BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

09-13-2016, 03:44 PM   #1
///BYU
Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: AW 1M

Fluid Changes Before or After a Track Day?

I'm going to have my 1M on track for the first time. The format is a Wide Open Wednesday at Utah Motorsports Campus (formerly Miller Motorsports Park). Basically, they let cars on the track one at a time for a single lap at a time. I won't be pushing too hard because I have limited track experience. In all, I expect to maybe get in 8-10 laps, done one at a time with a few minutes in between each lap. The temperature will be cool - around 63 F / 17 C.

Before the end of October, I was planning on doing the following fluid changes: engine oil, MTF, rear differential fluid, brake fluid and possibly coolant. Brake pads and tires are fine, the car is 100% stock and all maintenance is up to date.

Question: Which of these fluid changes, if any, should I do before I hit the track? Which would be better to do after the event? And are there any I need to do before AND after?

This is going to be closer to a 'sprited drive' than a 'track day' given the format of the event and the fact that I'm not planning to push that hard.

Thanks for your help!
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2016, 04:11 PM   #2
Dackelone
European Editor
Germany
Rep
Drives: N54 e82

IF your going to the track always change & flush your brake fluid. I would also change your engine oil too. Both before AND after your track event.

Depending on how old your "other" fluids are... you could do those "after". But as far as I am concerned... the best oil(fluids) are new/fresh oil!
Appreciate 1
///BYU268.50
      09-13-2016, 04:16 PM   #3
Ric in RVA
Bergspyder
United_States
Rep
Drives: '11 BMW 128i Sport 6mt

Check your insurance policy for coverage or buy track insurance....

Don't wait until after you wadded it up to check on this.

https://locktonmotorsports.com/product/hpde-insurance