BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

04-23-2017, 02:57 PM   #1
Joal0503
Rep
Drives: 2009 135i

Im a complete noob that needs mod suggestions

Links, products, or direction to some good threads for info would be appreciated!

So bought an 09 135i with around 60k miles a couple years ago. Replaced the turbos (wastegate rattle), HPFP, Water Pump, Valve Cover, and fixed a Rear Diff leak since then. I am not sitting around 85K, and have some questions about modding because I am completely lost on the subject. The only thing I do know...is that I have developed a craving for more powwaaa

First, the mileage that I am at...does it make sense to start modding?

I have gathered that the place Id like to be is somewhere around a "stage 2". The products I am currently looking at:

Cobb accessport for like a stage 2 or 2+ map?
Intake - BMS dual cone
FMIC - Cobb or any other reliable performers?
Charge pipe and downpipes - I have no idea, prices seem to vary a great deal and I am wondering if anyone could explain the price discrepancies - is it performance/reliability related, or are certain companies just able to sell cheaper products?
Anything else I might need?!

I am really lost, there just seems to be so much out there. It seems to come down to personal preference. Just looking for solid performance, that isn't going to necessarily destroy my car.

Another thing...I am not sure about the DIY (0 experience) or taking it into a shop for these modifications. Is cost to have shops do the work outstanding on bolt ons? Can a noob with minimal tools even perform these modifications? Will the shops be able to help me with the accessport? HELP!!
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2017, 03:03 PM   #2
Neiman Levenson
First Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2008 135i M-sport

go with vrsf for downpipes charge pipe intercooler and bov. MHD for stage 2+ tune. you will be around 400whp.