BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-22-2013, 05:20 PM   #23
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
71
Rep
5,172
Posts

 
Drives: Mercedes ML, F25 X3 and 2.8i Z
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

That was my reply in response to fitting two single din head units, saying the Metra double din fascia wouldn't work.
Appreciate 0
      07-22-2013, 10:00 PM   #24
flinchy
Colonel
39
Rep
2,865
Posts

 
Drives: 130i
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: QLD, Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gIzzE View Post
That was my reply in response to fitting two single din head units, saying the Metra double din fascia wouldn't work.
ah my mistake

there's a few DDIN options out now though. many look nice.

guess i'll have to visit my local car audio shop to see if they have any brackets, and get a new plug with illum wire >_<
Appreciate 0
      08-17-2013, 04:01 AM   #25
flinchy
Colonel
39
Rep
2,865
Posts

 
Drives: 130i
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: QLD, Australia

iTrader: (0)

one other question.. how do you secure the 9887? the fascia screws onto where the old unit did.. but where can you secure the head unit itself??
Appreciate 0
      03-05-2014, 10:34 AM   #26
keithbickford
New Member
United_States
0
Rep
28
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 BMW 135i M-Sport DCT
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

Aftermarket radio doesn't prevent dealer access

Quote:
Originally Posted by gIzzE View Post
... just thought I would pop it back in when going in for warranty work.
Also, cause my car is remapped I thought when taking it in for a service it would stop them from over writing the remap too, they wouldn't be able to update the car without me wanting them to.
The dealer does not use the stereo to interface with the car. They use the OBD2 port. You can do anything that you could to from the head unit through the other interface options. I replaced the stereo in my Mini Cooper S with an Alpine Unit. Many sources claimed it was not possible, it would void my warranty, and the dealer would not be able to work on the car. None of this was true at all. My factory unit failed and they would not replace it under extended warranty; so I replaced it at home myself. Additionally, I didn't use the expensive interface to maintain the chime and power the head unit. I used an "add a fuse" for the constant power, and I used the cigarette lighter 12 volts for the ignition power. In my new BMW, I would buy the expensive adapter.
Appreciate 0
      03-05-2014, 11:05 AM   #27
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
71
Rep
5,172
Posts

 
Drives: Mercedes ML, F25 X3 and 2.8i Z
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

The problem is, when they are updating software if there is a break in the most bus ring it throws errors and some dealers won't carry on.

However, that was 5 years ago, I think things have changed slightly.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 AM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST