BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

06-08-2015, 01:21 PM   #1
doritos123
Rep
Drives: BMW 116i Performance Edition

E87 Differential Problems

2011 E87 hatchback N43 2L engine

I am a young driver and like most, I like to push my car to the limits, the occasional handbrake turn, drifting, wheelspins, the usual idiot behaviour.

Last month I was driving late at night with friends and attempted a wheelspins start at the lights (which I've done hundreds of times) as soon as I dropped the clutch I heard a loud bang from underneath the car, just under the gearbox, and there was no drive at all. I put it in neutral and gave it a few seconds as I thought the clutch had overheated because it felt really loose. Tried to set off again (normally) and still the car wouldn't move an inch. As the clutch went to biting point, there was a horrible grinding noise from which I later found out was the diff, as if someone was prodding a metal fan blade with a screwdriver.

Now I've got this all sorted, the actual casing of the diff had cracked due to the gears inside just generally gave way and fucked up lol. My question now is what is the reason for this? The car has only done 40k miles, is this a common problem on BMWs/1 Series models? And how much of it was due to my erratic driving and how much was 'it was bound to happen eventually'

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      06-08-2015, 02:02 PM   #2
The Wind Breezes
Lieutenant Colonel
Rep
Drives: 135i N55 DCT

You were asking too much of the car. It's not designed for your level of abuse.
Appreciate 0
      06-08-2015, 06:31 PM   #3
doritos123
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Wind Breezes View Post
You were asking too much of the car. It's not designed for your level of abuse.