BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-05-2009, 07:12 PM   #23
ronnyek
Captain
United_States
7

 
Drives: 2010 Evo MR Touring
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: space


Posts: 682
iTrader: (1)

in my friends car, it wasnt so noticeable at least on the 1.2 map... still feels like it occasionally has a bit of lag or hesitation... maybe cold weather related and may be fixed in 1.22, could also be a sign of hpfp failure. Lets hope for the best.
Appreciate 0
      01-05-2009, 08:24 PM   #24
Evolved
Bad Lieutenant
No_Country
4

 
Drives: Evo
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: PA


Posts: 465
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremyc74 View Post
It's my understanding that you have to count, and if you lose count you have to start over. I'm pretty sure there's no display.
You have to be kidding. That's really the way it works?
Appreciate 0
      01-05-2009, 08:38 PM   #25
Juicer
First Lieutenant
5

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Parking lot


Posts: 310
iTrader: (1)

Yes. You count the number of times you press the pedal. You do this once and it is set until you manually re-set it. I too wish there was a display, but at this point there is not. Doesn't matter, 90% of us will put it on map 6 (most aggressive on pump gas) and leave it there. My friend upgraded from 1.1 to 1.22. Even stronger. He never had lag so I can't say something he never had went away, but 1.22 seems even more "explosive" under 2500 rpm than 1.1.
Appreciate 0
      01-05-2009, 09:01 PM   #26
Evolved
Bad Lieutenant
No_Country
4

 
Drives: Evo
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: PA


Posts: 465
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by trent05 View Post
Yes. You count the number of times you press the pedal. You do this once and it is set until you manually re-set it. I too wish there was a display, but at this point there is not. Doesn't matter, 90% of us will put it on map 6 (most aggressive on pump gas) and leave it there. My friend upgraded from 1.1 to 1.22. Even stronger. He never had lag so I can't say something he never had went away, but 1.22 seems even more "explosive" under 2500 rpm than 1.1.
So are they not allowing for full product development or what?

I've had a GTi with APR software that allowed the user to change maps by using the cruise control stalk. There would be a visual notification on the dash (engine light) indicating what map you were in. The number of times the engine light would blink corresponded to what map number you were in.
Appreciate 0
      01-05-2009, 09:14 PM   #27
Strongbark
Brigadier General
No_Country
86

 
Strongbark's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 M4 on order
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Earth


Posts: 3,678
iTrader: (1)

BMS has a JB3 boost gauge coming out that will allow you to change maps on the fly.

__________________
Strongbark

http://www.1addicts.com/forums/signaturepics/sigpic32890_2.gif
'13 Mini GP #485 of 500 For Sale
Appreciate 0
      01-05-2009, 10:38 PM   #28
r10apple
New Member
0

 
Drives: G35c
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Jax., FL


Posts: 27
iTrader: (0)

nice review! (pm sent)
Appreciate 0
      01-05-2009, 10:51 PM   #29
jlee
Lieutenant
No_Country
8

 
jlee's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 M5 Comp + 2008 M3 Vert
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Washington DC


Posts: 597
iTrader: (1)

Since I never installed my 1.1 chip, and waited for the 1.22 I don't know how noticeable it was. There is some lag below 2500, but honestly isn't there always going to be some turbo lag ? I noticed it even in stock form, so its not any worse than stock.

In low boost, there is very little lag...I'm actually liking it quite a bit, its like a strong 8 cyllinder.

jeff
Appreciate 0
      01-06-2009, 07:36 AM   #30
BMW-driver
Drive carefully :)
Netherlands
4

 
BMW-driver's Avatar
 
Drives: 1M Valencia Orange
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Leeuwarden


Posts: 322
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jlee View Post
Since I never installed my 1.1 chip, and waited for the 1.22 I don't know how noticeable it was. There is some lag below 2500, but honestly isn't there always going to be some turbo lag ? I noticed it even in stock form, so its not any worse than stock.

In low boost, there is very little lag...I'm actually liking it quite a bit, its like a strong 8 cyllinder.

jeff
Hi all,

A turbo charged engine has always a turbo lag. That is because of the technical concept. No matter what type of turbo engine or piece of software you use. A Bugatti Veyron has a turbo Lag, a Porsche 911 turbo has a turbo lag (etc.)..

However. If the DME software is optimally programmed for the engine AND the engine is technicaly good built (for the N54 I would say wonderfully built:smile THAN a turbo lag does not disturb the driving experiences. That is the maximum you can get.

For the N54 I only can say that I have never ever driven such a smooth and balanced turbo engine. Beware of the 'bad' software, that does not do a good job for your engine. There are a lot out there..

Have fun !
ACS1.35i
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01 AM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST