BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

11-28-2019, 11:46 AM   #1
mfindigital
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2011 135i

Shopping tires for Black Friday

In Vegas visiting my mom for the Thanksgiving and thought I'd get some badly needed tires while I'm out here since taxes will make them a bit cheaper, and it's black Friday. Thinking about just saying F it and go big with 4s's, but looking for recommendations on tires that are competitive with the 4s, but maybe a bit cheaper.

Right now I'm leaning toward the Firestone Firehawk Indy 500, they look to be about 60% the cost of the 4s. Are there any other comparable tires I should be cross shopping? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
      11-28-2019, 12:05 PM   #2
6ixSpd
Save the manuals!
Rep
Drives: '16 M3, '23 718 Spyder

Conti Extreme Contact Sport are right up there with PS4S. I've been a Michelin Pilot Sport user for over a decade but I switched to the ECS two summers ago because they're about $150-200/set cheaper yet perform just as good, and last a little longer too.

Cannot recommend them enough at that price point for the top tier summer performance street tire category.

Past: E92 M3, F87 M2, E39 M5, etc
Appreciate 2
      11-30-2019, 01:41 AM   #3
Gangplank
Brigadier General
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2011 e82 135i n55 Sport w/ DCT

Garage List
2011 135i  [0.00]
I have the Indy FF500. I had the Michelin MPSS before (not 4s). I'm happy with them. Just as good as the MPSS for my DD duties. Every bit as good in the wet & tire wear is much better IMHO. At the price they are hard to beat. I'm planning to get another set when they wear out.
      11-30-2019, 08:55 AM   #4
Happy Jose
Banned
Rep
Drives: 2012 BMW 135i M-Sport

If it doesn't say Michelin, it ain't a tire!
Appreciate 1
1M Tex240.00
      12-01-2019, 01:41 AM   #5
Tuxedo
Bowties r cool ▶:◀
United_States
Rep
Drives: 09' 128i MT e88, 24'G05 X5 50e

Garage List