BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

04-24-2010, 06:06 PM   #1
gan08
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: Fatty X5 and Pot-bellied 135

Tire rubbing solutions?

Just put on a set of wheels and tires with stock M-sport suspension.
The rear tires rub the inner fender on large bumps at speed.

I searched the forum and found "fender rolling" might help, but I'd say that would be my last option.

Is there any other solution for the rubbing issue?
Will it help if adjusting the rear camber?
Since it's my first time with this kinda issue, I'd like to hear your advice.

Thanks in advance!!

Wheels:
OZ Ultraleggera
18x8 offset:40 Front
18x9 offset:40 Rear
no spacers

Tires:
Yoko S. Drive
215/40 R18 Front
245/35 R18 Rear

Suspension/Fender Mods/Camber:
-None. Stock M-Sport suspension
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2010, 06:11 PM   #2
M3Newbie88
Brigadier General
Canada
Rep
Drives: E92 M3

Other then getting a less squared tire the other options are fender rolling or cutting the fender off.. however let me ask you this question are you just leaving your car stock? Cause if you look closely its not the whole fender that rubs.. its this particular spot near the end of the fender which attaches to the bumper that needs to be rolled a bit..
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2010, 07:00 PM   #3
Eyeman
Colonel
Rep
Drives: 2008 135 blk, blk, step

Garage List
Rear camber will definitely help but you'll already wear out the inside of your tires much faster and more camber would make it worse.

You might can have the wheels "shaved", machined to a higher offset. It will depend on the wheel itself and usually you can't shave much on a wheel with what is already a higher offset than typical.

Reducing weight in the car, especially in the rear will help. My car rubbed significantly less when I removed my rear seat.