BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-08-2013, 01:00 AM   #67
DV135i
Private
 
DV135i's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: San Francisco

Posts: 57
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeros and ones View Post
from what I know, you do still need that. You can move that in your glove compartment.

info is in this thread. Granted the person is going with a dynavin unit but you still need to keep the oem radio

http://www.1addicts.com/forums/showt...ght=double+din
I've seen that thread, but there wasn't really any mention to where the factory head unit went....the glove compartment seems like it would look kind of ghetto lol
DV135i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-08-2013, 02:06 AM   #68
Zeros and ones
First Lieutenant
 
Zeros and ones's Avatar
 
Drives: 128i MT6 M Sport, Dinan 5
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: US

Posts: 322
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2011 128i  [2.83]
2000 Dinan 5  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by DV135i View Post
I've seen that thread, but there wasn't really any mention to where the factory head unit went....the glove compartment seems like it would look kind of ghetto lol
Unless you extend the wires long enough to put it somewhere else, that is the only place it can go.

If done correctly it can look factory. I did this in my 5 series and it turned out very well. Fitment is perfect and it doesn't move around. Never have to touch it or see it. I would not hesitate to do it in my one if I ever go with a double din unit.
__________________
"Nobody makes me bleed my own blood. NOBODY!!!!!"
Zeros and ones is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-08-2013, 11:41 AM   #69
DV135i
Private
 
DV135i's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: San Francisco

Posts: 57
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeros and ones View Post
Unless you extend the wires long enough to put it somewhere else, that is the only place it can go.

If done correctly it can look factory. I did this in my 5 series and it turned out very well. Fitment is perfect and it doesn't move around. Never have to touch it or see it. I would not hesitate to do it in my one if I ever go with a double din unit.
do you have any pictures of how it was mounted in your 5 series?
DV135i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-08-2013, 11:48 AM   #70
Simon_135i
Collecting dust!
 
Simon_135i's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego

Posts: 2,001
iTrader: (6)

Garage List
2008 E82/135i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to Simon_135i Send a message via MSN to Simon_135i
I ran the wires to the trunk. Imo it's the cleanest and most space efficient location.
Simon_135i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-08-2013, 02:37 PM   #71
Zeros and ones
First Lieutenant
 
Zeros and ones's Avatar
 
Drives: 128i MT6 M Sport, Dinan 5
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: US

Posts: 322
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2011 128i  [2.83]
2000 Dinan 5  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by DV135i View Post
do you have any pictures of how it was mounted in your 5 series?
I wish I did. My mother is driving my 5 at the moment. Lives to far from me to just go and take a picture. But I should be seeing her on mothers days and i'll snap a picture or two and I'll pm you.
__________________
"Nobody makes me bleed my own blood. NOBODY!!!!!"
Zeros and ones is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-08-2013, 02:47 PM   #72
DV135i
Private
 
DV135i's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: San Francisco

Posts: 57
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeros and ones View Post
I wish I did. My mother is driving my 5 at the moment. Lives to far from me to just go and take a picture. But I should be seeing her on mothers days and i'll snap a picture or two and I'll pm you.
ok very cool...thanks!
DV135i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-23-2013, 10:56 PM   #73
firokzz
just another 1addict
 
firokzz's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i, grey, convertible, stick
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: California

Posts: 87
iTrader: (0)

gear shift knob

whats with the gear shift knob, does it do anything special. it deff. caught my attention.
firokzz is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-23-2013, 11:27 PM   #74
J-Rod
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: Black Sapphire 135i
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: San Juan, PR

Posts: 245
iTrader: (1)

So... Colombo, ele era portugués, italiano, espanhol ou que cara? Jeje just messing around. Nice install.

Last edited by J-Rod; 08-23-2013 at 11:28 PM. Reason: Misspelling
J-Rod is offline   Puerto Rico
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 PM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST