BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-08-2018, 02:20 PM   #1
westcoast1er
Enlisted Member
6
Rep
44
Posts

Drives: 2011 135i
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Planet Earth

iTrader: (0)

Exclamation DME needs to be replaced, help!

Hello,

So I am at a point where my DME must be replaced on my 2011 135i N55 DCT car. The OEM prices are...insane to say the least, and given the nightmare of maintenance I have already had to endure, I want to find a cheaper option.

I see there are refurbished ones that are still $1000+ but am inclined to go used if it feasible. Any advice or guidance?

Part # I need: 12148618483

Thanks a ton!
Appreciate 0
      02-08-2018, 02:23 PM   #2
houtan
Colonel
houtan's Avatar
319
Rep
2,002
Posts

Drives: 2011 135i
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: socal

iTrader: (12)

Garage List
2011 135i  [5.00]
Call bimmerscan in SoCal.

https://www.bimmerscan.com/welcome-to-bimmerscan/
Appreciate 0
      02-09-2018, 01:31 PM   #3
westcoast1er
Enlisted Member
6
Rep
44
Posts

Drives: 2011 135i
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Planet Earth

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by houtan View Post
Thanks, I'll give them a call!
Appreciate 0
      02-09-2018, 03:51 PM   #4
Bob@BPC
Bob@BPC's Avatar
United_States
762
Rep
615
Posts

Drives: F30 328i Sport Line
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Raleigh

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by westcoast1er View Post
Hello,

So I am at a point where my DME must be replaced on my 2011 135i N55 DCT car. The OEM prices are...insane to say the least, and given the nightmare of maintenance I have already had to endure, I want to find a cheaper option.

I see there are refurbished ones that are still $1000+ but am inclined to go used if it feasible. Any advice or guidance?

Part # I need: 12148618483

Thanks a ton!
I can clone a mevd17.x for you, I might have one in stock too. Cloning service for that DME is $100 + shipping.
Appreciate 0
      02-09-2018, 07:35 PM   #5
delta-9-ginseng
OG Tray Deee
delta-9-ginseng's Avatar
United_States
12
Rep
207
Posts

Drives: BMW 135i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: LA and SF

iTrader: (0)

Dumb question - but like under what conditions do you need to replace the DME? Is it like cause it was defective or like a electrical issue? Just curious?
Appreciate 0
      02-12-2018, 03:53 PM   #6
westcoast1er
Enlisted Member
6
Rep
44
Posts

Drives: 2011 135i
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Planet Earth

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by delta-9-ginseng View Post
Dumb question - but like under what conditions do you need to replace the DME? Is it like cause it was defective or like a electrical issue? Just curious?
Well, it all started when I came back to my car after driving it. It was really enjoying the cold weather that evening - but refused to idle for more than 3 seconds and eventually refusing to start at all.

Two days of sitting later, it managed to start and run enough to drive down to a local shop. There it had the cam shaft positioning sensor replaced, but was unable to be 're-flashed' or something. They determined there was no mechanical failures and think the DME needs to be replaced so here I am.
Appreciate 1
      02-12-2018, 04:16 PM   #7
houtan
Colonel
houtan's Avatar
319
Rep
2,002
Posts

Drives: 2011 135i
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: socal

iTrader: (12)

Garage List
2011 135i  [5.00]
Any progress?
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2018, 03:42 PM   #8
westcoast1er
Enlisted Member
6
Rep
44
Posts

Drives: 2011 135i
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Planet Earth

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by houtan View Post
Any progress?
Found a used one, waiting to determine if it will work. Seller says it will...of course.
Appreciate 0
      02-17-2018, 02:50 PM   #9
Havocsteve
Second Lieutenant
49
Rep
225
Posts

Drives: 2011 E82 135i
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (0)

I could be under the same predicament. I saw this website when I was looking for cables.

https://www.bimmergeeks.net/product-page/dme-cloning

I might be down the same road as I might have damaged mine when installing the VVT motor incorrectly. My Indy mechanic had issues connecting to the VVT motor.
Appreciate 0
      02-20-2018, 05:34 PM   #10
westcoast1er
Enlisted Member
6
Rep
44
Posts

Drives: 2011 135i
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Planet Earth

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Havocsteve View Post
I could be under the same predicament. I saw this website when I was looking for cables.

https://www.bimmergeeks.net/product-page/dme-cloning

I might be down the same road as I might have damaged mine when installing the VVT motor incorrectly. My Indy mechanic had issues connecting to the VVT motor.
These guys have been far and away the most helpful and professional:
https://www.rpmmotorsport.net/Home.html
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2018, 05:59 PM   #11
Havocsteve
Second Lieutenant
49
Rep
225
Posts

Drives: 2011 E82 135i
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by westcoast1er View Post
These guys have been far and away the most helpful and professional:
https://www.rpmmotorsport.net/Home.html
Is it RPM in Toronto, Canada? I didn't know they did DME stuff. I heard they are great for pretty much everything else but was unsure about new BMW models since I only heard about them from members on MaXbimmer.
Appreciate 0
      02-24-2018, 12:35 PM   #12
Happy Jose
Private
Happy Jose's Avatar
38
Rep
87
Posts

Drives: 2012 BMW 135i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Waynesville, Ohio

iTrader: (0)

You don't need to replace the DME; unless, you have fried it electrically.

It can be reprogrammed right on the vehicle. It can also be removed and reprogrammed too.

Have you run a scan on the vehicle? It'll reveal a non-functioning unit.

Frankly, I doubt the problem is the DME. I would look at the crank and cam position sensors. Again a scanner would reveal the problem. Do it with the engine running.
Appreciate 1
Dackelone7708.50

      02-24-2018, 04:52 PM   #13
Happy Jose
Private
Happy Jose's Avatar
38
Rep
87
Posts

Drives: 2012 BMW 135i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Waynesville, Ohio

iTrader: (0)

BTW, I'm assuming the engine still runs. If it doesn't, you can do a static test, since the fault code will be stored either as an intermittent or historical fault.
Appreciate 0
      02-26-2018, 05:28 PM   #14
westcoast1er
Enlisted Member
6
Rep
44
Posts

Drives: 2011 135i
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Planet Earth

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Happy Jose View Post
You don't need to replace the DME; unless, you have fried it electrically.

It can be reprogrammed right on the vehicle. It can also be removed and reprogrammed too.

Have you run a scan on the vehicle? It'll reveal a non-functioning unit.

Frankly, I doubt the problem is the DME. I would look at the crank and cam position sensors. Again a scanner would reveal the problem. Do it with the engine running.
1. It is at an independent shop.
2. Engine is not running.
3. Cam shaft positioning sensor was replaced
4. Car could not be reprogrammed and they have determined "aside from condemning the engine" the DME must be replaced.
Appreciate 0
      02-26-2018, 10:32 PM   #15
Gizmo135i
Private First Class
60
Rep
188
Posts

Drives: 135i n55
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Park Ridge NJ

iTrader: (0)

I would get a second opinion, n55 dme does not fail often. Maybe bring it to the dealer and pay the $150 diag fee.

If the cam sensor was replaced then I am assuming there was some sort of timing fault. Did they pull the valve cover and check the timing? Was the vanos recall done? How did they program the dme and with what?

Something doesnít add up to me.
Appreciate 1
Dackelone7708.50

      02-27-2018, 02:34 PM   #16
westcoast1er
Enlisted Member
6
Rep
44
Posts

Drives: 2011 135i
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Planet Earth

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gizmo135i View Post
I would get a second opinion, n55 dme does not fail often. Maybe bring it to the dealer and pay the $150 diag fee.

If the cam sensor was replaced then I am assuming there was some sort of timing fault. Did they pull the valve cover and check the timing? Was the vanos recall done? How did they program the dme and with what?

Something doesnít add up to me.
RPM seems to be having a significant uptick in demand for this DME, so it seems failure does occur with these. That will be rather expensive since the car doesn't move at the moment.

They did check for any mechanical faults and found nothing. I am not sure about a VANOS recall, and IIRC there were no pending recalls for my car.
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2018, 10:33 PM   #17
Gizmo135i
Private First Class
60
Rep
188
Posts

Drives: 135i n55
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Park Ridge NJ

iTrader: (0)

Not saying they never go bad, they just donít often. Deffinatly not as often as say the n54 dme.

Not sure what kind of shop it is at or what their comptance level is with these cars, what faults it has etc... so I donít know, hopefully they know what they are doing. just donít want to see someone throw an expensive part like a dme and have it not fixed.
Appreciate 0
      03-02-2018, 07:23 PM   #18
The Wind Breezes
Major
393
Rep
1,323
Posts

Drives: 135i N55 DCT
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Sounds like the shop ran into a diagnostic wall and you get to pay for them to play games. Your DME will basically either work or it won't.
Appreciate 1
Dackelone7708.50

      03-02-2018, 07:32 PM   #19
Dackelone
European Editor
Dackelone's Avatar
Germany
7709
Rep
22,263
Posts

Drives: N54 e82
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bayern, Germany

iTrader: (1)

Get a second opinion. IF the car does run, have it towed to a BMW dealer and see what they say. Even IF you have to pay a few hundred for a proper diagnosis - it could save you big time over buying a new DME which you probably don't need. I bet all that's needed is a simple DME reflash. Your indi shop just threw their hands up and said its the DME. Nope, I am not buying that diagnosis.

The only time a DME gets "fried" is when someone welds on the car without disconnecting the battery ground... or IF someone jumps started the battery and hooks the battery terminals up reversed.

good luck,
Dackel
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-05-2018, 01:19 PM   #20
westcoast1er
Enlisted Member
6
Rep
44
Posts

Drives: 2011 135i
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Planet Earth

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dackelone View Post
Get a second opinion. IF the car does run, have it towed to a BMW dealer and see what they say. Even IF you have to pay a few hundred for a proper diagnosis - it could save you big time over buying a new DME which you probably don't need. I bet all that's needed is a simple DME reflash. Your indi shop just threw their hands up and said its the DME. Nope, I am not buying that diagnosis.

The only time a DME gets "fried" is when someone welds on the car without disconnecting the battery ground... or IF someone jumps started the battery and hooks the battery terminals up reversed.

good luck,
Dackel
Unfortunately the car does not run, so I feel my hands are tied a bit with this. I think they needed to reflash the car but were unable to - and that is why they determined the DME is 'fried.'
Appreciate 0
      03-05-2018, 01:38 PM   #21
gixracer
Second Lieutenant
gixracer's Avatar
United_States
155
Rep
270
Posts

Drives: 128i slicktop heavilly modded
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Waterford, Michigan

iTrader: (5)

talk to the guys at rpm in Victoria BC. if you need a dme I have 2013 for sale with cas and key(probably dont need those but they are a set.

you will need to send them your keys, dme, and cas to match the set

It does cost some cash but they will get the job done.

Also an Indy may not be able to flash if it is the newer DME because they are locked. My 2010 could not be flashed the conventional way without being unlocked.
__________________
128i slicktop 6mt AA headers/3 STG IM/Apex wheels. 1M3 under construction
Appreciate 0
      03-05-2018, 07:06 PM   #22
Gizmo135i
Private First Class
60
Rep
188
Posts

Drives: 135i n55
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Park Ridge NJ

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by westcoast1er View Post
Unfortunately the car does not run, so I feel my hands are tied a bit with this. I think they needed to reflash the car but were unable to - and that is why they determined the DME is 'fried.'
Your hand arnít tied, thatís what tow trucks are for... Iíd be interested to know what they are using to program the dme, a pirated version of ISTA, or some aftermarket scanner etc...

If they put a dme in it and it does not fix the car I hope they are planning on standing behind their diagnosis... something tells me if they misdiagnosed the car then the cost is on you. Thats why to me it would be worth the $300 or so it would probably cost you to get the car to the dealer and diagnosed properly.
Appreciate 1
Dackelone7708.50

Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
135, bmw, dme, ecm, ecu

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:06 AM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST