BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

09-02-2014, 01:36 PM   #1
runnerlk
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2020 M240i vert

Catted vs catless DP

I'm a newbie to the mods and looking to run a map that requires a down pipe. I have heard a lot of negative things about catted DPs that they really don't work long term and wondered if I run a catless DP what can I do to overcome the check engine light when it comes time for inspection?
I'm in NC if that makes a difference I know each state is different.
2011 and 2012 135i Convertible Cobb AP Stage 1
Appreciate 0
      09-02-2014, 02:01 PM   #2
darkrom
Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: 135i

Catted downpipes are 100% pointless. Go catless.

Be sure you understand how to pass emissions since either catless or "high flow" catted downpipes WILL cause you to fail emissions if you just slap them on and bring it in.

How is emissions done in your state? Do they stick a probe in the exhaust and "sniffer" it, or do they plug in to your OBD-II port and run a check that way? I can help you pass emissions in most cases or give correct advice on the subject.

There is a LOT of misinformation about people "passing" with just JB4 or Cobb. Neither of those alone will actually let you pass emissions, all they do is keep the CEL away to not annoy the driver.

To be clear, getting rid of the CEL is as simple as running JB4 or Cobb. Passing emissions...EVEN WITHOUT THE CEL requires extra steps.
Appreciate 0
      09-02-2014, 02:08 PM   #3
runnerlk
Second Lieutenant
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkrom View Post
Catted downpipes are 100% pointless. Go catless.

Be sure you understand how to pass emissions since either catless or "high flow" catted downpipes WILL cause you to fail emissions if you just slap them on and bring it in.