BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

02-16-2015, 12:49 PM   #1
GS WAX
Rep
Drives: 2012 VO 1 M coupe

DAB retrofit

Total newbie, so please excuse my ignorance, I tried searching ,but didn't know what to search for, im still learning all things 1 M.

I am in the process purchasing a 1M, unfortunately one of the options I really would lke is DAB radio, unfortunately in the UK none of the suitable examples for me to purchase have this fitted as a factory option with the Navigation pro(also a must have), I don't want an aftermarket Dab set up and would like to know if its possible to retrofit the factory DAB in any way .

Hope that's clear, many thanks

GS

Last edited by GS WAX; 02-18-2015 at 04:20 AM..
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2015, 08:58 PM   #2
de85275
Second Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: Valencia Orange 424/740

Garage List
The car was only available with 2 choices, loaded or stripped. There were no pick-and-choose options. So no stock DAB radio, just the HD in the stripped version or what ever came with the Nav system.

Just get one and you won't care if there is a radio in the car, trust me. :-)
Appreciate 0
      02-17-2015, 06:19 AM   #3
PaulMcA
Private First Class
United Kingdom
Rep
Drives: 1M

Quote:
Originally Posted by GS WAX View Post
Total newbie, so please excuse my ignorance, I tried searching ,but didn't know what to search for, im still learning all things 1 M.

I am in the process purchasing a 1M, unfortunately one of the options I really would lke is DAB radio, none of the suitable examples for me to purchase have this fitted as a factory option with the Navigation pro(also a must have), I don't want an aftermarket Dab set up and would like to know if its possible to retrofit the factory DAB in any way .

Hope that's clear, many thanks

GS
I though all UK cars came with DAB as std. Not sure it was an option here in UK. You'll need to check and be sure.
Appreciate 0
      02-17-2015, 07:11 AM   #4
RS375
Private First Class
Rep