BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-30-2012, 03:12 AM   #111
Got_///M
Second Lieutenant
Got_///M's Avatar
United_States
4
Rep
218
Posts

Drives: 2011 BMW 135i
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: DFW

iTrader: (0)

Very nice write up! Thanks!!
Appreciate 0
      01-26-2013, 01:08 AM   #112
MTribe
Private
6
Rep
78
Posts

Drives: 10 135, 06 Elise, 71 TR6
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Francisco, CA

iTrader: (0)

Used this thread to great effect! Thanks all for the contributions!
Appreciate 0
      01-29-2013, 06:44 PM   #113
chrisko
Second Lieutenant
chrisko's Avatar
United_States
26
Rep
282
Posts

Drives: 2016 M3
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Rockville, MD

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Finally got around to doing this.

As others have mentioned, I didn't remove the whole glove box, just used those latch releases. And for this who are curious, you need the ATM fuse tap.

I also tapped into fuse 5 as my 8 was occupied.

Thanks for the write-up!
__________________
2011 N55 135i | Wagner Tuning Highflow DP | AA Signature Exhaust | JB4 Stage 2 | LCI Tails | ER CP

2016 M3 | AWE Switchpath Diamond Black 102mm
Appreciate 0
      09-01-2013, 10:30 AM   #114
Prodigy.
Major
Prodigy.'s Avatar
Australia
307
Rep
1,322
Posts

Drives: ///M2
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Great DIY i used it to hard wire my V1 however after reading through the whole thread i'm afraid i'm still confused on what amp fuses to use in the add-a-fuse device. People seem to be using all different combos, 2 x 20amp fuses, 2 x 10amp fuses, 1x 10amp & 1x 2amp or 1 fuse only

Also i planned on using slot 5 (as it's vacant) but according to the fuse diagram card it is allocated to the steering wheel picture along with fuses 49 & 75. Any idea what that picture means? Am i still ok to use that slot?

At the moment i am using slot 8 with a 20amp fuse + a 2amp in the secondary slot of the add a fuse device (in addition to the 2amp fuse in the V1 Hard wire kit) Just a bit concerned that the V1 is now actually protected by 24amps in total and could get fried?

Last edited by Prodigy.; 09-02-2013 at 01:34 AM.
Appreciate 0
      09-02-2013, 02:12 PM   #115
jordantii
Second Lieutenant
14
Rep
207
Posts

Drives: M235 eye
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Tampa Bay

iTrader: (0)

In the hardware kit there is also a fuse. Its been a while since I installed mine.
Appreciate 0
      05-10-2015, 07:36 PM   #116
dbronnik
Lieutenant
dbronnik's Avatar
104
Rep
457
Posts

Drives: N54 E88
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: California

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Thanks for the write up, made the job very fast! I only had a medium sized add-a-circuit lying around so I used fuse #83 (20 amp) with a 10 amp fuse. Only downside to using #83 is that the power is always on rather than on ignition, so I'll have to turn off my V1 until I order a mini add-a-circuit to replace it.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      07-18-2015, 05:54 PM   #117
PA135i
Brigadier General
PA135i's Avatar
United_States
1005
Rep
3,329
Posts

Drives: 08 135i 08 CR-V
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pennsylvania

iTrader: (0)

F**k ! Getting to that grounding screw was a BITCH!

But, I got it done. thanks for the write up.

Any advice on tucking the wire behind the trim? I used my fingers and a screw driver, but needs some more tucking to be perfect.

I used open slot #5 with (2) 20Amp fuses in the mini adapter slots. The advance auto guy said that will be be fine. looks good, works fine.

My install, perfect.
Attached Images
  
__________________
Sparkling Graphite Metallic / 6MT / Terracotta Boston Leather / Sport Package / Comfort Access system / Gray Poplar wood trim / Heated front seats / iPod and USB adapter / HD radio / Premium hi-fi system / OE Tuning / VRSF Intercooler & charge pipe / BMW Performance short shift kit / BMW M Performance Handbrake Handle / BMW Stainless steel pedals / V1 hardwired / rear sun shades Pennsylvania 20 electoral votes

Last edited by PA135i; 07-20-2015 at 09:01 PM.
Appreciate 0
      07-26-2015, 01:38 PM   #118
2002ish
New Member
10
Rep
27
Posts

Drives: 2013 BMW 128i N51 6MT
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (0)

Thank you for this thread! Hardwiring my trusty V1 was the first mod I did to my new car and this gave me the courage to do it.

I want to address a few issues I found that might help others doing this... I think the two hardest parts of this process include: 1) removing the dome light assembly / dropping the headliner and 2) finding a fuse to tap. Do all this at your own risk.

Before anyone proceeds with the install, start with a good phone cord... preferably the one that comes with the v1. I tried 3 different phone cords that didn't work right before I broke down and ordered another one from v1 (luckily I bench tested them before trying to install them). Note that Valentine Research has free shipping on their parts so my advice is just order one if you don't already have it (or used it on a previous project).

1) Remove the dome light and drop the headliner

Both are very easy steps once you know how to do them but (atleast to me) were daunting tasks. Lowering the headliner has already been covered countless times throughout the forum... it entails just removing two screws. At that point the headliner drops about an inch and a half without any further struggle with clips or anything else.

Once the headliner is dropped you have access to the two front tabs on the dome light. This thread contains a few photos that will guide you to exactly where the tabs are: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=273231. Just depress those tabs and the assembly can be removed.

To ensure that the phone cord doesn't get ripped out or pulled out by accident I zip tied it to a large part of the wiring harness for the dome light assembly.

2) Finding a fuse.

I used a small blade fuse tap as everyone else has and I found an empty fuse slot. I think I used fuse 10... it was something related to power seats (which I don't have) and it's switched power. Unless you have a fully optioned car you should definitely be able to find a few empty fuse slots and not even have to deal with actually having a "pass through" fuse in your add a fuse.

As to what amp fuse to use, I also ordered two extra 2 amp small blade fuses from Valentine... the same ones that are used in the cigarette lighter power adapter for the v1. I figured if it works there it should work in the car.

Hope that helps someone!
Appreciate 0
      04-20-2016, 05:14 PM   #119
doublevanosrc
Back in a 1er!!!
doublevanosrc's Avatar
United_States
76
Rep
2,242
Posts

Drives: 2013 135i
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Austin. Tx

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2013 BMW  [0.00]
Glove box doesn't seem to want to drop. I once did it without taking it out. Thoughts??
__________________
Now: 2013 135i manual Black on coral, all options except HK.
Past-2011 135i
"I know it can be expensive but man I just love the darn thing."
Appreciate 0
      06-11-2017, 04:36 PM   #120
shawnj
Private First Class
17
Rep
171
Posts

Drives: 135i
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: SD CA

iTrader: (0)

Are most doing this instead of mirror tap? I just got a V1, includes standard hardwire kit
Appreciate 0
      06-16-2017, 05:36 PM   #121
TridenTBoy
Private First Class
United_States
15
Rep
152
Posts

Drives: 2013 BMW 135is
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: San Francisco, CA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2013 BMW 135is  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnj View Post
Are most doing this instead of mirror tap? I just got a V1, includes standard hardwire kit
I didn't know this was an option. I'm getting a Uniden R3 in the mail here soon enough. I'll probably do that with a mirror mount. Woot!
Appreciate 0
      06-17-2017, 08:18 PM   #122
tock172
Beachtown Bill Collector
tock172's Avatar
United_States
158
Rep
616
Posts

Drives: 2012 135i
Join Date: May 2011
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
1985 BMW 325e  [0.00]
2012 BMW 135i  [0.00]
2003 Honda Civic EX  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnj View Post
Are most doing this instead of mirror tap? I just got a V1, includes standard hardwire kit
Quote:
Originally Posted by TridenTBoy View Post
I didn't know this was an option. I'm getting a Uniden R3 in the mail here soon enough. I'll probably do that with a mirror mount. Woot!
Mirror tap isn't an option on the 135i. I ran my V1 off the mirror wiring on every previous BMW of mine, but the E82 required me to power it off a fuse tap. Using a wire up in the overhead center console doesn't work because the current gets interrupted during operation of the sunroof.
__________________


2012 BMW 135i Space Grey Metallic M-Sport DCT Dinan S2
Appreciate 0
      06-17-2017, 09:14 PM   #123
TridenTBoy
Private First Class
United_States
15
Rep
152
Posts

Drives: 2013 BMW 135is
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: San Francisco, CA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2013 BMW 135is  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by tock172 View Post
Mirror tap isn't an option on the 135i. I ran my V1 off the mirror wiring on every previous BMW of mine, but the E82 required me to power it off a fuse tap. Using a wire up in the overhead center console doesn't work because the current gets interrupted during operation of the sunroof.
Crushing my dreams! ...but, wait, that doesn't matter for me? I have an E88.

I'm still not sure of the location of where I'm going to put the radar detector. I don't actually like the idea of it being right under the mirror (blocking my vision).
Appreciate 0
      06-18-2017, 03:53 AM   #124
shawnj
Private First Class
17
Rep
171
Posts

Drives: 135i
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: SD CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TridenTBoy View Post
Crushing my dreams! ...but, wait, that doesn't matter for me? I have an E88.

I'm still not sure of the location of where I'm going to put the radar detector. I don't actually like the idea of it being right under the mirror (blocking my vision).
I have one mounted with BlendMount, it's really not that in the way..
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:04 AM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST