BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

09-22-2010, 06:02 AM   #1
N55_BBM
Major
Rep
Drives: 2011 135i Coupe

To HPDE or to not HPDE....?

Hey guys, I just bought a 2011 135i 2 months ago and I love the car. Only problem is that I'm frustrated by not being able to drive it fast enough, and I am DYING to put this thing on the track.

There's an HPDE event occurring nearby at the Pocono Raceway, organized by BMC CCA Delval Chapter. It's 10/9-10/10 and costs $400. I've never done HPDE before and am a little nervous.. can't decide whether it seems appropriate to put my car on a track or not. It has 3000 miles on it and it's actually financed, I owe like $26,000 on it right now. Also, driving on a track without insurance kind of freaks me out.

With that in mind, do you guys think I should do it or not? Buying a track car just for this kind of stuff is out of question, I absolutely don't have the money or time to dedicate to that..

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2010, 06:11 AM   #2
SiN55
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 135i N55

Choice is yours, money is yours! But, youo only live once so...
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2010, 06:54 AM   #3
Dackelone
European Editor
Germany
Rep
Drives: N54 e82

There are companies that specialize on ON-TRACK car insurance. As long as it is NOT a timed event. Speaking of which... your car ins will probably cover you anyway. You might ask your agent. Make sure to tell them it is a car control event and NOT a timed event/race.

You might even look into on track rentals for prepped cars.

Is Bertil Roo's still around there? I did on of their schools many moons ago. I recooemnd them!!! You could sign up for one of their schools. You use THEIR cars and not yours.
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2010, 07:11 AM   #4
LA-Bimmer
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2012 E92 335i