BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-10-2008, 08:32 PM   #1
Alext
Colonel
No_Country
43
Rep
2,028
Posts

 
Drives: B M W
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Everest

iTrader: (2)

v31.1 not available in Australia?

Apparently according to my dealer v31.1 is not available in Oz and most likely never going to be. Only for USA people. Is this correct? I thought a couple of you had it installed? What dealer was it at?
Appreciate 0
      11-10-2008, 08:35 PM   #2
Kris
Colonel
No_Country
44
Rep
2,295
Posts

 
Drives: m3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: USOFA

iTrader: (0)

Im running V31.1!
Appreciate 0
      11-10-2008, 08:38 PM   #3
Alext
Colonel
No_Country
43
Rep
2,028
Posts

 
Drives: B M W
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Everest

iTrader: (2)

That's what I thought Kris. My dealer's service manager says that a BMW rep said it wasnt available at all. What dealer did you get that installed at in NSW?
Appreciate 0
      11-10-2008, 08:43 PM   #4
Zuzu
Major General
Zuzu's Avatar
Australia
96
Rep
7,602
Posts

 
Drives: VO 1M Beast
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SyDnEy Oz

iTrader: (0)

Alex...The Australian dealers are now working on V2/31.0

So dont know what your dealer is on about..Suggest to your dealer to contact BMW Australia.
__________________
ZUZETTE Build..http://www.1addicts.com/forums/showthread.php?t=606023
: ETS FMIC . aFe CAI . Remus Race exhaust . SSK . Custom Midpipes . CDV . BM OCC . H&R springs :
Appreciate 0
      11-10-2008, 08:48 PM   #5
Alext
Colonel
No_Country
43
Rep
2,028
Posts

 
Drives: B M W
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Everest

iTrader: (2)

Service manager just got back to me. She was quite polite. Their mistake, she said it was available but car needs to throw a code/have a problem before they will be allowed to get it from NSW to install on my car. Ah well it was worth a try.
Appreciate 0
      11-11-2008, 03:13 AM   #6
Swift135
Lieutenant
Australia
6
Rep
453
Posts

 
Drives: 330d, M3 DCT E92
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brisbane

iTrader: (0)

We will never have the same version number software because USA have LHD cars, and other software needs that we don't have in Australia, like 2 air temp sensors and sat radio etc. Thats why my first software upgrade failed because they put in software for LHD car by mistake (via Munich) the realised the codes 'that the car was throwing were all to do with the differance between LHD and RHD cars.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      11-11-2008, 04:50 AM   #7
Alext
Colonel
No_Country
43
Rep
2,028
Posts

 
Drives: B M W
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Everest

iTrader: (2)

I even offered to pay for the update but no go...if there is no error then BMW Australia apparently wont allow them to use the software update. I think that is a bit silly especially if you are willing to pay for it. Would be easy dollars for BMW and would ensure customer satisfaction. I am happy that I have errors etc so far though!
Appreciate 0
      11-11-2008, 05:54 PM   #8
Jase
Private
0
Rep
86
Posts

 
Drives:
Join Date: Jun 2008

iTrader: (0)

Hey Alext,

Which dealer said they wouldn't even let you pay for the update? I was thinking of just going in and purchasing the update also. It is well worth it in my opinion even if you have to pay for it.
Appreciate 0
      11-11-2008, 06:40 PM   #9
andrew@southernBM
andrew@southernBM's Avatar
Australia
34
Rep
1,467
Posts

 
Drives: 135i, M3 92 SC'd, M235i
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia.

iTrader: (0)

31.0 is available, we have had it done on a car, plenty of problems with the install that BMW are working on at the moment, interesting that others have it with no problems.
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2008, 12:34 AM   #10
BBK
Banned
45
Rep
3,078
Posts

 
Drives: A boring one...
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 BMW 135i  [2.88]
Just a question which may have already been answered somewhere. Will the 09 models have v31.1 installed already?
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2008, 04:21 AM   #11
andrew@southernBM
andrew@southernBM's Avatar
Australia
34
Rep
1,467
Posts

 
Drives: 135i, M3 92 SC'd, M235i
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia.

iTrader: (0)

Probably, depends on your build date.
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2008, 04:55 AM   #12
sethchan
First Lieutenant
sethchan's Avatar
Sweden
4
Rep
397
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 135i
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alext View Post
I even offered to pay for the update but no go...if there is no error then BMW Australia apparently wont allow them to use the software update. I think that is a bit silly especially if you are willing to pay for it. Would be easy dollars for BMW and would ensure customer satisfaction. I am happy that I have errors etc so far though!
Do you have voice control? I'm getting my software upgraded because my voice control sucks. New microphone, too. Also, part of their decision depends on how much they want to work with you. There's a gray area.

You probably know this, but the reason they are cautious is that there are dozens of modules, all of which have to be upgraded when one of them is and all of which have the potential to react badly to an update. You can go ion with a problem with your stereo and come out with a problem with your climate control (which they then have to fix). An update is a huge potential headache.
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2008, 07:05 PM   #13
Alext
Colonel
No_Country
43
Rep
2,028
Posts

 
Drives: B M W
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Everest

iTrader: (2)

Voice control works. I am not so sure about the PDC setting...I dont think it works or does anything. I have it set at PDC +4 at the moment.
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2008, 07:15 PM   #14
Zuzu
Major General
Zuzu's Avatar
Australia
96
Rep
7,602
Posts

 
Drives: VO 1M Beast
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SyDnEy Oz

iTrader: (0)

Alex..Sethchan is correct in saying that you might unleash other potential errors with the upgrade.

I have had mine done twice now and still have errors..

Not really looking forward to taking the beast back for the third time..
__________________
ZUZETTE Build..http://www.1addicts.com/forums/showthread.php?t=606023
: ETS FMIC . aFe CAI . Remus Race exhaust . SSK . Custom Midpipes . CDV . BM OCC . H&R springs :
Appreciate 0
      11-26-2008, 06:38 PM   #15
Zuzu
Major General
Zuzu's Avatar
Australia
96
Rep
7,602
Posts

 
Drives: VO 1M Beast
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SyDnEy Oz

iTrader: (0)

Dealer just called and booked my car in next week for the latest .. V2/31.2 ECU upgrade..

Hope this works.. They reckon this new version has been fully tested by BMW Australia for the Oz cars.

Lets hope this works...THIRD time lucky..:iono:
__________________
ZUZETTE Build..http://www.1addicts.com/forums/showthread.php?t=606023
: ETS FMIC . aFe CAI . Remus Race exhaust . SSK . Custom Midpipes . CDV . BM OCC . H&R springs :
Appreciate 0
      11-26-2008, 09:15 PM   #16
Alext
Colonel
No_Country
43
Rep
2,028
Posts

 
Drives: B M W
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Everest

iTrader: (2)

Good luck Zuzu!
Appreciate 0
      11-26-2008, 11:15 PM   #17
Zuzu
Major General
Zuzu's Avatar
Australia
96
Rep
7,602
Posts

 
Drives: VO 1M Beast
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SyDnEy Oz

iTrader: (0)

Thanks Alext..

Will keep you all informed of the hopefully positive outcome..
__________________
ZUZETTE Build..http://www.1addicts.com/forums/showthread.php?t=606023
: ETS FMIC . aFe CAI . Remus Race exhaust . SSK . Custom Midpipes . CDV . BM OCC . H&R springs :
Appreciate 0
      11-26-2008, 11:58 PM   #18
cozza
///Mthusiast
cozza's Avatar
Australia
38
Rep
1,749
Posts

 
Drives: M135i (March delivery)
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia

iTrader: (0)

Can anyone enlighten us as to exactly what these software upgrades do to the car other than fix possible glitches in the iDrive system...?
__________________
///M135i: AUTO | ALPINE WHITE | CORAL RED LEATHER | HEATED SEATS | SUNROOF | NAV | DAB TUNER | HARMAN KARDON | PERFORMANCE BITS 'N' PIECES
Appreciate 0
      11-27-2008, 12:30 AM   #19
Zuzu
Major General
Zuzu's Avatar
Australia
96
Rep
7,602
Posts

 
Drives: VO 1M Beast
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SyDnEy Oz

iTrader: (0)

Cory, the problem is that the BMW techs havent got much of an idea aswell.

For me to get out of the service mgr this morning what ECU upgrade I was getting, he had to call Melbourne then call me back..

Apparently besides the Idrive problems it is supposed to remove or reduce the turbo lag down low in the rev range that some cars have.

When I had the first upgrade done months ago it definately was a lot smoother down low with no lag.

My ongoing problem hasnt been the Idrive but "Service Indicator" lights that wont go away after starting and "Brake Pad" warning lights that remain on.
__________________
ZUZETTE Build..http://www.1addicts.com/forums/showthread.php?t=606023
: ETS FMIC . aFe CAI . Remus Race exhaust . SSK . Custom Midpipes . CDV . BM OCC . H&R springs :
Appreciate 0
      11-27-2008, 12:33 AM   #20
Zuzu
Major General
Zuzu's Avatar
Australia
96
Rep
7,602
Posts

 
Drives: VO 1M Beast
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SyDnEy Oz

iTrader: (0)

And YES, I will be leaving the JB3 intact when I take in for the upgrade.:biggrin:.

Just switch it over to "Stock Mode" and hope it is not detected as they claim..
__________________
ZUZETTE Build..http://www.1addicts.com/forums/showthread.php?t=606023
: ETS FMIC . aFe CAI . Remus Race exhaust . SSK . Custom Midpipes . CDV . BM OCC . H&R springs :
Appreciate 0
      11-27-2008, 12:59 AM   #21
bfi2906
Captain
Australia
11
Rep
685
Posts

 
Drives: 135 Coupe
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (0)

"And YES, I will be leaving the JB3 intact when I take in for the upgrade.:biggrin:. "

Is this the first time this has been tested in Oz? Either way, it'll be a good indicator of whether the JB3 really is "invisible".

Or maybe it'll just be an indication of attention to detail at a dealership.

Please let us know how it plays out.

B.
Appreciate 0
      11-27-2008, 01:06 AM   #22
Zuzu
Major General
Zuzu's Avatar
Australia
96
Rep
7,602
Posts

 
Drives: VO 1M Beast
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SyDnEy Oz

iTrader: (0)

I would think so..:iono:

Swift left his SSTT in when he had his upgrade installed some time ago, and that was undetected I think..
__________________
ZUZETTE Build..http://www.1addicts.com/forums/showthread.php?t=606023
: ETS FMIC . aFe CAI . Remus Race exhaust . SSK . Custom Midpipes . CDV . BM OCC . H&R springs :
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35 AM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST