BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-07-2012, 08:07 PM   #1
-cj-
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2011 AW 1M | 2009 Red M3 DCT
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Toronto

Posts: 372
iTrader: (2)

Akrapovic Wireless Kit - Wiring

Hey guys,

Just curious, how did you guys wire the Akrapovic wireless kit when you installed it? According to the directions, there's a grey / yellow (I think) cable off your tail light, but that only provides power if the tail lights are on.

Are the Canadian cars different? Our tail lights don't come on with the DRL. I "fixed" the problem by running a line to the fuse box, couldn't find a switched 12V in the trunk (didn't look very long).
-cj- is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      08-07-2012, 09:56 PM   #2
///M1
Brigadier General
 
///M1's Avatar
 
Drives: Many
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 212/305

Posts: 3,090
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by -cj- View Post
Hey guys,

Just curious, how did you guys wire the Akrapovic wireless kit when you installed it? According to the directions, there's a grey / yellow (I think) cable off your tail light, but that only provides power if the tail lights are on.

Are the Canadian cars different? Our tail lights don't come on with the DRL. I "fixed" the problem by running a line to the fuse box, couldn't find a switched 12V in the trunk (didn't look very long).
I didn't have an issue with mine, but I think CAD cars are indeed different than US spec cars with DRLs enabled. I believe there was the same question posed by a UK member who experienced your issue. Can't recall how he solved it, either doing what you did, or asked the dealer to reprogram tails.
__________________
2011 BMW E82 1///M: AW, ZPP+ZCV, HK, Apps; Akra CF+Valve control, MadDad mids, K&N, Forge FMIC, P3gauge, EuroTails, Tint, CF Mirrors+Spoiler+Roof+RevoZ diffuser, 10mm H&R, IND grills+gills, xCDV, LUX AE
2008 Audi B7 RS 4: Sprint Blue, Audi Exclusive Euro Interior, Premium+Titanium Package, EPL Tune, Stasis Ohlins MS coilovers, Milltek valved exhaust+DownPipes, Alcon BBK, Tint, ADR V1, Lidatek, Lamin-X, Strasse Forged SM7 3-piece concave wheels, 275/30/19 PSSs, Euro flat-bottom steering wheel, JHM SSK
///M1 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-08-2012, 06:58 AM   #3
1'M Blue
Captain
 
Drives: 1M
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: OM

Posts: 634
iTrader: (0)

I've installed mine at a dealer and yes there are some issues but wouldnt call it worrying issues with this kit ..

its never clear when the valves are open or closed even if the button inside the car shows white but you can feel it that its open because of the wiring and lighting .. if I keep the lighting to auto then it keeps it switched on even it i press the valve button .. but if i keep the lighting on off then it remains fine and quiet and only opens according to the button.
1'M Blue is offline   Oman
0
Reply With Quote
      08-08-2012, 10:39 PM   #4
pizznal
Registered
 
Drives: 1///M
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: San Ramon, CA

Posts: 2
iTrader: (0)

Had the same issue with my install. So now I'm powering the wireless kit from the fuse box. Not sure why some US car have this issue and some do not.

Akrapovics install instructions show where to get power from the fuse box...
http://az79640.vo.msecnd.net/akrapov...6b91639e8a.pdf
pizznal is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-09-2012, 08:58 AM   #5
Sheil
Private First Class
 
Sheil's Avatar
 
Drives: 1M Coupe
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Switzerland

Posts: 147
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW 1M  [5.00]
For those of you who have it, use a wire tap connector and clip it to the power outlet lead in the trunk. You'll have constant power feeding the wireless receiver.


Sheil is offline   Switzerland
0
Reply With Quote
      08-09-2012, 10:47 AM   #6
-cj-
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2011 AW 1M | 2009 Red M3 DCT
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Toronto

Posts: 372
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1'M Blue View Post
I've installed mine at a dealer and yes there are some issues but wouldnt call it worrying issues with this kit ..

its never clear when the valves are open or closed even if the button inside the car shows white but you can feel it that its open because of the wiring and lighting .. if I keep the lighting to auto then it keeps it switched on even it i press the valve button .. but if i keep the lighting on off then it remains fine and quiet and only opens according to the button.
Is your key fob flashing? Because it should be obvious when the valve is open / closed. In my case, when hooked up to the tail lights, it would only operate if the light switch was in the parking lights on / headlights on indicators, but wouldn't work in auto or off.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pizznal View Post
Had the same issue with my install. So now I'm powering the wireless kit from the fuse box. Not sure why some US car have this issue and some do not.

Akrapovics install instructions show where to get power from the fuse box...
http://az79640.vo.msecnd.net/akrapov...6b91639e8a.pdf
That's awesome. My install booklet didn't have this part in the manual. I must be awesome, because that's EXACTLY how I ran my wire to the fuse panel. Lucky guess! (I have some other low amperage stuff hooked up to that fuse, so I guess it was obvious, now that I think back....)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sheil View Post
For those of you who have it, use a wire tap connector and clip it to the power outlet lead in the trunk. You'll have constant power feeding the wireless receiver.
I think when I was on the phone with PSI, they were trying to get me to locate this wire. Unfortunately, my car even though is "fully loaded", doesn't have this power plug in the trunk. Would have made sense to include this with every car, so you can use it to power the air compressor in the trunk!
-cj- is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      08-09-2012, 10:53 AM   #7
///M1
Brigadier General
 
///M1's Avatar
 
Drives: Many
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 212/305

Posts: 3,090
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by -cj- View Post
IUnfortunately, my car even though is "fully loaded", doesn't have this power plug in the trunk. Would have made sense to include this with every car, so you can use it to power the air compressor in the trunk!
NA cars sadly don't have this, and I agree, would be very useful. Just as the smokers pack would have been to have an extra lighter adaptor for portable Navis, radar detectors, chargers, Akra valve button, KW suspension button, etc.
__________________
2011 BMW E82 1///M: AW, ZPP+ZCV, HK, Apps; Akra CF+Valve control, MadDad mids, K&N, Forge FMIC, P3gauge, EuroTails, Tint, CF Mirrors+Spoiler+Roof+RevoZ diffuser, 10mm H&R, IND grills+gills, xCDV, LUX AE
2008 Audi B7 RS 4: Sprint Blue, Audi Exclusive Euro Interior, Premium+Titanium Package, EPL Tune, Stasis Ohlins MS coilovers, Milltek valved exhaust+DownPipes, Alcon BBK, Tint, ADR V1, Lidatek, Lamin-X, Strasse Forged SM7 3-piece concave wheels, 275/30/19 PSSs, Euro flat-bottom steering wheel, JHM SSK
///M1 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-09-2012, 11:08 AM   #8
-cj-
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2011 AW 1M | 2009 Red M3 DCT
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Toronto

Posts: 372
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ///M1 View Post
NA cars sadly don't have this, and I agree, would be very useful. Just as the smokers pack would have been to have an extra lighter adaptor for portable Navis, radar detectors, chargers, Akra valve button, KW suspension button, etc.
I completely agree. I actually purchased the cigarette lighter and ashtray and installed it myself. I used the little ashtray to install an STI detector and I run my Akra valve button in the socket next to it. Going to research what the KW suspension button looks like! Hopefully I have enough room to accommodate that when I add it!
-cj- is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      08-09-2012, 11:23 AM   #9
///M1
Brigadier General
 
///M1's Avatar
 
Drives: Many
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 212/305

Posts: 3,090
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by -cj- View Post
I completely agree. I actually purchased the cigarette lighter and ashtray and installed it myself. I used the little ashtray to install an STI detector and I run my Akra valve button in the socket next to it. Going to research what the KW suspension button looks like! Hopefully I have enough room to accommodate that when I add it!
Great job! Mind sharing part #s and what's involved? I would like to make that retrofit. TIA!
__________________
2011 BMW E82 1///M: AW, ZPP+ZCV, HK, Apps; Akra CF+Valve control, MadDad mids, K&N, Forge FMIC, P3gauge, EuroTails, Tint, CF Mirrors+Spoiler+Roof+RevoZ diffuser, 10mm H&R, IND grills+gills, xCDV, LUX AE
2008 Audi B7 RS 4: Sprint Blue, Audi Exclusive Euro Interior, Premium+Titanium Package, EPL Tune, Stasis Ohlins MS coilovers, Milltek valved exhaust+DownPipes, Alcon BBK, Tint, ADR V1, Lidatek, Lamin-X, Strasse Forged SM7 3-piece concave wheels, 275/30/19 PSSs, Euro flat-bottom steering wheel, JHM SSK
///M1 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-09-2012, 02:29 PM   #10
-cj-
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2011 AW 1M | 2009 Red M3 DCT
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Toronto

Posts: 372
iTrader: (2)

This is the link:

http://realoem.com/bmw/showparts.do?...42&hg=51&fg=35

I purchased everything inside box "6" (lower left). The harness isn't plug and play... Surprisingly, if your car didn't come with the smokers package, there's no harness for the cigarette lighter. You'll need to wire it up to the fuse box. I didn't bother with the illuminated ring (I couldn't find an illumination wire... I looked for about 5 minutes. . Everything works though.

Edit: Quick clarification. The socket has 3 wires. +Pos, -Neg and an illumination wire for the ring around the socket.
-cj- is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      08-09-2012, 07:23 PM   #11
sparoz
Brigadier General
 
sparoz's Avatar
 
Drives: VO 1///M; AW X3 30d
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sunshine Coast

Posts: 4,816
iTrader: (0)

Is it better to wire it to the plug or fuse box? Does the plug still works?
__________________
1///M - Valencia Orange
X3 30d - Alpine White

Under Six Seconds http://www.under6s.com
sparoz is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      08-09-2012, 10:12 PM   #12
-cj-
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2011 AW 1M | 2009 Red M3 DCT
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Toronto

Posts: 372
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sparoz View Post
Is it better to wire it to the plug or fuse box? Does the plug still works?

If your system works fine with the headlights in 'auto', then you're fine. If you need to turn your headlights on AND you have a plug in your trunk, I'd just wire it there. You tap it from behind (giggity) the socket, on the actual wire... So you can still continue to use the socket (plug).
-cj- is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      08-09-2012, 11:19 PM   #13
sparoz
Brigadier General
 
sparoz's Avatar
 
Drives: VO 1///M; AW X3 30d
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sunshine Coast

Posts: 4,816
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by -cj- View Post
If your system works fine with the headlights in 'auto', then you're fine. If you need to turn your headlights on AND you have a plug in your trunk, I'd just wire it there. You tap it from behind (giggity) the socket, on the actual wire... So you can still continue to use the socket (plug).
Thanks!!
__________________
1///M - Valencia Orange
X3 30d - Alpine White

Under Six Seconds http://www.under6s.com
sparoz is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 AM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST