BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-25-2014, 06:58 PM   #1
HeelToe
Major
 
HeelToe's Avatar
 
Drives: Rapidly from A to B
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Illinois

Posts: 1,107
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2014 X1 2.8i xDrive  [0.00]
2000 323Ci  [3.00]
2006 330i  [4.50]
2013 BMW 135is  [4.50]
Brake pad indicator won't reset.

I wanted to avoid having to regularly replace the pad wear sensors on my car. So last time I changed pads I installed new sensors and simply tied them back off the pads. Despite this the status for the pads showed that they were wearing and I now get a 'pads need replacement' indication every time I start or stop the car. Additionally, the brake idiot light stays on permanently. I have tried the normal reset procedure but that has only reset the miles to '----'. What else do I need to do to reset the indicator.
HeelToe is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-25-2014, 07:01 PM   #2
Dackelone
Moderator
 
Dackelone's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i Silber mit/Rot 6MT N54
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bayern, Germany

Posts: 16,382
iTrader: (1)

Arrow DIY resetting service "due" lights

See post #105
http://www.1addicts.com/forums/showt...=415111&page=5
Dackelone is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      08-25-2014, 07:16 PM   #3
HeelToe
Major
 
HeelToe's Avatar
 
Drives: Rapidly from A to B
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Illinois

Posts: 1,107
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2014 X1 2.8i xDrive  [0.00]
2000 323Ci  [3.00]
2006 330i  [4.50]
2013 BMW 135is  [4.50]
Thanks. Will give it a try in a few weeks.
HeelToe is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-09-2014, 05:56 PM   #4
HP Autosport
Lieutenant General
 
Drives: F80 M3
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Santa Barbara, Brembo, GIAC, Koni, Ohlins, Performance Friction, Quaife, Stoptech, Vorshlag

Posts: 11,261
iTrader: (29)

Did you use OEM style sensors? We have found some lower quality aftermarket sensors just will not reset.
HP Autosport is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-09-2014, 09:10 PM   #5
HeelToe
Major
 
HeelToe's Avatar
 
Drives: Rapidly from A to B
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Illinois

Posts: 1,107
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2014 X1 2.8i xDrive  [0.00]
2000 323Ci  [3.00]
2006 330i  [4.50]
2013 BMW 135is  [4.50]
Yes. Straight from the parts counter at the local dealer. My driveway has been out of commission for the last few weeks so I haven't had a chance to get my car in the garage to try the approach on the previous post. Maybe this weekend I'll get to it. Since I know that I have pad left it's not the most urgent thing on my list. I do hate having to acknowledge past the error on the iDrive every time I start the car though so I'll get to it soon.
HeelToe is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-10-2014, 07:49 AM   #6
pj.rodriguez
Major
 
pj.rodriguez's Avatar
 
Drives: Alpine White 128i Cabrio
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Posts: 1,312
iTrader: (6)

Garage List
Lol. Well reading through that other post that Dack recommended, seems like you only need to do it to the front sensor. Shouldn't take up too much space on your driveway to jack it up 🍻
__________________
2008 128i E88 / Alpine White / Boston Leather Sport / 6AT / M3 Paddle Shifters / M-Sport Suspension / BMW 335i Front Brakes / PIAA Xtreme White 4150K Angel Eyes / Rear Fogs Enabled / Cyba Air Scoops / Euro Airbox / BMW Performance Exhaust / Stubby BMW Antenna
pj.rodriguez is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      09-10-2014, 03:34 PM   #7
HeelToe
Major
 
HeelToe's Avatar
 
Drives: Rapidly from A to B
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Illinois

Posts: 1,107
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2014 X1 2.8i xDrive  [0.00]
2000 323Ci  [3.00]
2006 330i  [4.50]
2013 BMW 135is  [4.50]
driveway has a slope and actually more relevant was that i just replaced it so I couldn't get in my garage at all our use the driveway. entire process took 5 weeks to tear out the asphalt, pour concrete, and have it cure.
HeelToe is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-21-2014, 12:03 PM   #8
HeelToe
Major
 
HeelToe's Avatar
 
Drives: Rapidly from A to B
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Illinois

Posts: 1,107
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2014 X1 2.8i xDrive  [0.00]
2000 323Ci  [3.00]
2006 330i  [4.50]
2013 BMW 135is  [4.50]
This procedure did not work. Other recommendations or suggestions?
HeelToe is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-21-2014, 06:55 PM   #9
Ski Killset
Private First Class
 
Drives: 08 AW 135i
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Portland, Or

Posts: 171
iTrader: (0)

Mine won't reset either, all I did was unplug the sensor during a spring/shock replacement, didn'y pull or replace the pads.
Ski Killset is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-21-2014, 07:11 PM   #10
pj.rodriguez
Major
 
pj.rodriguez's Avatar
 
Drives: Alpine White 128i Cabrio
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Posts: 1,312
iTrader: (6)

Garage List
Hmm. That is mega interesting. I have no clue.
__________________
2008 128i E88 / Alpine White / Boston Leather Sport / 6AT / M3 Paddle Shifters / M-Sport Suspension / BMW 335i Front Brakes / PIAA Xtreme White 4150K Angel Eyes / Rear Fogs Enabled / Cyba Air Scoops / Euro Airbox / BMW Performance Exhaust / Stubby BMW Antenna
pj.rodriguez is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      09-22-2014, 12:31 AM   #11
MarkkyyMan
Captain
 
MarkkyyMan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 BMW 128i
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Indiana, U.S.

Posts: 604
iTrader: (0)

I believe it requires a special tool to reset.
MarkkyyMan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-19-2014, 08:22 PM   #12
HeelToe
Major
 
HeelToe's Avatar
 
Drives: Rapidly from A to B
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Illinois

Posts: 1,107
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2014 X1 2.8i xDrive  [0.00]
2000 323Ci  [3.00]
2006 330i  [4.50]
2013 BMW 135is  [4.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeelToe View Post
This procedure did not work. Other recommendations or suggestions?
Got my complimentary brake fluid change and the dealer took care of it for no charge. They said they did have to connect it to the computer and not just reset it.
HeelToe is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 PM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST