BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

10-20-2014, 06:57 PM   #1
juyeop
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 13 STI & 13 E92 M3

Spilled water in the trunk

Hey guys, I'm newbie here. I drive 2013 128i auto. I actually spilled a big chuck of water in the trunk last wed. I quickly wiped out water that accumulated in the battery compartment and on the carpet that covers the battery compartment. I didn't care about drying it in the sun to be stupid (yes, I'm that stupid I guess). day after that, I drove some miles and checked if it's all dried up. there was still water in the battery compartment about inch height pooling around the battery, so I wiped out those water again. Next day, same thing happened, so I wiped out again. This is when I realized I really need to dry up the carpet, so I tried to dry up the carpet that goes in the middle and I wasn't able to deal with the carpet on the side. Today, I went to a dealership and I wanted them to see if everything is dried up and any electricity got wet, but they said the water you see is probably from below the battery where it is holding and even though water is somewhere else, there is some protection for electrical part to be blocked from water. Therefore, I was kinda kicked out by them. I don't know what to do now. I mean I don't have any tool or knowledge to take things apart to check. My question is. Is it probably okay by now since I haven't gotten any problems associated with it? If anything happens because of possible remaining water, what is likely symptoms? any advice guys?
Appreciate 0
      10-20-2014, 08:13 PM   #2
Mach1er
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: '13 128i

I had comfort access die because of water in the trunk.
      10-20-2014, 08:29 PM   #3
juyeop
Second Lieutenant
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mach1er View Post
I had comfort access die because of water in the trunk.