BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-03-2007, 02:24 PM   #1
9600baud
Private
4
Rep
77
Posts

Drives: Feet
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New York

iTrader: (0)

Aftermarket navigation?

I sure hope someone will come out with a Double-DIN dash kit for the 1er... I hate the popup navs and factory navs in general leave much to be desired. Not to mention I hate the "movement" locks where you cant input/do anything while the car is moving....

Anyone else going to go that route?:drinking:
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2007, 02:45 PM   #2
inTgr8r
Lieutenant General
inTgr8r's Avatar
Canada
727
Rep
10,634
Posts

Drives: E86 Z4MC; E92 M3
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (9)

I had a Pioneer DDin nav in my last car.
It was good, but I wouldn't do it again.

For the few times I actually need nav, I use a Garmin that I've had for a few years.
I'm thinking of upgrading to a Nuvi... GPS Magazine review
__________________
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2007, 02:51 PM   #3
blacknbean
Major
13
Rep
1,044
Posts

Drives: e92 335i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: SF

iTrader: (2)

garmin is better in everyway shape and form and it waay cheaper. but for cool factor theres nothign better than a factory nav
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2007, 03:15 PM   #4
SCA
Brigadier General
SCA's Avatar
United_States
114
Rep
3,248
Posts

Drives: Multiple BMWs
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: TN

iTrader: (0)

I think a Garmin is better than the BMW navi. Plus side, it is portable too.
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2007, 04:40 PM   #5
imported_mega
Colonel
No_Country
53
Rep
2,056
Posts

Drives: various bmw's
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: neverland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by blacknbean View Post
garmin is better in everyway shape and form and it waay cheaper. but for cool factor theres nothign better than a factory nav
factory bmw nav is only cool to people that have not tried to use it
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2007, 05:48 PM   #6
Robert
Major General
203
Rep
6,937
Posts

Drives: 135i, current is350
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Socal

iTrader: (1)

I really don't like extra things hanging from my dash like the wiring and suction cups. You can do a custom install and hide the wires but then nav loses its portability. It will be nice to have an integrated nav and ipod control but at 2000-3000 dollar extra I am not sure if it's worth the price. (That's one big LCD TV for me.) Decisions.
__________________
- There's nothing in my pocket other than knives and lint
Appreciate 0
      08-04-2007, 02:15 AM   #7
Sixspeed J
Private First Class
Sixspeed J's Avatar
United_States
4
Rep
151
Posts

Drives: BSM 1M
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ohio

iTrader: (1)

I have factory navi in my Honda and it is pretty good. All though the voice recognition part really blows.

I also have the Garmin which I recomend to everyone I meet. It is easy and very intuitive and pretty cheap. It works as well if not better than the Honda Navi.

From what I have heard the I Drive on the Bmw sucks. But I really haven't had a chance to play with one.
Appreciate 0
      08-04-2007, 05:48 AM   #8
menotakoala
Future Owner
menotakoala's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
161
Posts

Drives: Civic Si Sedan
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fullerton, CA

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to menotakoala
I've had the opportunity to mess around the BMW navigation systems and to be honest, I like it. IMHO that is.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by I Vtec, do you? from 8thCivic
I bought a 197 HP car and if I shifted it at 4k like you want me to I'd be driving a car that made 100 HP
Quote:
Originally Posted by Honda Motor Co.
Dear Joe, unfortunately, our service technicians were unable to reproduce the problem that you mentioned. Therefore, we will be unable to perform any work that you claim is necessary. We apologize for the inconvenience.
Appreciate 0
      08-04-2007, 06:36 PM   #9
brfbmw128i
Private First Class
5
Rep
131
Posts

Drives:
Join Date: Jul 2007

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by menotakoala View Post
I've had the opportunity to mess around the BMW navigation systems and to be honest, I like it. IMHO that is.
dont you have to stop the car to set it....thats gay
Appreciate 0
      08-04-2007, 06:46 PM   #10
imported_mega
Colonel
No_Country
53
Rep
2,056
Posts

Drives: various bmw's
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: neverland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by menotakoala View Post
I've had the opportunity to mess around the BMW navigation systems and to be honest, I like it. IMHO that is.
I've used it, it sucks, honestly I think they should just give up on idrive and do it right, ie throw the software they have in the trash, and contract garmin to design it
Appreciate 0
      08-04-2007, 10:09 PM   #11
Panda J
New Member
0
Rep
23
Posts

Drives:
Join Date: Jul 2007

iTrader: (0)

So do you have to stop the car to use the navigation? I know you will have to stop the car to use the dvd.
Appreciate 0
      08-04-2007, 10:57 PM   #12
brfbmw128i
Private First Class
5
Rep
131
Posts

Drives:
Join Date: Jul 2007

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Panda J View Post
So do you have to stop the car to use the navigation? I know you will have to stop the car to use the dvd.
i know one stock nav system like the lexus my friend owns, you have to stop the vehicle to input a destination. kinda inconvenient if you ask me. ill just use my iphone:headbang:
Appreciate 0
      08-05-2007, 02:09 AM   #13
Panda J
New Member
0
Rep
23
Posts

Drives:
Join Date: Jul 2007

iTrader: (0)

Yeah I think Im going to slide on the probably 2k plus option and wait for a double din nav system!
Appreciate 0
      08-05-2007, 02:24 AM   #14
ride450
New Member
0
Rep
7
Posts

Drives:
Join Date: Jul 2007

iTrader: (0)

Sorry, I'm not all that familiar with Navs but am interested in buying one. What is a "double-Din"?
Appreciate 0
      08-05-2007, 07:35 AM   #15
atr_hugo
No longer moderate
atr_hugo's Avatar
No_Country
218
Rep
4,323
Posts

Drives: '13 135i
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: -

iTrader: (0)

Deutsches Institut fur Normung (DIN) is a 'standards organization'- DIN describes the height, width and depth of the opening for electronics in the IP - a single height unit is often refferred to as a 'DIN", a double height unit is a 'double-DIN'. Ask me about 'Dubs' ; -)
Appreciate 0
      08-05-2007, 11:27 AM   #16
alex2364
Major
alex2364's Avatar
United_States
187
Rep
1,019
Posts

Drives: 2017 M4 ZCP
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Northern VA

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2017 BMW M4  [0.00]
I don't know how BMW navigations work, but the factory Honda navigation I have lets me do everything when I'm moving.
Appreciate 0
      08-05-2007, 03:50 PM   #17
lib
Major
lib's Avatar
86
Rep
1,404
Posts

Drives: <This space for rent>
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: ATX

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Panda J View Post
Yeah I think Im going to slide on the probably 2k plus option and wait for a double din nav system!
The interior shots made it look like you only have a single DIN to play with unless you want someone to completely rebuild the console.

Going this (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=209656) route seems a little extreme to me. I'd have a hard time trusting someone to make it look right.

Edit: The part of that install that crossed the line for me was finding the computer in the glovebox.
Appreciate 0
      08-05-2007, 05:06 PM   #18
TheoIam
First Lieutenant
3
Rep
334
Posts

Drives: 03 M5 Carbon/Silverstone
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Marin Ca

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by alex2364 View Post
I don't know how BMW navigations work, but the factory Honda navigation I have lets me do everything when I'm moving.
The Nav in my E46 M3 does not require you to stop either and I do use it quite regularly.

I actual love the way its integreated into the dash. I am not in love with the popup design in the 1'er but IMHO its WAY better then the UGLY ASS double hump in the 3.

I will be getting Nav again in the 1. Hell for the price the car is going to be I will probably load it up with every single option but the slushbox.
Appreciate 0
      08-06-2007, 12:27 AM   #19
Panda J
New Member
0
Rep
23
Posts

Drives:
Join Date: Jul 2007

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lib View Post
The interior shots made it look like you only have a single DIN to play with unless you want someone to completely rebuild the console.

Going this (http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=209656) route seems a little extreme to me. I'd have a hard time trusting someone to make it look right.

Edit: The part of that install that crossed the line for me was finding the computer in the glovebox.

Yup I see what your talking about I might have to just have to get the factory unit! I dont want my dash lookin like doodoo!
Appreciate 0
      08-06-2007, 01:38 AM   #20
lib
Major
lib's Avatar
86
Rep
1,404
Posts

Drives: <This space for rent>
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: ATX

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Panda J View Post
Yup I see what your talking about I might have to just have to get the factory unit! I dont want my dash lookin like doodoo!
You might be able to do a single-din aftermarket nav. I haven't been tracking any of the new ones but a quick Google search pulled up couple options.

The screen is definitely smaller but it would be a cheap, easy, clean install.


Or if you wanted a larger screen you could probably get away with one of the single-din units where a 6" screen folds out
Appreciate 0
      08-06-2007, 02:44 AM   #21
Panda J
New Member
0
Rep
23
Posts

Drives:
Join Date: Jul 2007

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lib View Post
You might be able to do a single-din aftermarket nav. I haven't been tracking any of the new ones but a quick Google search pulled up couple options.

The screen is definitely smaller but it would be a cheap, easy, clean install.


Or if you wanted a larger screen you could probably get away with one of the single-din units where a 6" screen folds out
Yeah Those arent as clean as the Double Din single units. I just wish the factory nav on the 1 was as big as the 3 nav screen!
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2007, 06:51 PM   #22
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
142
Rep
5,591
Posts

Drives: Merc E350 cgi Estate + RR TDV8
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

You need to make sure you have the very basic system in your car if you want to fit aftermarket kit, other wise it starts to get tricky with the amp and the most bus system. If your car has the most bus system and you remove the radio you loose PDC, Bluetooth and the ability for the car to be programmed as the network connection is now broken.

I hate stuff stuck on the dash and was going to put the BMW system in, but as it is now a fairly old system I put this in....


































































I had to also add a cable from the battery to the unit for peramant 12v, but this is easy in the 1er, battery in the boot, so run the cable under the boot floor and then under the door sill trim, under the steering wheel trim and into the centre console.


However, if I get a 135i I will opt for the L7 sound again as it is awesome and add the factory Nav, just makes it more complete.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:26 PM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST