BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

03-08-2015, 07:57 PM   #1
BMW135pls
First Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: Bucket of screws and sadness

Help with Suspension Upgrade to M3 spec

Over the next year or two I want to convert my 135i suspension to M3 spec. In the near future I am going to do RSFB and F/R Control Arms, and maybe next year I will do sway bars, shocks, springs etc. The problem is I really don't have much experience with modding cars, I'm not a car mechanic, and a lot of the terms thrown around are just adding more questions.

So my first question before anything more specific is discussed, is it worth it buying the BMW branded parts over the "M3" spec non-branded stuff? I've spent time in other niche industries and there are definitely a lot of cases where the non-branded stuff is the exact experience if not 99.7% of the way there, and at greatly reduced price. Is this the case with the non-BMW M3 suspension upgrades, or should I actually buy the BMW parts if I want a true M-spec car?
      03-08-2015, 08:03 PM   #2
BMW135pls
First Lieutenant
United_States
Rep

Now onto specifics, the RSFB upgrade. Apparently I will need two of these:

http://www.ecstuning.com/BMW-E82-135...frame/ES57295/

And two of these:

http://www.ecstuning.com/BMW-E82-135...frame/ES57320/

But then there is also this kit, that comes with more stuff in it:

http://www.ecstuning.com/BMW-E82-135...ame/ES2538694/

Do I need any of that extra stuff, or are those extra parts things that will come as part of the Control Arm upgrade?
      03-08-2015, 08:05 PM   #3
Ski Killset
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 08 AW 135i

I have the TRW stuff. It is literally the same part. They grind off the //M logo, and poorly. One of my arms you could still see the //M but it was ground down. Why anyone would pay mor for the same part blows my mind.