BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

09-11-2017, 01:31 PM   #1
One28Goat
Rep
Drives: 2011 128i

Replacing 128i airbag. How to know it wont be triggered instantly?

Hey, I am replacing the steering wheel airbag on my 128i. It was in a front end collision and I want to make sure the bag doesn't deploy as soon as I connect it.

Does anyone know or have any guides or links? All I can find is takata recall articles. Or is this something I really shouldn't be worried about?
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2017, 03:11 PM   #2
CAYY
Canada
Rep

IME, when there is a collision and a/b deployment you'll need to replace all the items involved. Noted, I have no BMW experience in this but for the major manufacturers I've worked for, after deployment you'll need to replace the associated belts/buckles/unit, etc. Again i'm not sure if this applies to us here but it's something to verify.
Now, I've never heard of a deployment without a collision sensor command so what you're suggesting is extremely unlikely. The bag should be mostly plug and play but getting the SRS warning off is another story.
Appreciate 0
      09-12-2017, 06:15 AM   #3
juld0zer
Lieutenant Colonel
Australia
Rep
Drives: Prev 135i 7DCT, Now 130i 6sp

Correct. If you need to replace the steering wheel airbag, you must replace the steering wheel also - because the heat deforms the metal.

If the passenger airbag in the dash deployed then you need to replace the dash.

Usually if the driver bag deploys then you'll also find the seatbelt female buckle pretensioner is also deployed.

We usually only disconnect the negative battery terminal then wait a minute, discharge any static in our body then carry out the work.
Appreciate 0
      09-12-2017, 09:38 AM   #4
One28Goat
Rep

Great, thanks for the info. I just wanted to make sure it wasn't telling the airbag to deploy still before I pluged in a new one.