BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

02-17-2014, 04:32 PM   #1
cmcgonag
Private
Rep
Drives: 2019 Cayenne Turbo - 2011 1M

I need your help -- iDrive BMW App Dataquistion Integration

I am an engineer and I believe in the KISS method (Keep it Simple Stupid). I didnt want a P3/Awron gauge (why should I, I already have a computer in my car). I want more features and processing etc, displayed on my screen while driving.

Fortunately BMW makes an SDK for the BMW Apps ...so in my mind..if I could get a copy of it... I write some code, port the CANBUS data over, process on the Iphone and display on the screen. Simple. Plus I could pull GPS data, data acquisition; you get the picture.

Anyways, I cant get BMW to give me the SDK. I have tried using my big company name etc to get it but thought I would post here for maybe a better contact. I have been talking with two guys at BMW that work on the apps about it but they wont let me get the SDK...

I am willing to share my emails and correspondences with them to get this thing moving. Some one on here has to have some good contacts. Or if you have a copy of the SDK that would be even better.

Thanks,

Colin
Appreciate 0
      02-17-2014, 05:59 PM   #2
Dackelone
European Editor
Germany
Rep
Drives: N54 e82

uhhh errrr... what is: SDK ?
Appreciate 0
      02-17-2014, 06:02 PM   #3
Harlequin
Brigadier General
Australia
Rep
Drives: F32 Coupé

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dackelone View Post
uhhh errrr... what is: SDK ?
Software Developer Kit

Basically a set of tools and/or an instruction manual on how to create software that is compatible with a given operating system or piece of hardware.
      02-18-2014, 11:57 AM   #4
cmcgonag
Private
Rep
Drives: 2019 Cayenne Turbo - 2011 1M

Ian,

Where did you get to with it? Did you talk to them at all or just do some research etc?

Colin
Appreciate 0
      02-18-2014, 01:46 PM   #5
eeghie
Kind of a big deal
Rep
Drives: an 1M not often enough

Quote: