BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

07-17-2009, 11:38 AM   #1
ohnoes
Private
Rep
Drives: '08 135i

Gas mileage?

Hi all, I'm new to 1addicts but have been posting a bit on the other forums in this community (mostly E90post) for a bit.

I just bought my CPO'd 135i last week and am enjoying the car, though it is certainly a lot different than the E46 M3 I came from. I do love the torque of the N54 throughout the powerband! Anyway, I'll save the comparo for another thread.

My main concern right now is with the gas mileage. The OBC is currently showing 17.4ish MPG, and that is with a 60% city/40% highway split. My substantially modified M3 consistently did 1MPG+ better than that (18.6-18.9).

Is this normal or is something possibly wrong with my car? Please advise, as the small gas tank combined with this crappy gas mileage is rather irritating.
Appreciate 0
      07-17-2009, 12:10 PM   #2
Tom K.
Major General
United_States
Rep
Drives: '07 328iT, '13 Boxster

Is the car fully broken in (at least 3k miles)? Are you resetting the BC each tankful? And have you checked the BC accuracy against the measured mpg over at least 3 tanks?

While I generally manage to stay out of DC area traffic, my worst is about 21 and I average 28+ on the road in my 128i. From what others have reported, the 135i should consume about 15~20% more fuel - depending on one's right foot.

And I agree, the tank is small - but I wouldn't give up any trunk space, especially on a 'vert.

Enjoy your new 135i!
Tom
Appreciate 0
      07-17-2009, 12:17 PM   #3
zerbitini
Private
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2009 135i