BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

08-16-2011, 03:44 PM   #1
e82n54
Second Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: '09 135i 6MT Alpine White

Flush brake fluid

I need to upgrade my brake fluid for a track session so I will be flushing out the old fluid. I have never done this before so I would like to confirm my plans before I screw something up. (Brakes are kind of improtant and I want them to work.) I plan to use Castrol SRF so I don't have to worry about flushing or bleeding the fluid after each event. Since the existing fluid and the Castrol SRF are the same/similar color (I assume), I plan to start flushing with ATE Super Blue to get a different color in the lines. Then flush with Castrol SRF until the ATE Super Blue is flushed out. I read that there is some brake fluid for the traction control system that requires a computer to flush out this fluid. I definitely won't be doing that, so that makes me wonder if that remaining fluid in the traction control system will mix with the Castrol SRF and reduce its effectiveness or boil during the track session even if it doesn't mix with the Castrol fluid. Also, should I flush the clutch fluid to prevent the old fluid from mixing with the new fluid in the master clyinder? I'll be using the Motive pressure bleeder at 10 psi. Please let me know if I should do something different or if I'm forgetting something. Thanks!!
Appreciate 0
      08-16-2011, 04:24 PM   #2
DriveHard
Colonel
Colombia
Rep
Drives: X1 and R58 JCW

You have a good plan.

You do not need to do the super blue stuff first, although i know why you feel you need to . If you put 2 pints of brake fluid in the Motive bleeded, and run that thru the system there is no chance that you will have any of the originnal brake fluid left in the system as the res for the brakes is less than a pint. I would run 2 if not 3 pints of fluid thru the system.