BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-22-2008, 06:44 AM   #1
WAY
Brigadier General
 
Drives: Fast ones
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Posts: 3,884
iTrader: (0)

TPMS

I need some clarification on TPMS on our cars. I am assuming we have TPMS otherwise how else would we know if the RFT are flat right? But I read someone saying that we don't have the sensors on the wheels like the US? If so, does it use ABS sensors or something? And now to the question I most like to know, do we still have the monitoring unit in front of the left wheel arches? (ok I know very few if anyone would know the answer to the last question - will get Andrew to take my car apart tomorrow to find the answer for that one). THanks.
WAY is online now   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      09-22-2008, 06:45 AM   #2
123D-M
Captain
 
123D-M's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 123d M-Sport Coupe
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Madrid, Spain

Posts: 930
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Do you have iDrive? There is an option in my iDrive to review the TPMS and I believe there was in the 08 version too.

If not I don't know either. :iono:
__________________
2009 123D Coupe | Sedona Red | Black Boston Leather | Brushed Aluminium Trim | Tinted Windows | M-Sport Package | 6M | Comfort Access | Heated Seats | Navigation | Park Distance Front & Rear | USB | Bluetooth | Voice Control | Efficient Dynamics | Rain & Light Sensors | Xenon Lights
My blog: http://urbanemusings.wordpress.com/
123D-M is offline   Spain
0
Reply With Quote
      09-22-2008, 06:57 AM   #3
WAY
Brigadier General
 
Drives: Fast ones
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Posts: 3,884
iTrader: (0)

Review the TPMS? You mean they give you the individual air temperature of each tyre? I don't think we have that here...
WAY is online now   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      09-22-2008, 07:00 AM   #4
123D-M
Captain
 
123D-M's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 123d M-Sport Coupe
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Madrid, Spain

Posts: 930
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
No. It just says each tyre is ok. When one get's low apparently it flashes in the screen next to the speedo which one needs attention.

I don't think it tells you the pressure unfortunately (as that would seem like an easy thing for it to do...). I will test mine tonight when I go home. Need to be driving for it to work.
__________________
2009 123D Coupe | Sedona Red | Black Boston Leather | Brushed Aluminium Trim | Tinted Windows | M-Sport Package | 6M | Comfort Access | Heated Seats | Navigation | Park Distance Front & Rear | USB | Bluetooth | Voice Control | Efficient Dynamics | Rain & Light Sensors | Xenon Lights
My blog: http://urbanemusings.wordpress.com/
123D-M is offline   Spain
0
Reply With Quote
      09-22-2008, 07:02 AM   #5
TimH
Symptoms of 135i denial..
 
Drives: 2005 120i Sydney Blue
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sydney

Posts: 69
iTrader: (0)

Mine measures the speed of each wheel relative to the others (ABS sensors I assume) compared to the steering wheel angle.

When the SZL sensor (steering angle) failed I lost pressure monitoring, stability control, and indicator self cancelling. 50 metres after I bought the car!
TimH is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      09-22-2008, 07:03 AM   #6
DTNJNQ
Captain
 
DTNJNQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i, Subaru-Liberty GT
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Posts: 909
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 BMW 135i  [4.33]
Wayne, Looking at the Australian version of the manual, it appears to be different from the USA version of the manual in relation to tire pressure monitoring.
The USA manual show a TPM display on the idrive whereas the Australian version does not show this. The Australian manual indicates that the run flat indicator detects a pressure drop in a tyre on the basis of a speed comparison between individual wheels while the vehicle is being driven.
This suggest that we don't have TPMS.
I think this is good for us Aussies since there is no need for TPM sensors when changing to a new set of wheels
DTNJNQ is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      09-22-2008, 07:14 AM   #7
WAY
Brigadier General
 
Drives: Fast ones
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Posts: 3,884
iTrader: (0)

Thanks...I wasn't worried about buying TPM sensors. Never was going to use that anyway as it is pointless with a non-runflat. You know you have a flat with a normal tyre!

This could mean no pressure sensor monitor either then? Which means the left side in front of the wheel can be used for something else. I hope so.
WAY is online now   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      09-22-2008, 07:18 AM   #8
DTNJNQ
Captain
 
DTNJNQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i, Subaru-Liberty GT
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Posts: 909
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 BMW 135i  [4.33]
Quote:
Originally Posted by WAY View Post
Thanks...I wasn't worried about buying TPM sensors. Never was going to use that anyway as it is pointless with a non-runflat. You know you have a flat with a normal tyre!

This could mean no pressure sensor monitor either then? Which means the left side in front of the wheel can be used for something else. I hope so.
But in the USA you would need TPM Sensors even for non run flat tyres as you would be always getting a flat tyre alarm if you didn't have them. The advantage with our system is that you won't be getting an alarm by running non run flats unless you have a flat.
DTNJNQ is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      09-22-2008, 07:33 AM   #9
AussieRacer
Major
 
AussieRacer's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 135i
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Aust

Posts: 1,058
iTrader: (0)

Not sure about the TPMS accuracy, but our system is crap for slower leaks. Eg. if you loose 10% pressure per day, it won't show up. That's roughly what I experienced. I drove for at least a couple of days on a flat tyre and the system said nothing. It was a slow leak with a screw in the tread. I'd reinflate every couple of days as the pressure was slowly dropping, and still no warnings.
__________________
Current: 135i Auto, Le Mans Blue - w/ Bridgestone RE-11 rears, GP Thunder 7500k angels, & "golf tee" mod plus a few M3 suspension bits and pieces...
AussieRacer is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      09-22-2008, 06:53 PM   #10
takahashi
Retired trackie
 
takahashi's Avatar
 
Drives: 1///M
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Posts: 1,529
iTrader: (0)

TPMS is not required in ADR like the US. I think 99% no Aussie dealer will install one to give the service department "mar fan".

It is not a perfect unit and for average user it is more of an annoyance than useful tool.
__________________
TAKA 一仔BLOGブログ:
BMW 1 series M 2011! Delivered 18/11/11.
takahashi is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      09-22-2008, 07:37 PM   #11
Wraith
Captain
 
Drives:
Join Date: Jun 2008

Posts: 814
iTrader: (0)

Most high end aftermarket rims come with TMPS compatability either standard or optional.

And most other rim manufacturers are slowly introducing this feature on their rims as well if you buy 'normal' off the shelf aftermarket wheels, as TMPS is becoming more and more common with newer vehicles...

So either way, TMPS or not on our Aust. spec 1ers, you should have it covered, whichever rim/tyre wheel combo you opt for :smile:
Wraith is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-24-2008, 07:04 AM   #12
imported_Dodgy
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: SG 135i 6M
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Melbourne

Posts: 340
iTrader: (0)

Not sure how it works, but the iDrive does have a Tyre Pressure Monitor, and it seems to work.....

Had an hour to kill between lists today, so went for a squirt along the Eastern. Driving back through Box Hill, Tyre Pressure Warning comes on. Little message on screen basically said "..check tyres, don't drive over 80..."

Filled tyres and rear passenger was 60 kpa below others.

Popped into Donellan's Box Hill, sure enough, nail in tyre!

Got a newbie fitted (only 630 friggin dollars, if you don't mind).

Here's the thing.

Once new tyre was fitted, I had to re-calibrate the TPMS!. It needs to be done with the car stationary, and ignition on. It's under the "Tyres" submenu in the "i" menu.

If our TPMS works on load differential, presumably that's why it's done stationary?

Anyhoo. It seem to work well on this occasion.

Should've sat in the café reading the paper!
__________________
Delivered! 1700hrs Tues May 20 2008: Sparkling Graphite, 6MT, Black Boston Leather, Accented Aluminium, Sun Roof, Pro Nav, Comfort Access.
imported_Dodgy is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      09-24-2008, 07:09 AM   #13
Zuzu
Major General
 
Zuzu's Avatar
 
Drives: VO 1M Beast
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SyDnEy Oz

Posts: 7,317
iTrader: (0)

Couldnt they just remove the nail and plug up or was the nail in the side of the tyre wall?
__________________
COBB tune . ETS FMIC . aFe CAI . Meisterschaft GT exhaust . Custom Midpipes . CDV . BM OCC . H&R springs :
Zuzu is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      09-24-2008, 07:19 AM   #14
WAY
Brigadier General
 
Drives: Fast ones
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Posts: 3,884
iTrader: (0)

You are not supposed to plug RFT's. Btw, the TPMS does work. My Cooper S back in 2002 had a nail in it within a week of picking it up, and the warning came on. I am sure 6 years later they would have made it even better!
WAY is online now   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      09-24-2008, 07:29 AM   #15
imported_Dodgy
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: SG 135i 6M
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Melbourne

Posts: 340
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zuzu View Post
Couldnt they just remove the nail and plug up or was the nail in the side of the tyre wall?
As Way says, don't think plugging RFT's is a viable long term option.

Also, the side walls start to fatigue when running without pressure. No the situation for me, given I drove about 500m at 40kph from the warning light to the tyre shop.
__________________
Delivered! 1700hrs Tues May 20 2008: Sparkling Graphite, 6MT, Black Boston Leather, Accented Aluminium, Sun Roof, Pro Nav, Comfort Access.
imported_Dodgy is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 PM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST