BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-20-2008, 11:00 AM   #1
natedog_1959
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2004 SVT Focus
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Nashville, TN

Posts: 153
iTrader: (0)

Working Around the TPMS

Per some of the mustang forums I frequent, this is one method of getting around the TPMS system.

1. You will need the 4 TPMS sensors removed from your wheels. If you are having non-runflats installed or a new set of rims with non-runflats, this should be easy.
2. Go to the hardware store and find a piece of pvc pipe large enough to fit all 4 TPMS sensors. Purchase end caps and some PVC glue or screw on end caps and the proper PVC pipe with at least one screw-on end.
3. Purchase a valve stem from a tire shop or bike shop.
4. Glue one endcap onto one end of the pipe.
5. Drill a hole in the other endcap just large enough so that the valve stem fits snugly.
6. Glue the valve stem in place so it is airtight.
7. Put your TPMS sensors in the PVC pipe.
8. Glue or screw the other endcap onto the PVC pipe.
9. After the glue has set, pressurize the PVC pipe using an air compressor or tire pump to the recommended tire pressure per the owners manual.
10. Secure the PVC tube somewhere safe in the trunk.
11. Reset the onboard TPMS.
12. Monitor your tire pressures with a standard tire pressure gage from time to time.

Here are some sites for reference.

http://www.scionlife.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=3153329
http://www.mustangforums.com/m_2060535/tm.htm

Hope this helps, Nate.
natedog_1959 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-20-2008, 01:23 PM   #2
mikeo
Santa Fe Concorso
 
mikeo's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 M-sport 328i, '13 X1 28i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Santa Fe, NM

Posts: 2,983
iTrader: (3)

Thanks for that info, Nate! I'm going to skicky it.
__________________
The Southwest's Premier Automotive Gathering.
mikeo is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-20-2008, 03:49 PM   #3
natedog_1959
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2004 SVT Focus
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Nashville, TN

Posts: 153
iTrader: (0)

I'm here to help. I will probably be trying this out on my dad's Mustang GT as soon as he gets a second set of rims/summer tires and puts snow tires on his stock rims. Might take him a while though. Nate
natedog_1959 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-25-2008, 03:18 PM   #4
350zpilot
Private First Class
 
Drives: 08 135i, 05 R1, 09 Concours 14
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Carlsbad, CA

Posts: 124
iTrader: (0)

There's a good chance you'll be able to get the Tire Pressure Sensors on to your new wheels. I had a 350Z Touring with TPS and those sensors fit just fine when I installed 18" BBS REs on the Z. Not too sure how big the sensors are on the BMW though.
350zpilot is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-25-2008, 03:45 PM   #5
Dave
formerly izzo/comeback
 
Dave's Avatar
 
Drives: Jag 07' XK Vert (BRG)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: To

Posts: 3,378
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 135i  [3.40]
Quote:
Originally Posted by 350zpilot View Post
There's a good chance you'll be able to get the Tire Pressure Sensors on to your new wheels. I had a 350Z Touring with TPS and those sensors fit just fine when I installed 18" BBS REs on the Z. Not too sure how big the sensors are on the BMW though.
prob will have them available but they cost around 200!$


and in the cold the system always comes on..
ugh


nice feature but if i could pass i would...nothing a kick on every tire wouldnt do every morning
__________________
BMW CCA # 418268
Dave is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2008, 05:19 AM   #6
randomquickness
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 996tt
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Killeen, TX

Posts: 3,653
iTrader: (13)

can the tpms sensors in the stock wheels be used with aftermarket wheels?
__________________
randomquickness is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2008, 12:41 PM   #7
jeremyc74
Banned
 
Drives: '08 135i Montego/Terra
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Evansville, IN

Posts: 5,972
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by randomquickness View Post
can the tpms sensors in the stock wheels be used with aftermarket wheels?

Most of them are integrated into the valve stem (I'm not sure about BMWs, but I know Honda and Toyota both are), and it's simply a matter of taking them out of the factory wheels and putting them in the new wheels.

Also, the newer systems are temperature compensated, so you shouldn't be getting false alarms in the cold if your tires are at the correct pressure.
jeremyc74 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-10-2008, 08:42 AM   #8
IDBMW
Captain
 
IDBMW's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Boise, ID

Posts: 750
iTrader: (0)

I have a 2004 BMW Z4, most likely getting a 135i. The TPMS in the Z4 does not have sensors. It uses the ABS system for the tire pressure monitor. It works by pressing a calibration button and you drive off. When a wheel starts spinning faster than the calibrated setting compared to the other tires, the tire must be low on air and sets off the dash light. No additional hardware needed. Has the 2008 BMWs changed to the valve stem system? My 2006 Tacoma has the valve system TPMS. The truck went to the dealer ten times for TPMS failures. When they got it fixed I did the PVC pipe thing. I did keep the Spare tire TPMS sensor in it since it is hard to check the pressure in the spare tire.
IDBMW is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-30-2008, 03:29 PM   #9
Mad Dragon
.
 
Mad Dragon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 GTI
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: MD

Posts: 932
iTrader: (0)

The tpms sensors have to be in the wheels, since the receivers are in the wheel wells. This will not work on BMW's system.
Mad Dragon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-19-2008, 07:23 AM   #10
natedog_1959
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2004 SVT Focus
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Nashville, TN

Posts: 153
iTrader: (0)

The recievers are in the wheel wells in all the cars that use TPMS. They work off of RFID. This will work just fine with cars that have the TPMS receivers in the wheel wells. Nate
natedog_1959 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-29-2008, 03:30 PM   #11
stovesax08
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives:
Join Date: Feb 2008

Posts: 245
iTrader: (0)

has anyone yet tried this on the 1er? I'm curious to see if the signal will reach to the trunk with the sensors being in the wheel wells:iono:
__________________
135i Coupe-Manual, Montego, Lemon, HG Black, sport, premium, CA, HiFi, Ipod/USB, heated seats
stovesax08 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-30-2008, 11:19 AM   #12
Ryan@IND
 
Ryan@IND's Avatar
 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago

Posts: 4,263
iTrader: (16)

Send a message via AIM to Ryan@IND Send a message via Skype™ to Ryan@IND
we have heard of people strapping all four in the full size spare, located in the trunk. it seems to work.

but these days most aftermarke comes compatible or with brckets to accomodate the TPMS.
Ryan@IND is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-30-2008, 12:37 PM   #13
DarinF
New Member
 
Drives:
Join Date: Jul 2008

Posts: 12
iTrader: (0)

If you are getting custom wheels, a good wheel shop will be able to get your sensors in the new wheels. I have one set which are deep dish 3 piece and they drilled a hole on the inside center of the rim and installed the sensors there. So there are two valves in the wheel but you only use the one outfitted on the wheel to fill them.
__________________
2009 Nissan GTR Premium (On Order!)
2008 BMW 135i Convertible
2008 Mercedes S550
2006 Lamborghini Gallardo Spyder
2006 Chrysler 300C
DarinF is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-02-2008, 07:57 AM   #14
MrRoboto
Colonel
 
Drives: VO 1M
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada

Posts: 2,711
iTrader: (0)

Cant the TPMS controll be turned off somehow in the ECU?
MrRoboto is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      08-02-2008, 09:56 AM   #15
mikeo
Santa Fe Concorso
 
mikeo's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 M-sport 328i, '13 X1 28i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Santa Fe, NM

Posts: 2,983
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrRoboto View Post
Cant the TPMS controll be turned off somehow in the ECU?
Don't think so, only recalibrated according to the manual.
__________________
The Southwest's Premier Automotive Gathering.
mikeo is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-02-2008, 01:21 PM   #16
MrRoboto
Colonel
 
Drives: VO 1M
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada

Posts: 2,711
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeo View Post
Don't think so, only recalibrated according to the manual.

Thought their may have been a fuse or something.
MrRoboto is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      10-19-2008, 12:32 AM   #17
EINSER M
Major General
 
EINSER M's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 E82 1M
Join Date: May 2006
Location: 34.1064 N, 117.5922 W, 300m altitude

Posts: 5,368
iTrader: (38)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to EINSER M Send a message via MSN to EINSER M Send a message via Yahoo to EINSER M
Has anyone been successful w/ this PVC TMPS defeat? I just went to HD and followed the DIY and made sure my PVC was air tight (submerged in water) and the TPMS would initialize and reset but after a while reverts back to malfunction mode....its not working. So...should this even work in theory or or am I doing something wrong?
__________________
THE EINSER M BUILD
CLICK HERE: EINSER M BUILD

EINSER M is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-19-2008, 08:21 AM   #18
mikeo
Santa Fe Concorso
 
mikeo's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 M-sport 328i, '13 X1 28i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Santa Fe, NM

Posts: 2,983
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad Dragon View Post
The tpms sensors have to be in the wheels, since the receivers are in the wheel wells. This will not work on BMW's system.
:iono:
__________________
The Southwest's Premier Automotive Gathering.
mikeo is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-13-2012, 02:43 PM   #19
smellthebeans
Lieutenant Colonel
 
smellthebeans's Avatar
 
Drives: LPCs
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: California Central Coast

Posts: 1,502
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2011 328i Coupe  [0.00]
1990 325i  [0.00]
you can code out the US feature and replace it with the European version. It functions off the ABS/Stability Control System instead of the TPMS.
__________________
smellthebeans is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-13-2012, 03:07 PM   #20
Dackelone
Moderator
 
Dackelone's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i Silber mit/Rot 6MT N54
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bayern, Germany

Posts: 16,362
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by EINSER M View Post
Has anyone been successful w/ this PVC TMPS defeat? I just went to HD and followed the DIY and made sure my PVC was air tight (submerged in water) and the TPMS would initialize and reset but after a while reverts back to malfunction mode....its not working. So...should this even work in theory or or am I doing something wrong?
The above PVC pipe trick won't work on BMW TPMS. Our sensors also need to spin in order to stay "active". I know this from when I had a nail in one of my tires(but it wasn't flat just low!) and I installed my spare... put the wheel with the TPMS in the trunk. For a mile or two all was good. But then the TPMS will not see the wheel spinning and the TPMS light & gong(!) will go off.


Only solution is a second set of TPMS sensors.



You can also have the TPMS coded to the euro(ECE) system like smellthebeans posted above.
Dackelone is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      11-13-2012, 05:13 PM   #21
EINSER M
Major General
 
EINSER M's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 E82 1M
Join Date: May 2006
Location: 34.1064 N, 117.5922 W, 300m altitude

Posts: 5,368
iTrader: (38)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to EINSER M Send a message via MSN to EINSER M Send a message via Yahoo to EINSER M
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dackelone View Post
The above PVC pipe trick won't work on BMW TPMS. Our sensors also need to spin in order to stay "active". I know this from when I had a nail in one of my tires(but it wasn't flat just low!) and I installed my spare... put the wheel with the TPMS in the trunk. For a mile or two all was good. But then the TPMS will not see the wheel spinning and the TPMS light & gong(!) will go off.


Only solution is a second set of TPMS sensors.



You can also have the TPMS coded to the euro(ECE) system like smellthebeans posted above.
damn this is an old post Dack! lol
__________________
THE EINSER M BUILD
CLICK HERE: EINSER M BUILD

EINSER M is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-13-2012, 07:04 PM   #22
JimD
Colonel
 
JimD's Avatar
 
Drives: 128i convertible
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lexington, SC

Posts: 2,789
iTrader: (0)

If you want to understand the coding changes to disable the TPMS you need to get an id (free) for the b m w c o d i n g.com website and do a search. There are several threads reporting success in eliminating the error message with the tpms sensors disabled or not present. There is also a general description of enabling the european style air pressure warning that doesn't need sensors - but is less accurate. I am not good enough at coding that I completely understand what they are saying but with some trial and error I might get there.

Jim
__________________
128i Convertible, MT, Alpine White, Black Top, Taupe Leatherette, Walnut, Sport
Ordered 5/22/09, Completed 6/4/09, At Port 6/9/09, On the Georgia Highway 6/13/09, Ship Arrived Charleston 6/24/09 at 10pm, PCD 7/21/09
JimD is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 AM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST