BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-06-2013, 11:21 PM   #1
Disillusion_10
New Member
1

 
Drives: 2005 BMW 116i
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Cayman Islands


Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)

Speedometer/Instrument Cluster going CRAZY!

Hi,

New to the forum, recently bought a 2005 116i and knew there was some issues buying it, but thought it would be a side project to fix her up, but been kinda of a nightmare...

Anyways, got back from vacation and my speedometer/whole instrument cluster (i.e. RPM, warning lights, turn signals) doesn't work. I tried searching on the forum but found nothing that worked. I checked the fuse and nothing looks like it's blown.

Now here's the weird thing, I take the cluster out and jiggle the one wire connected to it and then all of a sudden it works now! Next day go to start the car and once again it doesn't work. As I'm driving all of a sudden it starts working for a split second. All the warning lights (i.e. e-brake, abs, etc) flash for a few seconds and then it stops working as I am driving. Then the red light warning light with the picture of the car being hoisted up appears (read manual and it says it's an indication that electronics has malfunctioned)...

Has anyone run into this issue? Want to try some alternatives before going into the dealership and getting raped by their outrageous labour charges....

TL;DR - speedometer/instrument cluster stops working, works after jiggling connector, but then stops working but while driving warning lights turn on and it works for few seconds before not working again.

Thanks in advance for any help!!
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2013, 03:31 AM   #2
RimasRS
Colonel
52

 
RimasRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i MT 2009 AW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Europe


Posts: 2,397
iTrader: (0)

Could be your Junction Box... Search for it there is a thread about it.
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2013, 11:59 AM   #3
NorthernDancer
Lieutenant
12

 
Drives: 325iX & 128
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ottawa On Canada


Posts: 425
iTrader: (2)

Its obviously a loose wire or dirty connection somewhere. First I would hook up a new ground wire between the cluster and any good body ground. Second, I would look very carefully at all the male and female connection points in the connector for the cluster. Clean all the contacts with contact cleaner and a flat toothpick. Did the previous owner put in an aftermarket radio? If so, maybe he messed up some wires while in there. Cayman Islands-wow
Appreciate 0
      01-08-2013, 01:19 PM   #4
Venom
Colonel
United_States
50

 
Venom's Avatar
 
Drives: E82 135i
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, CA


Posts: 2,100
iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2008 BMW 135i  [4.25]
Send a message via AIM to Venom
Could also be a bad battery, get that tested too.
__________________
Venom Build Log
Mods: JB4 G5 ISO, RR DPs, GTHaus Meistershaft Exhaust, RKP GTS Wing, Wagner FMIC, VMR V701s in Scarlet Red, Custom shift knob, Full 1M Body Conversion, and more.

Prius is Latin for impotence.
Appreciate 0
      01-09-2013, 07:58 AM   #5
MadMan77
↓↓↓ Ex-Con ↓↓↓
United Kingdom
28

 
MadMan77's Avatar
 
Drives: JB '08 135i
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mildenhall, UK


Posts: 1,875
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Venom View Post
Could also be a bad battery, get that tested too.
+1

Exactly what I was thinking.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2013, 11:43 AM   #6
Disillusion_10
New Member
1

 
Drives: 2005 BMW 116i
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Cayman Islands


Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)

Thanks for the help guys! An update:

I finally ended up bringing it to the dealership a couple months ago and they said the instrument cluster is dead and needs to be replaced. I went to another shop and they said they may have one from a wrecked 1 series but after many weeks of trying to locate it, they found out the instrument cluster was fried too.

Now the dealership has quoted me $1,250USD for the instrument cluster and cost to re-program. Everything on the Cayman Islands is inflated so yes I know the price is ridiculous. I tried searching on Ebay for one, but I've only found a few and the few I found were all from Europe.

Anyone have any suggestions on a cheaper alternative or if a second hand one will work (I believe there will be a tampering warning on the dash - but other than that, will it need to be re-programmed? If it does I think only the dealership on island only has the capability to do it and don't think they will do it on a used cluster). I think I might just have to bite the bullet on this one...
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2013, 11:54 AM   #7
Dackelone
Moderator
Germany
865

 
Dackelone's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i Silber mit/Rot 6MT N54
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bayern, Germany


Posts: 16,565
iTrader: (1)

Maybe buy a new cluster(kombi) from www.schmiedmann.com and then have your dealer code and install it. ?


http://realoem.com/bmw/showparts.do?...71&hg=62&fg=05



Or send out your Kombi to a pixel repair center. I know its not the pixels... but probably a bad circuit board solder joint inside the cluster(kombi).

I have used tachopix.de for my e39 kombi repair. They repaired it in one day and did a great job.

www.tachopix.de/repair/nav.399/
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47 PM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST