BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

06-01-2016, 03:17 PM   #1
tommyb13662
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2009 135i

Random thoughts on oil....

So after reading alot on oil recommendations, reading tons on bobistheoilguy, personal notes on oil quality and feel after changes in my 1, 09 coupe only 33k-ish miles now, jzw stage 1since 20k miles. I feel I may have found a personal favorite although expensive...

First im a rather sporty driver always(read ridden hard put away wet) so I wanted a robust protection. Second my dad, master mechanic for 30+ years always recommended thicker oils for race/hard driving. So my first choice was mobile 1 0w-40 euro spec. 10w heavier buyt easier supposed on the startups and ll-01 qualified. Ow-40 came out thicker/blacker than expected and a hint of gas smell to it. Then came my reading on bobistheoildguy i read all the way through his oil university courses to 201 where he gets into rpm/pressure/flow and how it relates to protection/lubrication. The lower viscosity oils allow higher flow/min and can achieve the same lubrication at lower pressure. Higher flow = better cooling less oil breakdown theoretically possible. It also mentions his use of slightly lighter weights to achieve higher flow and improved cooling on his personal vehicles. As our cars do run hot often 250+ under hard driving. I decided to test this with a temp gauge installed right inline after the stock oil cooler. After getting a few weeks baseline on the 0w-40. I then tried mobile 1 0w20afe and did notice a drop in temps on average roughly 5% between 0w-40 and the 0w20. However... the gas smell was much stronger and it felt very thin on the next change. This raised my concerns on the robustness of the oil and its ability to protect under hard driving and high temps which is where the thicker oil is supposed to excel.

Now my current favorite as i mentioned in the start.
http://www.amsoil.com/shop/by-produc...nt%2frd20.aspx