BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-30-2010, 12:08 PM   #45
MikeinAlexandria
Lieutenant
United_States
26

 
Drives: 128i M Sport Convertible
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alexandria, VA


Posts: 567
iTrader: (0)

Thanks for a helpful write up. I took some photos too. Just did my first oil change. Was so busy this summer/fall, that I put 3300 miles on the car before getting to do this. I have to say, the N52 engine is the absolute easiest oil change of any car I have owned. Clearly, much thought went into this. Standard 27 ad 17mm sockets are all you need to get the job done, with some rags and of course a way to recover the used oil. I put the car on ramps, drain the oil into a social pan and then drain the pan into a large Tide plastic container. Makes it easy to drop off at a recycling center or your local gas station.

Changing the filter took only a few seconds, most of the time was spent wiping then holder and replacing the two washers. Seven quarts went in as specified. Now I just need to drive around a little to make sure all is well and run the check oil function on the dash.

Thanks again!
Appreciate 0
      11-17-2010, 08:45 PM   #46
Dackelone
Moderator
Germany
865

 
Dackelone's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i Silber mit/Rot 6MT N54
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bayern, Germany


Posts: 16,561
iTrader: (1)

I just thought I would post here some photos of the German Castrol Edge RS 0W40 LL-4 oil that I use. I really do nit want to turn this trhead into an oil religion thing. I just wanted to put out there what I use.

For the first few oil changes I used Mobil-1's european blend 0W40 LL-1 oil (with the black label). But since I am living and driving in Germany... I realy ought to use a LL4 oil that will work with the low sulphur fuels sold over here. The more I thought about it the more I wanted to make a switch to G.C. (German Castrol).

I am really happy I switched over to German Castrol. My engine is MUCH quieter on cold starts now than it was on Mobil-1. I even saw a recent thread on the 1er forum with the guys there noticing the same thing.

I think its like what Castrol says... "Castrol Oil... is Liquid Engineering... more than just oil".

Here are some pics of what the G.C. oil looks like. I think IF i was back in the states I would only use the BMW Castrol oil. But I can find anyone who will send it over here to my APO. So I am happy using G.C. Btw... I pay "only" ten euros per liter. A five liter jug cost me fifty euros without any German tax! Not bad when you see what the Germans pay for oil! (with tax!)

German Castrol... Castrol Edge RS 0w40 LL-4





Bottle on RIGHT – 0w40 Castrol RS Edge for BMW’s LL-4
[/quote]
Appreciate 0
      11-18-2010, 08:18 AM   #47
wolfe
Lieutenant
39

 
wolfe's Avatar
 
Drives: 128i M-Sport / 944 Turbo S
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA


Posts: 491
iTrader: (1)

Interesting. The "german castrol" lots of people like in the US is branded as syntec (0w30) but I think you can also get some varieties of the edge stuff. I don't know how the two compare though.
Appreciate 0
      10-12-2011, 03:10 AM   #48
Dackelone
Moderator
Germany
865

 
Dackelone's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i Silber mit/Rot 6MT N54
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bayern, Germany


Posts: 16,561
iTrader: (1)

A little bump for an (good) old thread...


Here is the Castrol Edge RS 0w40 LL-4 oil that I use...

Name:  Castrol-EDGE-Formula-RS-0W-40-5L.jpg
Views: 2183
Size:  59.0 KB


And here is the new Castrol Edge FST 0w40 LL-1 oil that replaces the above Castrol oil...

Name:  Castrol_FST_bottles-titanium.png
Views: 2313
Size:  25.0 KB


Btw... I found that the oil depot24 has the best prices on the German Castrol RS Edge 0w40. Here is where I buy mine from:

http://www.oeldepot24.de/catalog/pro...products_id=78

Last edited by Dackelone; 10-20-2011 at 03:02 AM.
Appreciate 0
      03-01-2012, 08:15 AM   #49
dorkdog
Big Mouth No Filter
United_States
40

 
dorkdog's Avatar
 
Drives: 128i Montego Blue 6MT Sport
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Puyallup WA


Posts: 587
iTrader: (0)

Topside oil change?

For awhile now I have been doing topside oil changes - on my Z3, my MINI and my wife's Fanta Fe. Now that I have a 128i in the drive, I'm wondering if my topside unit will work? Can I thread the tube to the bottom of the pan in a 128i?

Thanks

LJ
Appreciate 0
      03-01-2012, 10:32 AM   #50
Dackelone
Moderator
Germany
865

 
Dackelone's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i Silber mit/Rot 6MT N54
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bayern, Germany


Posts: 16,561
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dorkdog View Post
For awhile now I have been doing topside oil changes - on my Z3, my MINI and my wife's Fanta Fe. Now that I have a 128i in the drive, I'm wondering if my topside unit will work? Can I thread the tube to the bottom of the pan in a 128i?

Thanks

LJ

I guess you could - anything is possible given enough time and money spent. But how would you cap that tube off? And where would you put it? IF it ever would leak your engine would have one huge engine vacuum leak (rough idle).

Since our cars do not have an oil dip stick... a top side oil change can not be done. Its not that hard to change the oil from underneath though.
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2012, 01:29 PM   #51
dorkdog
Big Mouth No Filter
United_States
40

 
dorkdog's Avatar
 
Drives: 128i Montego Blue 6MT Sport
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Puyallup WA


Posts: 587
iTrader: (0)

Guess I'll be selling my topside oil changer setup ...
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2012, 02:05 PM   #52
Dackelone
Moderator
Germany
865

 
Dackelone's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i Silber mit/Rot 6MT N54
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bayern, Germany


Posts: 16,561
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dorkdog View Post
Guess I'll be selling my topside oil changer setup ...

I still use mine to suck out the oil from inside the 135's oil filter housing(about 200ml of old oil). I even tried using the LONG suction tube inside the oil filter housing... but that does not work for oil changes. I have one car where I can use my top side oil change suction device... and for my 1er I just "do it" the old fashioned way! lol
Appreciate 0
      07-04-2012, 11:04 PM   #53
bmw1racer
bimmerphile, technogeek
United_States
36

 
bmw1racer's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 128i Coupe 6MT Sport
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: SoCal


Posts: 2,026
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Since this is the break-in oil change, there's no resetting of the computer, correct?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      07-05-2012, 03:17 AM   #54
sonicbimmer19
Lieutenant
36

 
Drives: E88 and F32
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA


Posts: 481
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw1racer View Post
Since this is the break-in oil change, there's no resetting of the computer, correct?
If you're in warranty and you're doing intermediate oil change, do not reset.
But if you're out of warranty, then just reset it every time.

To answer your question more directly, yes, you do not reset on break-in oil change.
Appreciate 0
      07-05-2012, 09:18 AM   #55
Dackelone
Moderator
Germany
865

 
Dackelone's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i Silber mit/Rot 6MT N54
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bayern, Germany


Posts: 16,561
iTrader: (1)

^^YuP! +1. And... here is How to reset those service due lights...



DIY resetting service "due" lights…
http://www.1addicts.com/forums/showthread.php?t=415111




.
Appreciate 0
      07-05-2012, 09:30 AM   #56
bmw1racer
bimmerphile, technogeek
United_States
36

 
bmw1racer's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 128i Coupe 6MT Sport
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: SoCal


Posts: 2,026
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dackelone View Post
^^YuP! +1. And... here is How to reset those service due lights...



DIY resetting service "due" lights…
http://www.1addicts.com/forums/showthread.php?t=415111




.
Thanks.... I'll bookmark that for future reference.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2012, 09:48 AM   #57
Dackelone
Moderator
Germany
865

 
Dackelone's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i Silber mit/Rot 6MT N54
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bayern, Germany


Posts: 16,561
iTrader: (1)

And here is a DIY on changing the oil on a N55. Its all really the same(procedures) on changing the oil on a (128i)NA and/or a Turbo (N54/N55) BMW engines though.


N55 Oil Change DIY...
http://www.1addicts.com/forums/showthread.php?t=595783
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2012, 07:21 AM   #58
Isdaako
Private First Class
United_States
1

 
Isdaako's Avatar
 
Drives: 128i Convertible
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Devils Tower


Posts: 160
iTrader: (0)

Thanks for this informative thread.
Appreciate 0
      09-29-2012, 12:09 PM   #59
Dackelone
Moderator
Germany
865

 
Dackelone's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i Silber mit/Rot 6MT N54
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bayern, Germany


Posts: 16,561
iTrader: (1)

Btw... I replaced my OE drain plug with a magnetic one from UUC. It has a very strong magnet on it and it really grabs lot of little bits of metal floating around the oil. I always change my oil every 6K miles or even less. And for my first three oil changes after using this UUC magnet it was really grabbing lots of metallic particles. Have a look for yourself!




After being installed for 5K miles(I think?)...




Appreciate 0
      10-21-2012, 01:34 PM   #60
2012one35i
Private
United_States
4

 
Drives: Alpine White 2012 BMW 135i
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Troutdale, Oregon


Posts: 72
iTrader: (0)

I know this is an old post, but if you're concerned about oil shooting sideways out of the drain plug, try Form-A-Funnel®. It works great and keeps things clean.

www.formafunnel.com/
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2013, 11:00 PM   #61
Tommeh
Lieutenant
United_States
51

 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Texas


Posts: 469
iTrader: (0)

Funny story about those... They are a little long because you have to use the extension, They should fit but its tight. I had one and when installing it I overtightened not thinking its brass and broke the thread off in my oil pan T_T

I started to freak about if I could not get it out... Luckfully I had a screwdriver that fit in the threads and I was able to unscrew, but I never got to test the product out...
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2013, 01:59 PM   #62
urbanjunglist
Enlisted Member
4

 
Drives: 2008 128i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chicago


Posts: 39
iTrader: (0)

First oil change 128i

I am about to do the first oil change on my 128i (E82). This is hugely informative, so thank you all who contributed! I will certainly have this thread pulled up on my droid while doing this oil change.

I have never changed the oil on a high-end vehicle (only my previous honda/dodge pieces of sh*t that I grew up with), so naturally I am a bit nervous having only owned the car for it's previous 3K miles.

Any additional tips? I am wondering how the draining will be, since I don't have a lift - just a jack. Any specific advice on jacking the car? I am fairly mechanically inclined, so I'm pretty confident with the workflow/step-by-step of the oil change. thanks all
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2013, 02:31 PM   #63
bmw1racer
bimmerphile, technogeek
United_States
36

 
bmw1racer's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 128i Coupe 6MT Sport
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: SoCal


Posts: 2,026
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by urbanjunglist View Post
Any additional tips? I am wondering how the draining will be, since I don't have a lift - just a jack. Any specific advice on jacking the car?
If you're just using a jack, you'll needs those adapters along with jackstands... I've found that two ramps are imminently better.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2013, 03:22 PM   #64
urbanjunglist
Enlisted Member
4

 
Drives: 2008 128i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chicago


Posts: 39
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw1racer View Post
If you're just using a jack, you'll needs those adapters along with jackstands... I've found that two ramps are imminently better.
Thanks, yes I was just thinking I would get the ramps... seems crazy not to as long as I will have this car. So, with only the front end up - you imagine I will leave any excess oil behind after draining?
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2013, 04:44 PM   #65
bmw1racer
bimmerphile, technogeek
United_States
36

 
bmw1racer's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 128i Coupe 6MT Sport
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: SoCal


Posts: 2,026
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by urbanjunglist View Post
Thanks, yes I was just thinking I would get the ramps... seems crazy not to as long as I will have this car. So, with only the front end up - you imagine I will leave any excess oil behind after draining?
The amount left over in the pan would be minimal, I think... I never gave it a second thought when I changed my oil.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2013, 05:40 PM   #66
631twentyeighteye
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
32

 
631twentyeighteye's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 130i MT
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Long island


Posts: 1,861
iTrader: (6)

I drain mine elevated on ramps and it seems to get more, not less oil out. I put a full 7 quarts in and it always fills to one notch below full when i check it.
__________________
3 stage manifold, Mapleridge headers, AA tune, Injen intake
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14 AM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST