BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

09-28-2008, 08:09 PM   #1
ben14142001
Captain
Rep
Drives: 2018 M3 ZCP

Searched, but need advice on my situation

I have a JB 135 and am having trouble with swirls. My car was a dealer sitter, aka it sat outside for a couple months before I picked it up. So, with this, it has some swirlage all over the car. I'll Zainoed twice now, two coats each time, with Z-5 with Z-FX and Z-6 and the Z-CS. I've used their cotton applicator pads and a nice microfiber cloth to remove the polishes So far, the swirls have not gotten any better. Any suggestions? I realize I won't get much better results with zaino and a buffer, because it really is meant for hand polishing. I have a nice buffer from Griots and some polishes, but I am no expert with it. Any suggestions? Z-PC I can post some pictures if needed.

Thanks!

-Ben
Appreciate 0
      09-28-2008, 10:09 PM   #2
04Enthusiast
Second Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: BMW 128i Cpe

I also have Jet Black. Zaino has great products, but I always thought their directions were overly complicated.

At one time I thought my hood was ruined with all the swirls I put on by washing and waxing with the wrong products.

I used Menzerna Final Polish II to remove the swirl marks, then I applied Menzerna FMJ Paint Protectant. You can use the product with a buffer or by hand. I used foam applicators. They come in different cutting properties, some made for polish, some made for wax applications, and everything in between. Do your research and it will pay off.

I purchased Menzerna from www.properautocare.com but the product is available from other vendors. As I understand it, Menzerna started out supplying product to German manufacturers to use in their factories.