396
iTrader: (0)

Or try to save money for LSD it's expensive but car get's different level on street and drag strip and also track
RimasRS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-18-2011, 05:41 AM   #10
RimasRS
Colonel
 
RimasRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i MT 2009 AW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Europe

Posts: 2,396
iTrader: (0)

Read #2 post on this thread http://www.1addicts.com/forums/showthread.php?t=599576
RimasRS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-18-2011, 08:00 AM   #11
Vtec Abuser
First Lieutenant
 
Vtec Abuser's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 135i DCT
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Every-bloody-where..

Posts: 351
iTrader: (0)

Nice find mate.. Seems like i'm not the only one then.. Such a shame mine wouldn't hook up and do a 2.0 60ft As there would be a 12.5-12.6 there for sure...
Vtec Abuser is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-18-2011, 09:36 AM   #12
RimasRS
Colonel
 
RimasRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i MT 2009 AW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Europe

Posts: 2,396
iTrader: (0)

Read about Procede tune maybe you will be interested in that tune. It will open even more possibilities for you.
RimasRS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-18-2011, 02:18 PM   #13
JimmyT
Redneck Engineer
 
JimmyT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 135i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Washington

Posts: 435
iTrader: (0)

Just a question? Are u shifting the car in manual mode, or letting the car shift itself in sport mode? What Icon is in the driver's display when you are using launch control? I'm thinking that something else is wrong just based on you 60' foot times, but your trap speed is very respectable for just a stage I tune. BTW, which tune are you using?
__________________
JimmyT is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-19-2011, 01:03 PM   #14
Vtec Abuser
First Lieutenant
 
Vtec Abuser's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 135i DCT
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Every-bloody-where..

Posts: 351
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyT View Post
Just a question? Are u shifting the car in manual mode, or letting the car shift itself in sport mode? What Icon is in the driver's display when you are using launch control? I'm thinking that something else is wrong just based on you 60' foot times, but your trap speed is very respectable for just a stage I tune. BTW, which tune are you using?
M mode and chequered flag on view, so definitely LC. But no matter what I did when using it, the stability/traction control light would start flashing and would cut the power in 1st gear every time (hence the poor 60ft time).
I am quite experienced on the 1/4 mile and managed a 12.7 @ 114mph from my Mk5 Golf GTI in full road trim, standard road rubber and no diff. But the LC on that allowed you to dial in whatever revs you want under the default 3k (something the DCT won't allow) and also had stability/traction off when in use. Still wasn't easy though putting the same power as the 1er through the front wheels with no diff or sticky rubber.. Even that managed a 2.28 60ft though... Just shows what a problem this LC is causing..

Software is DMS mate..
Vtec Abuser is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-20-2011, 11:05 PM   #15
slim_e90
First Lieutenant
 
slim_e90's Avatar
 
Drives: BSM E-88
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Naaaashville, TN

Posts: 343
iTrader: (4)

Try 2nd??

Did you try launching in second gear without LC on... But with TC off? That may get you better results. This car has enough TQ especially when tuned to pull hard from low rpm's in 2nd.
__________________

|move over... please|
slim_e90 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-21-2011, 01:59 AM   #16
RimasRS
Colonel
 
RimasRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i MT 2009 AW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Europe

Posts: 2,396
iTrader: (0)

I don't think that this is ^^^^ the proper way to launch
RimasRS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-21-2011, 07:38 AM   #17
ZED4Mjjl
Private First Class
 
ZED4Mjjl's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 Z4 M Roadster
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Broward, FL

Posts: 103
iTrader: (0)

Don't you have to turn off DTC before using LC? That's what the manual says. Also it recommends that you don't disable DSC, but you can by keeping the DTC button pressed a few seconds. It works well that way on my AA flashed '12 everything off, you get wheel spin but controlled by milder intervention.
__________________
12' 135i DCT, Convertible, Triple black, Nav, Apps, BMW Shadow Grilles, LCD interior lighting, BMW PE, Michelin PSS.
06' M Roadster, SMB/Red, AA Tune, K&N, Remus Exhaust, ZHP shift knob, Hyperblack M Rims.
09' BMW 328i Touring, Monaco Blue, Panoramic roof, Nav.
ZED4Mjjl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-23-2011, 01:59 AM   #18
BimmerEngineer
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008/2011 135
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: U.S. someplace

Posts: 222
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZED4Mjjl View Post
Don't you have to turn off DTC before using LC? That's what the manual says. Also it recommends that you don't disable DSC, but you can by keeping the DTC button pressed a few seconds. It works well that way on my AA flashed '12 everything off, you get wheel spin but controlled by milder intervention.
You have to press and hold for 3-5 seconds, the the DTC button down till you have a little triangle with a start cirle around it in the interface in the dash, that means all electronics are OFF... Also, MANY magazines and experiensed racers, (about 10% of the guys in the forums) have tried LC and it's about the best way to run crappy times.... Slicks or drag radials are recomended on the car and warm them properly in LC mode..... BFg drag radials are the stickiest on the planet... I've tried every brand of DR and none can hold a candle to bfg's... BFg's are the only DR tire to earn the nickname "axle snappers"... Because they BITE!!!
BimmerEngineer is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-23-2011, 07:44 AM   #19
Freon
Captain
 
Drives: 2009 135i
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indianapolis

Posts: 787
iTrader: (2)

2.4s 60 ft time is a bad launch. 110mph shows you're putting plenty of power down. Actually the video didn't look that bad, so not sure what else to say. That doesn't look like a 2.4s launch.
__________________
2009 BMW 135i, 6 MT, M Sport, DIY DCI, Cobb AP, Apex 18x8.5+9.5, 235/265 Starspecs
Freon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-23-2011, 10:59 AM   #20
Vtec Abuser
First Lieutenant
 
Vtec Abuser's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 135i DCT
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Every-bloody-where..

Posts: 351
iTrader: (0)

The video was from a different event mate. The car gets off the line fine on that run, but as soon as it was hitting those black bums/lines it set the stability control off and cut power in first (same as when traction control cuts in)..
The 2.4 is crap because I had to leave the line on tick-over revs and lag before the car gets going. LC just doesn't work on the 1/4 on my car now it's mapped. Power just gets cut in 1st on every run..
Vtec Abuser is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 AM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST