BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-16-2012, 06:01 AM   #45
_Ryan_
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: E87 130i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The Hills.

Posts: 286
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimMc
Sadly, I didn't put the new discs & pads in myself

The workshop who put in my DPs the week before last noticed my performance discs were cracked though all the drill holes. Pads were ~2/3s worn & car's done 23,000km (about 14,000 miles for the imperialists). As they already had the car in bits I've gave them the original discs I removed when the car was new & a new set of OEM pads to install. They put these in but I didn't ask them specifically about the sensors. Maybe they stuffed up here? Alarm didn't come up until a week later so I presume the sensor was at least working when they handed the car back to me.

I'll check the sensor myself. Just one on each axle isn't there? Which side on the front?
Left on the front for me.
_Ryan_ is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      04-16-2012, 06:01 AM   #46
Dackelone
Moderator
 
Dackelone's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i Silber mit/Rot 6MT N54
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bayern, Germany

Posts: 15,769
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimMc View Post
...I'll check the sensor myself. Just one on each axle isn't there? Which side on the front?

Ok, so it sounds like the just reused your old sensor. ?

The front left has a pad wear sensor and the rear right has a pad sensor. Only one per axle. I bet all you need is a new sensor and then reset the light with my DIY.
Dackelone is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      04-16-2012, 07:06 AM   #47
TimMc
Lieutenant Colonel
 
TimMc's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i SCT N54
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posts: 1,848
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Ryan_ View Post
Left on the front for me.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dackelone View Post
Ok, so it sounds like the just reused your old sensor. ?

The front left has a pad wear sensor and the rear right has a pad sensor. Only one per axle. I bet all you need is a new sensor and then reset the light with my DIY.
Thanks both of you.
Excuse my obvious ignorance here (I come from a long line of E30s with the sensors removed), but can't you just reuse the old sensor if it wasn't worn/tripped before?
__________________
Driving - Man 135 (LeMans/Black). BMW Perf SW & SSK. Quaife LSD, KW V2s, Ground Control camber plates, M3 front Control Arms & SB, Helix IC, AR DPs, PROcede V5, ER CP, Forge DVs, BMS OCC, Setrab OC, P3 Gauge.
Riding - ZX14R Kwaka, Avanti Aggressor, Malvern Star Equipe, Mini Mal.
Proudly from the Shire.
TimMc is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      04-16-2012, 07:21 AM   #48
TimMc
Lieutenant Colonel
 
TimMc's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i SCT N54
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posts: 1,848
iTrader: (0)

May have answered this myself... Looks like mine could have been reused without issue. I'll check the connection.

http://www.pelicanparts.com/bmw/tech...Brake_Pads.htm

"If your brake sensors activated the lamp on your dashboard, they should be replaced with new ones. Disconnect the sensor (Figure 14), and plug in the new one. Then snap the new sensor into the small gap in the brake pad (Figure 15)."

"Rick Comments: I have a 2008 528xi with 31,000 miles. The brake light sensor has not gone off yet but I am replacing all the pads anyway. Do I have to replace the sensors when I do the pads?
April 5, 2011
Followup from the Pelican Staff: If the light has not gone off, then you probably don't need to replace the sensors. I would take a close look at them when you remove them from the pads - make sure that they have not started to wear at all, and are like new. If yes, then simply reinstall them into the new pads - don't even unplug them, as that can sometimes cause issues if the plugs don't seat properly. - Wayne at Pelican Parts"
TimMc is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      04-16-2012, 10:21 AM   #49
Dackelone
Moderator
 
Dackelone's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i Silber mit/Rot 6MT N54
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bayern, Germany

Posts: 15,769
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimMc View Post
Thanks both of you.
Excuse my obvious ignorance here (I come from a long line of E30s with the sensors removed), but can't you just reuse the old sensor if it wasn't worn/tripped before?

Not really - bc the old sensor is very brittle, it is hard to reuse. You could "bypass" the sensor by cutting off the sensor short up by teh connector - then solder the two wires together. Some people on older cars do that. But then your pad light will never come on. And on our 1er's the rear pads go fast(bc of the DTC).

Dack
Dackelone is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      04-16-2012, 12:49 PM   #50
DriveHard
Lieutenant Colonel
 
DriveHard's Avatar
 
Drives: 128i M-Sport
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Long Island

Posts: 1,966
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimMc View Post
Thanks both of you.
Excuse my obvious ignorance here (I come from a long line of E30s with the sensors removed), but can't you just reuse the old sensor if it wasn't worn/tripped before?
dack is correct, but i have found that if you are real carefull and pull the sensors out carefully you can re use them .. the biggest issue is the littl clip that is wrapped around the sensor head.. this tends to loose its tension once removed, but a quick squeeze and its good to go.. If the clip breaks, you have to buy the whole sensor..
__________________
'11 128i M-Sport Pkg, Sport Susp., 6AT w/paddles, BMW Perf CAI,Charcoal Filter Delete, BMW Perf. Big Brake Kit, BMW Perf. Exhaust, Ferodo 2500's, Titanium shims,135 trunk lip, BMS-PBX Box-Map 3, Castrol RBF600 ,e93 FSB, , f30 Backing Plates,GC Camber Plates, Hankook RS-3's (Track setup)
DriveHard is offline   Colombia
0
Reply With Quote
      04-17-2012, 04:55 AM   #51
TimMc
Lieutenant Colonel
 
TimMc's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i SCT N54
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posts: 1,848
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dackelone View Post
Not really - bc the old sensor is very brittle, it is hard to reuse. You could "bypass" the sensor by cutting off the sensor short up by teh connector - then solder the two wires together. Some people on older cars do that. But then your pad light will never come on. And on our 1er's the rear pads go fast(bc of the DTC).

Dack
I've just bought a new front sensor... Will check it all out in the morning.
Yeah I've done the bypass/short thing on my old E30s. Don't want to do it on the E82.
I fixed the rear brake issue with my Quaife.
__________________
Driving - Man 135 (LeMans/Black). BMW Perf SW & SSK. Quaife LSD, KW V2s, Ground Control camber plates, M3 front Control Arms & SB, Helix IC, AR DPs, PROcede V5, ER CP, Forge DVs, BMS OCC, Setrab OC, P3 Gauge.
Riding - ZX14R Kwaka, Avanti Aggressor, Malvern Star Equipe, Mini Mal.
Proudly from the Shire.
TimMc is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      04-17-2012, 04:57 AM   #52
TimMc
Lieutenant Colonel
 
TimMc's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i SCT N54
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posts: 1,848
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DriveHard View Post
dack is correct, but i have found that if you are real carefull and pull the sensors out carefully you can re use them .. the biggest issue is the littl clip that is wrapped around the sensor head.. this tends to loose its tension once removed, but a quick squeeze and its good to go.. If the clip breaks, you have to buy the whole sensor..
Taa. I'll check this out in the morning. If it's unserviceable I'll put the new one in & attempt a reset again.
TimMc is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      04-17-2012, 10:47 PM   #53
TimMc
Lieutenant Colonel
 
TimMc's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i SCT N54
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posts: 1,848
iTrader: (0)

Yeah, they'd broken the sensor somehow. New one installed & all good
TimMc is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      04-18-2012, 06:40 AM   #54
Dackelone
Moderator
 
Dackelone's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i Silber mit/Rot 6MT N54
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bayern, Germany

Posts: 15,769
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimMc View Post
Yeah, they'd broken the sensor somehow. New one installed & all good

Glad you fixed it.
Dackelone is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      04-19-2012, 02:50 AM   #55
TimMc
Lieutenant Colonel
 
TimMc's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i SCT N54
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posts: 1,848
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dackelone View Post
Glad you fixed it.
'Glad you guys pointed me in the right direction!
TimMc is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      04-19-2012, 11:20 AM   #56
DriveHard
Lieutenant Colonel
 
DriveHard's Avatar
 
Drives: 128i M-Sport
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Long Island

Posts: 1,966
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimMc View Post
'Glad you guys pointed me in the right direction!
Your welcome !!
__________________
'11 128i M-Sport Pkg, Sport Susp., 6AT w/paddles, BMW Perf CAI,Charcoal Filter Delete, BMW Perf. Big Brake Kit, BMW Perf. Exhaust, Ferodo 2500's, Titanium shims,135 trunk lip, BMS-PBX Box-Map 3, Castrol RBF600 ,e93 FSB, , f30 Backing Plates,GC Camber Plates, Hankook RS-3's (Track setup)
DriveHard is offline   Colombia
0
Reply With Quote
      04-23-2012, 11:42 AM   #57
RimasRS
Colonel
 
RimasRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i MT 2009 AW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Europe

Posts: 2,396
iTrader: (0)

Is it same resetting service lights for cars equipped with I-Drive
RimasRS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-23-2012, 12:18 PM   #58
Dackelone
Moderator
 
Dackelone's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i Silber mit/Rot 6MT N54
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bayern, Germany

Posts: 15,769
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RimasRS View Post
Is it same resetting service lights for cars equipped with I-Drive

Yes, I believe so. I know you can also reset these service due lights with a BT scan tool as well. But I still use my method... it is so much easier. Even the guys at my BMW Zentrum do it this way!
Dackelone is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      04-26-2012, 05:05 AM   #59
sharkatron
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: `09 135i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Melbourne

Posts: 387
iTrader: (0)

And here I was 2 clicks away from buying the BT tool! Some very useful information. Just one thing though, if I intend to change my oil more frequently, can I enter manually a shorter amount of Kms prior to having the indicator go off? For example, instead of the indicator going off after 15000Kms, can I set it to say, 7500Kms?
sharkatron is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      04-26-2012, 09:56 AM   #60
Dackelone
Moderator
 
Dackelone's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i Silber mit/Rot 6MT N54
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bayern, Germany

Posts: 15,769
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sharkatron View Post
And here I was 2 clicks away from buying the BT tool! Some very useful information. Just one thing though, if I intend to change my oil more frequently, can I enter manually a shorter amount of Kms prior to having the indicator go off? For example, instead of the indicator going off after 15000Kms, can I set it to say, 7500Kms?

Not with resetting the oil service lights via the BC. But I think with the BT tool you can. There is an adjustment tab/button in the BT menu... (see photo bellow - far right tab)

Name:  IMG_9142.jpg
Views: 1093
Size:  126.7 KB

Sorry for the lousy photo. The reason I was just looking at the Condition Based Service (CBS) menu (w/my BT software) was I was curious IF the car knows when someone changes the oil but doesn't reset the CBS lights. I have read that the electronic dip stick also has a sensor for oil quality. Well.. the computer does NOT know. At least with the BT when looking at the CBS menu... it still showed an oil change coming soon. Even though I had fresh oil in the engine.

What I would do is just change the oil more often... and not reset the lights while your car is under the warranty. Then later when the car goes out of the free maintanence, you can use this DIY to reset your CBS lights.
Dackelone is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      04-27-2012, 08:00 AM   #61
sharkatron
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: `09 135i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Melbourne

Posts: 387
iTrader: (0)

Thanks for taking the time to take the photo, and the info Dackel. Now I guess I have to weigh up whether it's worth getting the BT tool just so I can adjust the values for oil servicing. Though obviously, there are other benefits and uses to be had by owning a BT tool...

My car is 6 months from going out of warranty, and I'm thinking of just doing the servicing myself - i was a bit peeved that they charged me nearly $200 just for inspection at the last 'service'. No actual 'servicing' as such. So I'm a bit wary about the costs of fluid replacement etc... I feel my money might be better spent on mods and DIY service equipment. Though knowing my luck, something will happen before the warranty expires, and I won't be covered cos I've tinkered with the car already
sharkatron is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      04-27-2012, 03:48 PM   #62
1911A145
Captain
 
1911A145's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Port Saint Lucie, FL

Posts: 771
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sharkatron View Post
Though knowing my luck, something will happen before the warranty expires, and I won't be covered cos I've tinkered with the car already
You gotta pay to play...
1911A145 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-11-2012, 10:21 PM   #63
1Fasst1
Second Lieutenant
 
1Fasst1's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 135i, Jet Black 6MT
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: North Carolina

Posts: 222
iTrader: (0)

Great thread,However I got one issue using this method. Jut got back from having my annuel oil change and dealer noticed in two months the brake fluid flush was due so he decided to do it along with the oil ch. The brake flush indicator was not reset so I tried this method. Mashed the trip indicator until I got the yellow triangle came on but as soon as i released the button the triangle went off and the cluster went back to normal.Hold the button to long and goes into the hidden menu.Am I doing something wrong or could the car have had a SW update that would prevent this. Car is 09 135i.Thanks for any input.
1Fasst1 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-12-2012, 01:21 AM   #64
Dackelone
Moderator
 
Dackelone's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i Silber mit/Rot 6MT N54
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bayern, Germany

Posts: 15,769
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1Fasst1 View Post
Great thread,However I got one issue using this method. Jut got back from having my annuel oil change and dealer noticed in two months the brake fluid flush was due so he decided to do it along with the oil ch. The brake flush indicator was not reset so I tried this method. Mashed the trip indicator until I got the yellow triangle came on but as soon as i released the button the triangle went off and the cluster went back to normal.Hold the button to long and goes into the hidden menu.Am I doing something wrong or could the car have had a SW update that would prevent this. Car is 09 135i.Thanks for any input.


You probably did it wrong. This method works - as as using the BT tool also can reset the service due lights.

After resetting the lights, one should always go back into the service menu screen on the BC and see what it reads. Then you know IF you did it correct of not.
Dackelone is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      05-12-2012, 10:06 AM   #65
1Fasst1
Second Lieutenant
 
1Fasst1's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 135i, Jet Black 6MT
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: North Carolina

Posts: 222
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dackelone View Post
You probably did it wrong. This method works - as as using the BT tool also can reset the service due lights.

After resetting the lights, one should always go back into the service menu screen on the BC and see what it reads. Then you know IF you did it correct of not.
Just thought I would let you know that I finally got it to reset. I did notice that the only way I got the brake fluid flush to work was to have the ignition on but the car not running. Thanks for the info
1Fasst1 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-01-2012, 03:48 AM   #66
help me
New Member
 
Drives: black on black 135i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: western sydney

Posts: 17
iTrader: (0)

Thumbs up

Thanks will help when I change the engine oil next week
help me is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 AM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST