BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

08-11-2012, 02:16 PM   #1
Zeros and ones
First Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 128i MT6 M Sport, Dinan 5

Garage List
2011 128i  [5.66]
2000 Dinan 5  [0.00]
Nitrogen in tires

Hey guys... just got my car services and was asked if I want nitrogen in tires. I have never done something like this before plus my service guy gave me a decent price for it.

So the situation.. the car is riding on KW v3's as they came out of the box. So no adjustments. The car has BMW Performance 313's on them. The set is fairly new... like just put them on in June.

So as for ride quality when I first got these new tires and rims... it was pretty good. Very nice and smooth but things were a bit bumpy. Much more than it was on my stock sport tires I had. Makes sense when you upgrade from 17" to 18". So I did check psi and everything was within spec and it was all good.

Got the car this past Thursday with nitrogen filled tires. So far I am impressed. The car feels like it is gliding.... bumps in the road are almost non-existent. The reflectors on the freeway are barely felt. It is as if someone pokes you just for a second. Road noise is down from where it was before. So far there is a lot of pluses.

But I am still skeptical about this plus still now convinced that it is worth the drain on the wallet because every time I have to fill the tire I have to put only nitrogen in the tire. If I put just regular air, I already kills the whole point of having nitrogen in the tire.

So I was wondering what you guys think? and if you guys have tried it before?
      08-11-2012, 03:49 PM   #2
Vigilante375
Major
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2012 AW 6M 135i