BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-23-2013, 07:34 PM   #23
Knightelf
Captain
 
Drives: 2011 135i SGM DCT
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Brisbane

Posts: 628
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW 135i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harlequin View Post
I know this gets discussed over and over again but how do you guys get BMW to install the newer DME software?

Every time I go there they tell me that it doesn't have any updates available but my car is a Sept 2010 build and it's had no updates since I bought it...
They won't update it if there's no recall/issues. I was on the 2010 DME as well and needed to update for the JB4. I knew for a fact my DME was outdated because I asked them to check my keyfob data, but they wouldn't update it for me though.

I tried to complain of "long cranks" as others have suggested but they replaced my HPFP instead

In the end I had to pay $350-$400 for an update. The JB4 has been running fine though so not complaining!
Knightelf is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 07:37 PM   #24
adrian@vishnu
Captain
 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia

Posts: 672
iTrader: (0)

Lately I seen to be getting allot of missfire issues that turn out to be coil packs. Maybe the heat of summer, and the age of the coils is causing them to degrade. Replace the coil and all is good. I have had a run of this in customers cars over the last 2 months.

I assume this is N54. If N55, as scoobs said, the later DME code is allot more tolerant than the earlier.
adrian@vishnu is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 07:40 PM   #25
Ian///M
Major General
 
Ian///M's Avatar
 
Drives: 1M
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: AU

Posts: 6,243
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harlequin View Post
I know this gets discussed over and over again but how do you guys get BMW to install the newer DME software?

Every time I go there they tell me that it doesn't have any updates available but my car is a Sept 2010 build and it's had no updates since I bought it...
Change dealer. They did my car in June 2011. I did have to pay ~$200 and it took overnight. My car was a Dec 2010 build.
__________________
BMW 1M VO - Cobb + PTF e-Tune, Akrapovic wireless, MadDad mids, ETS 5" FMIC, ER CP, TurboSmart PB DV's, SSK, CDV, OCC, AWRON Gauge, Hankook RS-3's, Vorshlag Camber plates
Ian///M is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 08:20 PM   #26
choppedliver
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 135i Convertible
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Australia

Posts: 234
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scoobs View Post
Are you N55 ?

As mentioned above - if you are running the older DME, then I understand that there is a compatability issue between that and the Procede.

Pre DME upgrade, I only had to stomp on it to trigger a limp mode

Since the new Rev installed - zero issues ( touch wood ). Been close to 12 months though - so hopefully problem solved
Mines a Jan 09 N54 and I think it's up to date. Zero issues to date. I normally don't run it hard with TCS on so perhaps that triggered the issue. I need to keep an eye on it for sure. It's due to go to Advan for oil in the next month or so, hence this can be checked at the same time.

B
choppedliver is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 08:22 PM   #27
choppedliver
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 135i Convertible
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Australia

Posts: 234
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by adrian@vishnu View Post
Lately I seen to be getting allot of missfire issues that turn out to be coil packs. Maybe the heat of summer, and the age of the coils is causing them to degrade. Replace the coil and all is good. I have had a run of this in customers cars over the last 2 months.

I assume this is N54. If N55, as scoobs said, the later DME code is allot more tolerant than the earlier.
Mines 4 years old now and that makes sense. Adrian do you do the coil packs or do you send people to dealer/Advan?

Cheers
choppedliver is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 08:52 PM   #28
Drawn05
Captain
 
Drives: Yes
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Left

Posts: 787
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by choppedliver View Post
Mines 4 years old now and that makes sense. Adrian do you do the coil packs or do you send people to dealer/Advan?

Cheers
Call/message Stu@BMR and order 6 coil packs. True, you could just replace the one(s) that have the misfire code(s), if indeed you have misfire issue. I think its best to replace them all and start afresh rather than risk having another coil go in the near future.
Drawn05 is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 09:01 PM   #29
Peter@Advan
 
Peter@Advan's Avatar
 
Drives: 335 coupe ADVAN
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Sydney

Posts: 1,356
iTrader: (0)

We have plugs and coils in stock.
PM me or ring & 02-96483366 ask for Peter i will let you know the price
Peter@Advan is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 09:06 PM   #30
Scoobs
Banned
 
Drives: 135i Space Grey DCT
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sydney Australia

Posts: 252
iTrader: (0)

^ My N55 DCT had an issue where it was stalling randomly when pulling up at a set of lights. BMW Sydney diagnosed it as a HPFP - and swapped it out. For good measure they updated the DME whilst it was in.
Scoobs is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 09:38 PM   #31
Harlequin
Brigadier General
 
Harlequin's Avatar
 
Drives: ///M Coupé (VO)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Brisbane, Australia BMW Club QLD Member

Posts: 3,455
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scoobs View Post
^ My N55 DCT had an issue where it was stalling randomly when pulling up at a set of lights. BMW Sydney diagnosed it as a HPFP - and swapped it out. For good measure they updated the DME whilst it was in.
Mine has actually done this about 6 or so times - usually when it's down to almost nothing in the fuel tank... I've always just filled the tank and moved on...

Maybe I could get a DME update based on that?
__________________
Harlequin is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 09:52 PM   #32
Jeef Beef
Lord Captain Commander
 
Jeef Beef's Avatar
 
Drives: a sleeper
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia

Posts: 3,089
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harlequin View Post
Mine has actually done this about 6 or so times - usually when it's down to almost nothing in the fuel tank... I've always just filled the tank and moved on...

Maybe I could get a DME update based on that?
Demand that you want a new hpfp under warranty - they'll update your software and tell you it's all good instead.

Funny how they actually just gave you a new pump when you complained about long cranks lol
__________________

E82 135i M-sport: SGM/6MT/Black
Jeef Beef is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 11:33 PM   #33
AussieRacer
Major
 
AussieRacer's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 135i
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Aust

Posts: 1,058
iTrader: (0)

ONly have JB3 experience, but used to get similar CELs (on lowest map)...solved by always adding 10-20mls of octane booster to every tank. Found I just needed to increase the octane a tad, as when the DSC kicks in, it seems to cause knock if just running 98 PULP
__________________
Current: 135i Auto, Le Mans Blue - w/ Bridgestone RE-11 rears, GP Thunder 7500k angels, & "golf tee" mod plus a few M3 suspension bits and pieces...
AussieRacer is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 11:45 PM   #34
510135
Captain
 
Drives: 428i MSport
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Earth

Posts: 774
iTrader: (0)

^ I have also noticed SOMETIMES that when DTC kicks in when giving it a bootfull a LIMP is not too far around the corner! I have a theory that DTC somehow causes misfires

Last edited by 510135; 01-24-2013 at 12:02 AM.
510135 is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      01-24-2013, 12:05 AM   #35
adrian@vishnu
Captain
 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia

Posts: 672
iTrader: (0)

The DTC closing the throttle when the turbos are at full noise can cause issues. I have seen that before. It causes a boost spike pre throttle which is picked up the map sensor, and in a high boosted car it can cause a large spike that the DME can interpret as a sensor problem and cause a limp.

DTC is meant to be a safety feature... not a launch control feature, so we generally recommend turning it off when going for a launch if you are satisfied your driving ability is up to it.
adrian@vishnu is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      01-24-2013, 06:48 AM   #36
Knightelf
Captain
 
Drives: 2011 135i SGM DCT
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Brisbane

Posts: 628
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW 135i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeef Beef
Funny how they actually just gave you a new pump when you complained about long cranks lol
That was me lol. They replaced hpfp no questions asked. What a nice chap. I asked "can I get a software update and try that first?" BMW: "Nah, we will just replace the fuel pump and you will be alright" ....
Knightelf is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      01-24-2013, 07:52 PM   #37
choppedliver
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 135i Convertible
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Australia

Posts: 234
iTrader: (0)

A test drive home with TCS off revealed no issues. Even a proper test when an old guy in a range rover sport tried to fill the car with diesel smoke when he nailed it, and I was forced to get into clean air :-) revealed no problems.

I'll get it checked properly when it either reoccurs or the cars in for its oil change.

Thanks for all the forum help.

B
choppedliver is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-24-2013, 09:01 PM   #38
Nick135i
Private
 
Drives: BMW 135i
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia

Posts: 58
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 510135 View Post
^ I have also noticed SOMETIMES that when DTC kicks in when giving it a bootfull a LIMP is not too far around the corner! I have a theory that DTC somehow causes misfires

As per 510135, I can confirm that DTC alone has casued limp and misfires as you describe for me. Regaurdless of tune / no tune.

If you stay up it with the DTC flashing long enough the car always limps for me (the time period is not that long ~2 sec).

With a tune it is easier to inspire wheel spin - hence this is more problematic with a tune - but the standard car (no tune) will do it in the wet too.

When this has happen to me there were no engine codes detectable with the BT tool, even thou it went into limp and needed to be restarted to clear.

If it was my car I would not start changing coils / plugs / fuel pump / what ever else - until there are further symptoms.
__________________
135i Sport | Black Saphire Metalic | Boston Black | 6speed | 10 Speaker Hifi | Sunroof
Nick135i is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 AM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST