BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read




 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-23-2011, 07:19 PM   #23
fastauto
Captain
fastauto's Avatar
United_States
15
Rep
673
Posts

Drives: AW 1M Coupe
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Long Island, NY

iTrader: (0)

What is the corner delete mod all about?
Appreciate 0
      12-23-2011, 07:43 PM   #24
1sonnyM
New Member
1
Rep
17
Posts

Drives: 1M
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dubai

iTrader: (0)

Will this cable work:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/BMW-USB-OB...-/120818069365

Somewhere down the page they mentioned that it will not work for cars made after 2007 and yet the screenshots seem to tell otherwise. What you guys think? Can we plug this in on our 1M ?
Appreciate 0
      12-27-2011, 09:14 AM   #25
discoboy1
Major
discoboy1's Avatar
Canada
55
Rep
1,416
Posts

Drives: E82 1M VO/E46 M3/F30 328D
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Montreal

iTrader: (3)

I read in an other post that euro spec cars have dynamic pulsating third brake light under extreme braking, can we activate this in NA?
__________________
2011 E82 1M VO
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2012, 01:44 AM   #26
ronster
Lieutenant
Canada
7
Rep
414
Posts

Drives: 2011 1M VO
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

hi egghie, have you confirmed the mirror memory in keyfob yet? It would be a great option for my stripper...

Cheers...

Quote:
Originally Posted by eeghie View Post
Found the Curb Monitor parameters (freebee for those of us with stripper cars):

AUT_SPIEGELVERSTELLUNG
aktiv
SPIEGELABKLAPPEN
aktiv
BEIKLAPPEN_B_KOMFORTSCHL
nicht_aktiv
MEMORY_SPIEGELABKLAPPEN
aktiv
SPIEGELHEIZUNG
ptc_kl_15
SITZMEMORY_VERBAUT
aktiv
V_VAR_SPERRE_BEIKLAPPEN
wert_01
LL/RL
linkslenker (use rechtslenker if your steering wheel is on the right)
SPIEGELHEIZUNG_VERBAUT
aktiv
ABKLAPPWERT
wert_02

Mirror memory in the key fob (without memory seats) is not yet confirmed, looking into that. TBC

For the AngelEyes there should be some options for those of you who would like to not use them. So far the only confirmed solution is the delete of the individual broken bulb warning: Because of that, if you take out the bulbs, you will not get a warning. TBC

BTW, these coding options are mostly not accessible via the idrive (although there are a few coding options to add menus to the regular user interface). The coding is done by using PC software to change the values of the parameters used by the BMW OEM software for the various micro processors (called xxxx Control modules) in the car. Then loading the changed settings from the computer via the USB port to the cars OBD connector. Query bmw coding if you're interested.

Not that I'm a nerd or anything; the above was told to me by a captian Kirk look-a-like at the last StarTrek convention
__________________
2011 1M VO stripper
2009 AW 135i M-sp (sold)
2002 SG MINI Cooper (sold)
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2012, 04:38 AM   #27
eeghie
Kind of a big deal
125
Rep
1,588
Posts

Drives: an 1M not often enough
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: between Unlimited and Hard to Get

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ronster View Post
hi egghie, have you confirmed the mirror memory in keyfob yet? It would be a great option for my stripper...

Cheers...
It's not looking good, as the mirror memory location where the settings are stored might actually be in the electric seats module, instead of in the more general modules (available in stripper cars). For the next couple of months car is in storage, so i'm not able to progress on this topic. After that I'll post a final findings.
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2012, 04:52 AM   #28
Dackelone
European Editor
Dackelone's Avatar
Germany
6103
Rep
21,973
Posts

Drives: N54 e82
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bayern, Germany

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastauto View Post
What is the corner delete mod all about?
It turns off those orange parking lights at the "corners" of the headlights.
Appreciate 0
      07-17-2012, 05:20 PM   #29
PapaZoo
New Member
0
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: E36/7 M Coupe, E30 M3, E30 4dr
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Calgary, AB

iTrader: (0)

Hey guys

i have coded many cars but everytime i try and connect to my BMW 1M it gives me this error.

Name:  1M.png
Views: 1059
Size:  105.0 KB

I have updated V46 and still have this problem. If someone could help me out that would be awesome.

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      07-18-2012, 03:08 AM   #30
eeghie
Kind of a big deal
125
Rep
1,588
Posts

Drives: an 1M not often enough
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: between Unlimited and Hard to Get

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ronster View Post
hi eeghie, have you confirmed the mirror memory in keyfob yet? It would be a great option for my stripper...

Cheers...
Yes, here we go, Mirror memory in Keyfob is stored in FRM (a module we all have), however this module will only be able to set the mirror if you have an advanced mirror version (in case of the US 1M this only comes with the premium package, this advanced mirror version is connected with a so called LIN bus/cable. The stripper mirror can only be heated).

The good news is that with a retrofit of these advanced mirrors you can get folding, dimming, keyfob memory and curb monitor all at once. This certainly the route I want to go.

One note on the curb monitor, I'm reading that many users consider it not helpful because the tilting is not far enough down to see the curb. For this an additional (not so standard) coding is possible. (see the BMW coding website for details)
Appreciate 0
      07-18-2012, 04:33 AM   #31
Mike Benvo
Mike Benvo's Avatar
United_States
816
Rep
6,438
Posts

Drives: Harrop M3 / F10 M5 / F82 M4
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2000 BMW M5  [0.00]
1990 BMW 735i Turbo  [0.00]
2008 BMW M3  [3.75]
2015 BMW M3  [0.00]
2015 BMW M5  [0.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Benvo
Quote:
Originally Posted by PapaZoo View Post
Hey guys

i have coded many cars but everytime i try and connect to my BMW 1M it gives me this error.

Attachment 722312

I have updated V46 and still have this problem. If someone could help me out that would be awesome.

Thanks
Try making sure that your setting in the com port properties has the latency timer set at 1 - default setting is 16 and it will cause that error.

Hope this helps. Corner delete looks really good on a 1 series imo.
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Appreciate 0
      07-18-2012, 12:47 PM   #32
octainejunkee
Second Lieutenant
octainejunkee's Avatar
United Kingdom
8
Rep
247
Posts

Drives: black 2012 1m 454/530 BHP/LBFT
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: gatwick (uk)

iTrader: (0)

turning the seat belt beep off would make the first three mins of my daily drive alot less beepy lol.
Appreciate 0
      07-18-2012, 06:35 PM   #33
UsualSuspect
Lieutenant General ***
UsualSuspect's Avatar
United_States
36
Rep
749
Posts

Drives: this way and that way...
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Boston

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PapaZoo View Post
Hey guys

i have coded many cars but everytime i try and connect to my BMW 1M it gives me this error.

Attachment 722312

I have updated V46 and still have this problem. If someone could help me out that would be awesome.

Thanks
I seen people get that before and it was because of an incorrect installation. NCS is very sensitive. So try to install it the software and made sure you have a good copy of NCS and EDIABAS. That should fix it.
__________________
Everyone has a photographic memory, some just don't have film.
Appreciate 0
      07-19-2012, 08:05 AM   #34
JimD
Brigadier General
JimD's Avatar
110
Rep
3,077
Posts

Drives: 128i convertible
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lexington, SC

iTrader: (0)

Here's a link to a cable that I and other successfully use. It goes out of stock sometimes but when I copied it they had some:

http://www.one-stop-electronics.com/shop/

People ask a lot about cheaper cables and some may work. I would watch out if they do not have a liberal return policy and if they say the same cable will code all bimmers. The older models need a different pin arrangement so the above link includes an adapter. It is a high quality cable but isn't the cheapest you can find.

The error could be because you need to update your software.

You probably have the digital speedometer in your little digital display (as an option along with mpg and other info), I had to add it to my e88. Is your speedometer inaccurate like the analog? If so, this code may fix it, it is in Kombi in mine:

BC_DIGITAL_V_KORREKTUR

If you do not care for the warning gong when the temperature gets close to freezing, you may want to change this setting, also in Kombi for me:

CC_TEMPERATURWARNUNG

There is another website dedicated to coding you may want to check out: b m w c o d i n g.com (eliminate the spaces).

Jim
__________________
128i Convertible, MT, Alpine White, Black Top, Taupe Leatherette, Walnut, Sport
Ordered 5/22/09, Completed 6/4/09, At Port 6/9/09, On the Georgia Highway 6/13/09, Ship Arrived Charleston 6/24/09 at 10pm, PCD 7/21/09
Appreciate 0
      07-19-2012, 08:11 AM   #35
JimD
Brigadier General
JimD's Avatar
110
Rep
3,077
Posts

Drives: 128i convertible
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lexington, SC

iTrader: (0)

The general coding process is to connect the cable to your laptop and the OBDII port of your car (drivers side footwell in my e88), run INPA to be sure you have a connection (requires turning the car "on" but not running), then run NCSExpert to do the actual changes. The process is not very logical and involves multiple steps that must be done exactly correctly. Attention to detail is required. It is possible to mess things up and make your car do things you really did not want. If you backup your module first, however, you can always reset to the way you found it. There is a good tutorial that I followed as close as possible the first time (the instruction is to add the digital speedometer which is in a different software module for me) and I follow steps 50 and up when making changes now. It only takes 5 minutes or so to make a change but if you do not follow the steps just right the least thing that will happen is it won't work. If you are good with computers and following instructions you should not have too much difficulty - possibly none.

There's a good thread in the DIY area called "coding success" you may also want to review if you like this subject.

Another thing you can do with the cable and software is to tell your car you put in a new battery. I am not at that point yet but that one thing will pay for your investment in the cable and software.

Jim
__________________
128i Convertible, MT, Alpine White, Black Top, Taupe Leatherette, Walnut, Sport
Ordered 5/22/09, Completed 6/4/09, At Port 6/9/09, On the Georgia Highway 6/13/09, Ship Arrived Charleston 6/24/09 at 10pm, PCD 7/21/09
Appreciate 0
      07-19-2012, 05:40 PM   #36
PapaZoo
New Member
0
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: E36/7 M Coupe, E30 M3, E30 4dr
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Calgary, AB

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by UsualSuspect View Post
I seen people get that before and it was because of an incorrect installation. NCS is very sensitive. So try to install it the software and made sure you have a good copy of NCS and EDIABAS. That should fix it.
I actually have coded quite a few different cars including:
2009 M3
2008 128 convert
2008 335xi

And i have never had any problems. i updated EDIBAS to 7.2.0 and still no luck. I also reinstalled NCS last night and i still get the same error. I just dont know what else to do.
Appreciate 0
      07-19-2012, 07:19 PM   #37
Artemis
Moderator
Artemis's Avatar
Belgium
4351
Rep
7,506
Posts

Drives: BMW M2 (MG 6MT)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Belgium

iTrader: (0)

On two occasions, for an unknown reason, my doors unlocked whilst driving. Nothing coded, so probably a glitch. I don't mind, as long as the airbags do not deploy just for fun.
__________________
“For ’tis the mind that makes the body rich” (W. Shakespeare, The Taming of the Shrew, Act 4, Scene 3)
Appreciate 0
      07-19-2012, 07:28 PM   #38
Artemis
Moderator
Artemis's Avatar
Belgium
4351
Rep
7,506
Posts

Drives: BMW M2 (MG 6MT)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Belgium

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by octainejunkee View Post
turning the seat belt beep off would make the first three mins of my daily drive alot less beepy lol.
Buckle the seat belt before taking place on the seat (if you don't mind the seat belt itching your back + taking the risk of driving without seat belt protection).

Familiar situation: the passenger wants to take something from the backseat or help the child out with something, unbuckles and there's the beep. If you want to keep rolling: let the passenger buckle the seat belt again to fool the system. Not safe though.
__________________
“For ’tis the mind that makes the body rich” (W. Shakespeare, The Taming of the Shrew, Act 4, Scene 3)
Appreciate 0
      07-20-2012, 08:24 AM   #39
bmw1mc
First Lieutenant
bmw1mc's Avatar
Australia
10
Rep
334
Posts

Drives: BMW 1M Coupe
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sydney Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by robertm
I understood the following from above:

Hi, I just got my car on 10/27.

Happy
Appreciate 0
      07-20-2012, 11:07 AM   #40
JimD
Brigadier General
JimD's Avatar
110
Rep
3,077
Posts

Drives: 128i convertible
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lexington, SC

iTrader: (0)

PapaZoo,

There is a really long thread on the other website about NCS errors. Did you try searching it for the one you are experiencing. I hate the amount of time it takes to look through those long threads but I've found useful information doing it. Good Luck.

Jim
__________________
128i Convertible, MT, Alpine White, Black Top, Taupe Leatherette, Walnut, Sport
Ordered 5/22/09, Completed 6/4/09, At Port 6/9/09, On the Georgia Highway 6/13/09, Ship Arrived Charleston 6/24/09 at 10pm, PCD 7/21/09
Appreciate 0
      04-10-2013, 05:34 AM   #41
eeghie
Kind of a big deal
125
Rep
1,588
Posts

Drives: an 1M not often enough
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: between Unlimited and Hard to Get

iTrader: (0)

Trouble detecting the 1MDSC module

so far so good on various parameter settings and VO retrofits interior auto dimming mirror $431, Alarm $302 and passenger airbag deactivation switch $470.

However when either reading the 1MDSC module or when coding the whole car, I get an error saying ".. Cannot communicate with 1MDSC module..."

Can someone who has either successfully interfaced with the 1MDSC module specifically or who has no errors when coding the whole car please reply with their SGdaten, EDIABAS version and cable details?

THX!
Appreciate 0
      04-17-2013, 06:12 PM   #42
eeghie
Kind of a big deal
125
Rep
1,588
Posts

Drives: an 1M not often enough
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: between Unlimited and Hard to Get

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by eeghie View Post
so far so good on various parameter settings and VO retrofits interior auto dimming mirror $431, Alarm $302 and passenger airbag deactivation switch $470.

However when either reading the 1MDSC module or when coding the whole car, I get an error saying ".. Cannot communicate with 1MDSC module..."

Can someone who has either successfully interfaced with the 1MDSC module specifically or who has no errors when coding the whole car please reply with their SGdaten, EDIABAS version and cable details?

THX!
Figured it out, thx to gracious help from Mike Benvo@BPMSPORT.com; V46.3 Daten work fine with the M1DSC module, my problem was that to code this particular module, the ignition has to be on!
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2013, 06:52 AM   #43
RimasRS
Colonel
RimasRS's Avatar
55
Rep
2,430
Posts

Drives: 135i MT 2009 AW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Europe

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by eeghie View Post
Figured it out, thx to gracious help from Mike Benvo@BPMSPORT.com; V46.3 Daten work fine with the M1DSC module, my problem was that to code this particular module, the ignition has to be on!
Can you read and post your 1MDSC .TRC file?
Appreciate 0
      10-17-2015, 07:58 AM   #44
Nagata-San
Homyseed
Nagata-San's Avatar
Switzerland
34
Rep
262
Posts

Drives: '11 BMW 1M AW
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Switzerland

iTrader: (0)

Installed RECARO PP, have the passenger seat code + airbag code.

Any coding way ?
__________________
NOW: '11 BMW 1M AW "Nabila"
PREVIOUS: '09 BMW 335i DKG (DCT) "never too big"
BEFORE:'09 BMW 135i F1 Sauber Edition 120/135
Team Homyseed
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:40 AM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST