BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-07-2012, 12:29 AM   #1
greensto
Wild Card
 
greensto's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 135i
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Boynton Beach, FL

Posts: 514
iTrader: (2)

BMS DP Fix Question

I just installed my JB4 tune (G5 board) and catless downpipes a couple days ago. Car felt amazing, but eventually the SES light appeared and then I had/have problems with limp mode (even after just one WOT). My car is running very poor at the moment. I just found out about the BMS DP Fix V3, but noticed that many of the posts related to that DP Fix version were from a couple years ago. I don't believe that I saw a recent thread for the BMS Fix. Would I need to purchase the DP Fix V3 or am I able to fix my SES and limp mode problems by just adjusting the JB4 settings?

greensto is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-07-2012, 12:35 AM   #2
greensto
Wild Card
 
greensto's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 135i
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Boynton Beach, FL

Posts: 514
iTrader: (2)

Oops, I think I just discovered that I can do the dpfix with my JB4. I love BMS!

Just wondering, are my symptoms of limp mode and running like crap expected? Is the autoclear mode supposed to eliminate the car running so poorly?

Last edited by greensto; 12-07-2012 at 01:10 AM.
greensto is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-07-2012, 04:05 AM   #3
Fed P
Private First Class
 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Russia

Posts: 111
iTrader: (0)

Yeah, the JB4 has auto-clear for these codes. It should prevent limp mode, unless your error and problem is coming from an install error and is a genuine code.
Fed P is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-07-2012, 07:25 AM   #4
greensto
Wild Card
 
greensto's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 135i
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Boynton Beach, FL

Posts: 514
iTrader: (2)

Thanks!
greensto is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-07-2012, 08:13 AM   #5
b1aze
Just one more taste...
 
Drives: 2010 135i
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Shirley, MA

Posts: 1,419
iTrader: (14)

Don't assume it is just an auto-clear situation. Check your work before you turn on auto clear please.

Check the codes and figure out what they mean. If it is a rear cat efficiency code, you're ok using the DP fix or auto clear.
b1aze is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-07-2012, 10:43 AM   #6
greensto
Wild Card
 
greensto's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 135i
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Boynton Beach, FL

Posts: 514
iTrader: (2)

Did the Autoclear. I havent scanned for codes yet, but the SES light quickly disappeared when I put it on the 1/3 mode. While running Map5, I am able to go WOT without any issues. However, when I run Map 2, the I get the SES light every time I go WOT. It pulls harder and feels better on Map 2, but I go into limp mode every time. Then, the Autoclear takes care of it in 15 seconds and I'm able to run again. I do have downpipes, DCI, and I run 93 octane. Why do you suspect I go into limp mode with Map 2 every time?
greensto is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-07-2012, 12:03 PM   #7
greensto
Wild Card
 
greensto's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 135i
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Boynton Beach, FL

Posts: 514
iTrader: (2)

No codes come up when scanned (2 yield signals then 4 yield signals)
greensto is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-08-2012, 02:57 PM   #8
greensto
Wild Card
 
greensto's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 135i
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Boynton Beach, FL

Posts: 514
iTrader: (2)

SES light back on. 29D0 (Cylinder 4 misfire). I wonder if it's my coilpacks, spark plugs, oil, etc... Any ideas on what I should look for?
greensto is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-08-2012, 03:24 PM   #9
greensto
Wild Card
 
greensto's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 135i
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Boynton Beach, FL

Posts: 514
iTrader: (2)

I haven't disconnected the battery at all. Will doing so possibly be helpful?
greensto is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-09-2012, 01:06 AM   #10
Tee-Dub
Captain
 
Tee-Dub's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 135i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Vancouver, WA

Posts: 753
iTrader: (9)

How many miles on your plugs and coils? If they are older (past 30,000 miles or so) they could be the culprit. It seems a tune makes these issues pop up when the stock conservative tune didn't.
Tee-Dub is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-09-2012, 01:46 AM   #11
SteveAZ
Captain
 
Drives: 135i Cab
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Posts: 604
iTrader: (5)

Always a good idea to disconnect the battery when installing anything electrical. One, reduces risk, two, resets DME. It's very easy...10mm socket and disconnect negative terminal in the trunk.

First...take logs and see what your trims, AFR, and fuel pressures look like.

Second, swap coil packs and see if the problem follows. If it does, change coil packs, if it doesn't...

Third, swap plugs and see if the problem follows. If it does, new plugs, if it doesn't...

Forth, swap injectors.....
__________________
2008 AW E88 Auto running on 100% E85
Current--AA FMIC--BMS CP, DCIs, & OCC--ER OC--E85 CP injection, and Fuel-It! Stage 3 LPFP--RB PCV--M3 FSB, RCAs, & FCAs--Whiteline RSFBs, and DBs--Rogue TA's--ER SS brakelines--Stoptech slotted rotors w/Ferodo pads--Apex Arc 8s w/Nitto NT05's--Wavetrac LSD & Ohlins R & T Waiting on install: Nothing...give it a few
SteveAZ is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-09-2012, 07:30 AM   #12
greensto
Wild Card
 
greensto's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 135i
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Boynton Beach, FL

Posts: 514
iTrader: (2)

Thanks for the tips! I only have 16k miles though, but the car already had a JB tune when I bought it (from the dealership).
greensto is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-09-2012, 07:38 AM   #13
SteveAZ
Captain
 
Drives: 135i Cab
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Posts: 604
iTrader: (5)

Which tune did it have...you said you just installed the JB4 G5....same harness, new harness????
__________________
2008 AW E88 Auto running on 100% E85
Current--AA FMIC--BMS CP, DCIs, & OCC--ER OC--E85 CP injection, and Fuel-It! Stage 3 LPFP--RB PCV--M3 FSB, RCAs, & FCAs--Whiteline RSFBs, and DBs--Rogue TA's--ER SS brakelines--Stoptech slotted rotors w/Ferodo pads--Apex Arc 8s w/Nitto NT05's--Wavetrac LSD & Ohlins R & T Waiting on install: Nothing...give it a few
SteveAZ is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-09-2012, 10:38 PM   #14
greensto
Wild Card
 
greensto's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 135i
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Boynton Beach, FL

Posts: 514
iTrader: (2)

It had a JB3. New harness
greensto is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-10-2012, 03:21 AM   #15
Fed P
Private First Class
 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Russia

Posts: 111
iTrader: (0)

You've been given some good advice as to how to troubleshoot =) Naturally you can first try pulling the battery to reset the ECU since that is almost 0 effort.

The good news is that the error is not related directly to your DP install!
Fed P is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-10-2012, 05:14 AM   #16
SteveAZ
Captain
 
Drives: 135i Cab
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Posts: 604
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by greensto View Post
It had a JB3. New harness
New to you or new from Burger?

I've seen (and experienced) a lot of issues with harnesses that are modified by the user or not updated for new revs of JB tunes. Mine was used and the guy that sold it to me (on this forum) is a piece of shit! However I learned a lot about my car in the process.

If everything is new and you're 100% confident with your install I would start with what I listed. Taking logs and posting them will help as well. Also if you bought your JB4 from Terry or Mike you can send Terry the logs for help.

I personally had a cyl 3 misfire...did all of what I mentiond including changing out the remaining recall injectors (and coding them) of which one was cyl. 3. Even after that I had misfires in 3...upon closer examination of my logs my trims were maxing out (I was also running 91 as that's all we have). I have since up'd my octane (E85) and made adjustments to my tune...no more misfires and trims are in check.

So, my advice...KISS (Keep It Simple Stupid) and start with the easiest and cheapest things first like I suggested and don't take anything for granted.

Personally, from reading a lot of posts and seeing people's experiences...I think some people get in to the mod and JB4 thing and get confused or frustrated and then sell. Unsuspecting buyer comes along and viola...picks up where they left off. It's not hard stuff to figure out but it takes a bit of patience and persistance. Likely a simple fix for you if your JB4 is NIB and the car is otherwise untampered with. However keep in mind, you may only have 16K on your car...but whoever had it before you had a tune as well.

As for the Map 5 vs. Map 2 thing....Map 5 is auto-learning and adjusting based on your car's current conditions. Map 2 is taking more for granted and targeting set points...points that you're car may not currently be up to performing at due to one or more of the issues I previously stated you should trouble shoot for. The fact that you say Map 2 feels stronger supports that theory as Map 5 will target higher boost levels (16 vs 14.5) if your car is up to it.

Has your car had all the recalls performed (fuel pump and injectors)? Logs will really help.

Not an expert by any means...just sharing my experience thus far so take it for what it's worth....not much

Edit: One last thing...too late now but for anybody else reading...one mod at a time is never a bad idea...much easier to troubleshoot if you have issues.
__________________
2008 AW E88 Auto running on 100% E85
Current--AA FMIC--BMS CP, DCIs, & OCC--ER OC--E85 CP injection, and Fuel-It! Stage 3 LPFP--RB PCV--M3 FSB, RCAs, & FCAs--Whiteline RSFBs, and DBs--Rogue TA's--ER SS brakelines--Stoptech slotted rotors w/Ferodo pads--Apex Arc 8s w/Nitto NT05's--Wavetrac LSD & Ohlins R & T Waiting on install: Nothing...give it a few
SteveAZ is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 AM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST