BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

05-02-2017, 01:32 AM   #1
xQx
General
Australia
Rep
Drives: 2008 BMW 135i (E88 N54 6AT)

Complete M3 swapover, or just fix the shortcomings of stock?

When I bought my 135i, it was a coin-toss between this car and a Supercharged 450rwhp E46 M3 SMG convertible. I love my car, but I’ve been struggling with buyers remorse since the purchase.

I’m now FBO with a JB4 tune, so about 400rwhp. My end-game is 500rwhp – upgraded turbos, direct injection meth and a fuel-it stage 2 for E30 blend. My current limitation is that I can't even get 400rwhp down with the stock suspension/diff (let alone going for more).

My previous experience has been 100% AWD. I’m just learning how to handle a high-powered RWD, and thus far have tested the 135i on the street with pretty average tires and found its handling near the limit to be bloody unpredictable. Stickier tyres are a good answer, but they actually make the problem worse - an unpredictable car on a corner at 100km/h is a lot more dangerous than on that's unpredictable at 50km/h.

So, in a previous thread, I asked “what would it take to make a 135i handle like a Porsche boxter”.

With this criteria, I’ve been spec’d: Wavetrac LSD, M3 Control Arms, M3 Front & Rear Sway Bars, M3 rear subframe bushes, ECS rear trailing arms, M3 lower camber link conversion kit, Megan Racing rear kit (rear wishbone, guide rod and tie control replacement) and four BC ER Coilovers.