BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

09-27-2010, 08:47 AM   #1
Feyd
Major
Rep
Drives: a DEEZZULL

What could be wrong? Porter Cable Setup Question.

So I ordered the Porter Cable starter set from Detailed Image a few weeks back.

Porter Cable 7424 + a bunch of pads, etc. Awesome kit, great service BTW

This setup is based around using 6" backing plate and comes with a counter weight to replace the one that ships on the buffer.

So yesterday I go to polish out my trunk and hood and this thing vibrates/shakes like a MOFO.

Now, this is my first time ever trying to do something like this on my own, so perhaps I'm just not used to it + I'm trying to go slow (not too agressive on the polishes, etc) and it took me a good 2 hours to get the paint all polished out on both areas. Since it's an oscillating buffer, I expected a fair amount of vibration, but to me it seems like it's vibrating too much.

By the end of the stint, I could barely make a fist with my left hand (the one holding the secondary handle). I had to turn the speed down to 2.5-3 because anything above it just makes my hand/arm go numb.

So, am I just a wuss?? Or is there something wrong with my counter weight? Mid way through the job I actually took everything apart and reassembled thinking my counter weight was installed improperly, but it doesn't appear to be.

Any help would be appreciated. I have the majoriety of my car left to do and I just don't think my body can take it...
Appreciate 0
      09-27-2010, 09:51 AM   #2
HeyMoe53
Captain
Rep
Drives: '17 M240 AW/Coral MT