BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-26-2012, 04:31 PM   #1
Mr. Clarkson
Lieutenant
 
Mr. Clarkson's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 135i
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: San Diego

Posts: 541
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 135i  [0.00]
Updating Your CIC Navigation Reasonably

Normally, for those of us with CIC navigation systems, this is a relatively expensive and time-consuming process. Usually costing around $400, and taking 3 hours to complete.

Who has time for that? Not me.

Updating Your CIC Navigation Reasonably

Things you'll need
  • A laptop (possibly)
  • 1 (2 if you want the process to take less time) 16gb USB flash sticks
  • The 2012 CIC Professional maps DVDs or a torrent of them
  • A BMW FSC authorization code

As for the DVDs, you can buy them from a local dealer, or from this dealer online http://www.trademotion.com/parts/ind...&siteid=214672.

Those should be the right discs, although I didn't use them.

I spent a few days getting the following torrent to use instead: http://www.demonoid.me/files/details...0012784238604/

As far as the FSC code, BMW usually wants you to pay around $300 to get one from a dealer, but you can contact ***************** and paypal him 60 Euros (roughly $81 on the day I did it) and send him your VIN, and he'll email you your code. The code is tied to your VIN, so you can't use someone else's code.

Having saved hundreds of dollars on our FSC code already, we now want to do this update is a reasonable amount of time. If you bought the DVDs, you can put them in your computer to get access to the files. If you got the torrent, you'll see all the DVD images like below:



Which you can mount on your computer to see the same files as if you had inserted a physical DVD:



Now, the idea is to make three folders on either your laptop, or desktop, computer, one for each disc contents, and a text file to remember what your FSC code is; such as below:



Then being the process of copying all the disc contents to their respective folders:



With all the update files on your computer, you can now put the contents of the disc 1 folder on your USB flash drive and go out to your car. Once there, simply plug the USB stick into the glove box USB port, and turn the ignition on (but you don't need to start the engine).



The CIC system will recognize the update files, and prompt you as such:



Click "Start Update", and then enter your FSC code on the next screen:



With the correct code entered, the car will begin copying the files over to the internal hard drive. This takes roughly 15 or so minutes per copied disc, so if you have two USB sticks, now is the perfect time to being copying the second discs contents to the other stick for when the first one is done.



If you ever lose the update screen, simply go back to the main navigation map view and press the "options" button and scroll down to find this menu item, which will take you back to the progress bar:



When the first stick is done, you'll see the following screen:



Insert your second USB stick, with the disc 2 contents on it now. If you only have one stick, the process will take longer, as copying the files to the stick takes as long as copying them to the car itself, effectively doubling the time it takes to shuffle the data around.

You'll see another screen when it's time to insert the disc 3 contents, which can be placed on the same stick you used for disc 1, which had its contents replaced while disc 2 was being copied to the car.

Eventually, after about 45 minutes, you'll see what you've been waiting for:



And the car will prompt you to restart the nav system:



That's it.


Here's where I started from:



And here's where I finished at:




I did this update over my lunch break at work and only cost me $100

Hints

Luckily, the car is smart enough to remember where its update progress is, so even if you drive around, or the car turns off, when you turn it back on, it'll continue updating, as long as the same stick is still in the USB slot.

You can also use the nav system still while updating, as it copies the files to an update swap space on the hard drive while updating, and only changes the files when it restarts itself.
__________________


Mr. Clarkson is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-26-2012, 06:19 PM   #2
1Freak
Enlisted Member
 
1Freak's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 135i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina

Posts: 34
iTrader: (0)

CIC

Thanks for the USB info. I had seen where it could be done on one USB with Linux. But didn't want to wipe my USB.

+1 to ******* cost me $80 for the FSC

I burnt mine to three DVD+R/DL disk.



It took me two and half hours. Enough time to wash and wax the car.

The new POIs are a little off. There are randem stores at peoples houses. Unless it's something I don't know about.
Also night mode does not auto switch. And if you have on traffic you don't get a POI overlay.
1Freak is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-26-2012, 06:22 PM   #3
Mr. Clarkson
Lieutenant
 
Mr. Clarkson's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 135i
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: San Diego

Posts: 541
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 135i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1Freak View Post
Also night mode does not auto switch. And if you have on traffic you don't get a POI overlay.
That would be a firmware issue, not a map one.

These maps might not even work on some CIC units if the firmware isn't up to date enough. I had mine updated probably 6 months ago.
__________________


Mr. Clarkson is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-26-2012, 06:25 PM   #4
1Freak
Enlisted Member
 
1Freak's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 135i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina

Posts: 34
iTrader: (0)

CIC

Mine is an 09. Has someone else updated and had POI problems.

Last edited by 1Freak; 04-27-2012 at 03:56 PM.
1Freak is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-27-2012, 06:27 AM   #5
1Freak
Enlisted Member
 
1Freak's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 135i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina

Posts: 34
iTrader: (0)

Nightmode

I only found the 7 series to have an auto night mode.
Maybe with your MY 11 they changed with the Connected Drive.

I setup my preset button 6 to switch to night mode. The picture is from a 7 series.


Last edited by 1Freak; 04-27-2012 at 06:32 AM.
1Freak is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-27-2012, 06:33 AM   #6
BMW86
Major General
 
Drives: 135i CLA45 AMG Ninja
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Australia

Posts: 8,934
iTrader: (0)

I purchased the 2012 maps from the same person. Great service and excellent price.

Only downside for me is the POI are off, a lot of POI are missing in the search results too. Bit disappointed with this because I use the POI search function regularly.
__________________
BMW 135i N54 TWIN TURBO
Quarter Mile 12.173@113.70mph - Street Tyres
Queensland Raceway Sprint 1:01:22 - Street Tyres
Queensland Raceway Clubman 1:04:74 - Street Tyres
Lakeside Raceway 1:03:97 - Street Tyres
BMW86 is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      04-27-2012, 06:40 AM   #7
1Freak
Enlisted Member
 
1Freak's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 135i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina

Posts: 34
iTrader: (0)

CIC

Glad to see it's not just me with the POI problems.
1Freak is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-27-2012, 07:02 AM   #8
BMW86
Major General
 
Drives: 135i CLA45 AMG Ninja
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Australia

Posts: 8,934
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1Freak View Post
Glad to see it's not just me with the POI problems.
I emailed him about it around 5 days ago and he said I was the first to complain about the maps. I also noticed some of the new roads that I drive on have not been included in the 2012 navigation maps either, even though the roads have been around for 12+ months

I can't complain too much for the money I paid, however, I wish I could somehow keep my old POI's!
__________________
BMW 135i N54 TWIN TURBO
Quarter Mile 12.173@113.70mph - Street Tyres
Queensland Raceway Sprint 1:01:22 - Street Tyres
Queensland Raceway Clubman 1:04:74 - Street Tyres
Lakeside Raceway 1:03:97 - Street Tyres
BMW86 is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      04-30-2012, 01:20 AM   #9
christopherkriens
.
 
Drives: 2011 BMW 135i Coupé
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Minnesota

Posts: 259
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2011 BMW 135i  [4.31]
Regarding the FSC Code, is this something that can only be used once? Only be used for a certain year of maps?
__________________
2011 Black Sapphire Metallic / Coral Red
christopherkriens is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-01-2012, 07:18 PM   #10
Mr. Clarkson
Lieutenant
 
Mr. Clarkson's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 135i
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: San Diego

Posts: 541
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 135i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by christopherkriens View Post
Regarding the FSC Code, is this something that can only be used once? Only be used for a certain year of maps?
Yes
__________________


Mr. Clarkson is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-31-2012, 12:26 PM   #11
nnguyen04
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 08 135i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 307
iTrader: (3)

Is it the same process for 08 idrive 135i?
nnguyen04 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-31-2012, 07:02 PM   #12
Mr. Clarkson
Lieutenant
 
Mr. Clarkson's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 135i
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: San Diego

Posts: 541
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 135i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by nnguyen04 View Post
Is it the same process for 08 idrive 135i?
I believe that's pre CIC hard-drive-based navigation.
__________________


Mr. Clarkson is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-01-2012, 10:19 AM   #13
nnguyen04
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 08 135i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 307
iTrader: (3)

yea it use a single dvd
nnguyen04 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-01-2012, 10:55 AM   #14
BFD99
The Stig!
 
BFD99's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 135i 6MT
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Tulsa, Ok

Posts: 890
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2008 BMW 135i  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by nnguyen04 View Post
yea it use a single dvd
I have the 2011 or 2012 update .iso image for the 08 idrive, just haven't done anything with it yet. I just don't know how I'd get it to ya.
__________________
2008 135i - FBO + JB4 15ohm + Water Meth
http://www.1addicts.com/forums/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=136481&dateline=13270  10872
BFD99 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-05-2012, 08:00 PM   #15
Mosey
Registered
 
Drives: 2009 135i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Maryland

Posts: 1
iTrader: (0)

Long time lurker and first time poster here.

Thanks for the great instructions!

I tried to order part number 01990037287 for the maps this week, but I was told the part has been discontinued and my order was canceled.

Last edited by Mosey; 06-09-2012 at 05:45 PM.
Mosey is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-08-2012, 11:34 AM   #16
BostonBeemah
The Stig
 
BostonBeemah's Avatar
 
Drives: AW 135i 6spd
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Belmont, Ma

Posts: 383
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BFD99
Quote:
Originally Posted by nnguyen04 View Post
yea it use a single dvd
I have the 2011 or 2012 update .iso image for the 08 idrive, just haven't done anything with it yet. I just don't know how I'd get it to ya.
How did you get them? Torrent?
__________________

RIP 2008 AW/BL 135illMods: JB4 G5 ISO, 2Step, Raceland DPs,Turbo Back Straight Pipes, BMS DCI, ER CP, HKS BOV, CM10 + CM14 METH, P3 Vent Gauge
Dragstrip: 1.81 60ft 12.2@113 NO METHDynoDayhttp://www.n54tech.com/forums/showthread.php?t=15337
BostonBeemah is offline   Armenia
0
Reply With Quote
      06-11-2012, 12:25 PM   #17
shah269
Captain
 
Drives: 2009
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NJ

Posts: 967
iTrader: (0)

firmware issue?
hey my firmware was so off the mark it threw the car in a tizzy!
the airbags went off line! NICE!
But as soon as that BMW installs the correct updated firmware...you know they want to charge you for that..how nuty is that!...I'll update. Sounds easy enough. Shame about the VIN thing. Talk about making life difficult for no reason!
shah269 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-13-2012, 11:53 AM   #18
luv135i
Captain
 
luv135i's Avatar
 
Drives: White
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: GA

Posts: 836
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Is everyong having trouble with the POI after doing this. Im looking to update my maps...
__________________
2010 135i AW
2011 328i AW
luv135i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-17-2012, 01:55 AM   #19
Southwest1
New Member
 
Drives: 2009 135i
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Santa Fe

Posts: 6
iTrader: (0)

Have any of you that've had POI problems had it resolved with a firmware update? Is there a way to determine what firmware is running? I have a 2009 and would love to try this method as my maps are still 2009-era.
Southwest1 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-26-2012, 03:14 AM   #20
fboutlaw
Cone Cruncher
 
fboutlaw's Avatar
 
Drives: Dinan 135i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cupertino, CA

Posts: 498
iTrader: (3)

+1 to this thread.

Worked for me updating from 2009 to 2012. However, after about 10-15 minutes the car would stop updating for me and each time I'd have to step through the full sequence, so I always needed disk 1 available on a usb key. If doing the update, I recommend having all the files on a 32gb memory stick or and a laptop to flip file names in the case the car goes into idle mode and has to re-kick the update process.
fboutlaw is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-04-2012, 09:47 AM   #21
ekoblenz
New Member
 
Drives: BMW 2011 335ix
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: US

Posts: 1
iTrader: (0)

Problem updating 2012 Map CIC

Hi,
Has anyone encountered the following error when trying to update CIC from USB? If so, whats the cause and fix?

Thank you in advance.
Attached Images
 
ekoblenz is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-04-2012, 12:52 PM   #22
Mr. Clarkson
Lieutenant
 
Mr. Clarkson's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 135i
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: San Diego

Posts: 541
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 135i  [0.00]
You probably didnt get a complete copy of the nav data, and some checksum isn't validating.
__________________


Mr. Clarkson is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16 AM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST