03-17-2012, 02:25 AM   #1
mild7
BABY IN HOME
China
Rep
Drives: 1M VO

Lightbulb How to shift efficiently

Guys,
I am new to the sport car manual transmission...
I used to drive stick 4-5 years ago and I was not trying to push it to go fast.
Now I have the 1M and I thought I should drive it more aggressively.

So, what is the right way to do?
Some say, shift up while not releasing the gas, shift fast, lift the clutch fast.
Some say, build the Rev, gas up, clutch down, shift up, clutch up, gas down.

Appreciate 0
      03-17-2012, 03:03 AM   #2
speedM
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: 2106 X3 35i, 1M, 05 MCS

There is no right way. I would suggest taking your time to get to know the feel of the clutch and transmission, and how it responds to your inputs. The 1M rewards finesse, especially the 1-2 shift. It's easy to get that timing wrong and grind the tranny. Once you get your rhythm, it's one of the slickest shifting bmws out there.
Appreciate 0
      03-17-2012, 05:01 AM   #3
RimasRS
Colonel
Rep
Drives: BMW X3 SD

Quote:
Originally Posted by mild7 View Post
Guys,

Some say, shift up while not releasing the gas, shift fast, lift the clutch fast.

I would suggest sell poor 1M to somebody who knows how to shift
Appreciate 0
      03-17-2012, 07:14 AM   #4
Ender_
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: BMW 1M VO, V60 Polestar '24

Quote:
Originally Posted by RimasRS View Post

what's with the noops on here with 1Ms that sound like they have never had a car before?? How to wash my car, how do I shift....

To OP take some lessons man, you can't be told how to drive a car from a forum.
Appreciate 0
      03-17-2012, 07:21 AM   #5
silvs
Private First Class
United_States
Rep

Classy.
Appreciate 0
      03-17-2012, 07:36 AM   #6
robertm
Major
Rep
Drives: 2020 M2 Comp

I've been on a lot of car forums over the years but this one is filled with more negativity and people quick to cut others down than almost any I can remember.