BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

05-19-2018, 05:12 PM   #1
F13.KENN
Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2013 BMW M6

H & X pipe on 128i?

Thinking about doing an H pipe where the secondary cats are. Searched around and didnt see anything about H pipes or X pipes on here. Should i spend the extra couple bucks and my local muffler shop?
Appreciate 0
      05-19-2018, 07:36 PM   #2
chris_flies
Sideways and Smiling
Rep
Drives: In Exuberance

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue_e82 View Post
Thinking about doing an H pipe where the secondary cats are. Searched around and didnt see anything about H pipes or X pipes on here. Should i spend the extra couple bucks and my local muffler shop?
I don't know that a straight-six will take much advantage of an X-pipe, but I am far from an expert in exhaust.
      05-19-2018, 07:45 PM   #3
F13.KENN
Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2013 BMW M6

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris_flies View Post
I don't know that a straight-six will take much advantage of an X-pipe, but I am far from an expert in exhaust.
Thats what i was thinking. Same where about the exhaust expert part. I might do it for the hell of it
Appreciate 1
      05-20-2018, 03:57 PM   #4
Taskmaster
Banned
Japan
Rep
Drives: M235i 6MT / E92 328 Msport 6MT

The car already has a merger, it's right after the secondaries (if your car has them) inside of the resonator.

A Y (inside the resonator) and X pipe are functionally the same, the H pipe in my opinion is inferior and is a sound only mod.

I wouldn't bother unless you were upgrading for more power, and in that situation a custom X/Y pipe or an exhaust system would be ideal.
Appreciate 0
      05-26-2018, 04:12 PM   #5
Big Mexican Women
Banned
Rep
Drives: 2011 528i

the N52 exhaust system cannot fit an x-pipe.

an H-pipe is useless, don't waste your time trying to install one.