BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

08-24-2013, 03:00 PM   #1
uberschnell
Brigadier General
No_Country
Rep
Drives: Wide Body 1

DIY 1M Exhasut conversion

Just sharing some of the work I’ve done. I am going for the full conversion like others, the only difference is I’m planning on DIY, except for painting. In order to do the rear conversion you need to address the exhaust section first. Two choices, custom exhaust set up to fit the new exhaust tip locations or a full 1m conversion. I’m trying to make the conversion as OEM as possible so I went for the full conversion.

Now, I’m also trying to do this as cheaply as possible, so where I can I’m doing my own work and modification. I spent over 10 years in the aviation industry so I’m a decently competent mechanic and own a fair number of tools (including a welder) (note, I’m definitely on the beginner side of the welding scale).

Parts
51488051598 Shield
51718051597 Pan
16137845193 vent pipe
16137845195 vent pipe
16137845194 Exhaust steam pipe with filter
61129217036 pos lead plus pole
61127845120 neg lead
61126929715 pos lead
51128051589 rear bumper carrier

(Big thanks to Phil and Reeves for helping me with the parts )

First, Battery Tray. Here is where the problems start.

The battery on my 135 seems to be significantly larger then the 1m battery. The mounting holes just don’t line up.

Name:  photo 1.JPG
Views: 3351
Size:  515.8 KB

So my solution was to buy a smaller battery. I picked up an Interstate Megatron plus MTP-48/H6. Same CCA as the OEM, AH 70 vs. 90 on the stock. Nice bonus, it’s about 23lbs lighter also.

Name:  batt comparo.JPG
Views: 2976
Size:  369.3 KB