BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-31-2008, 02:33 PM   #1
AndyM
Lieutenant
AndyM's Avatar
60
Rep
530
Posts

Drives:
Join Date: Sep 2007

iTrader: (2)

Let's Hardwire my Escort 8500

I like to mount the radar detector between the mirror and the top of the windshield. This keeps it out of the way but still close to my field of vision.

What you need:
-Radar Detector Hardwire Kit (with radar detector)
-10mm Socket, extension and wrench (possibly Universal adapter)
-U-Ring Connector or O-Ring Connector
-3M Spring Connector or solder and solder gun

If you like your radar detector high on the windshield, the sunroof switch is the best area to grab switched power.

To begin, you will need a hardwire kit from your Radar Detector manufacturer. The kit should have two leads, one to ground and one to power. The power lead should be fused.

You will want to start by gaining access to the sunroof switch wiring. To do this, you will need to remove the switch and light panel. The panel has 2 clips along the front edge (nearest to the windshield). I was able to slide a butter knife between the headliner and the panel to push the clips back. This took me a long time. The other way to do it is to carefully pull down the headliner and slide a finger or two in to release the clips. The clip locations are shown in the following image.



Additional Information regarding the clips:
This thread on e90post may help in showing the tabs better than I explained.

There are two tabs along the front edge. They are located approximately at the maplights. You need to push the tabs toward the back of the panel to release the front edge. The front edge needs to be released first.


Once the clips are released, lower the front edge of the panel and then slide the back edge slightly forward to release the entire pane. The panel has a control unit with 5 connectors. You may want to undock the connectors from the panel so the panel is not in your way. You will be looking for the switched power wire in the indicated connector. It is pin #3 and is a green and white wire.



You will need to remove some of the electrical tape around the wiring. Once you have located the wire, tap into it and connect the power lead from the RD hardwire kit.

With the power connected, you will need to ground the second wire on the hardwire kit. If you look to either side of the sunroof motor, you will see a 10mm bolt. I used this bolt to ground the wire.



I used a 3M U-Connector as the bolt is a bit tough to get to and could be even more difficult to re-install. The U-Connector allowed me to back the bolt out a few threads and then slide in the connector. You may need to use a Universal Joint along with your socket to access the bolt. Tighten the bolt back down.



With the connections made, route the connector for the radar detector out between the headliner and the windshield. Feel free to take your time on stowing and routing the wiring to make sure you do not end up with any rattles or vibrations. I wrapped the fuse for my Escort 8500 in felt before completing installation.

With the wiring all done, you can test the radar detector. With the car in accessory mode (key in and once press to the start/stop button), the radar detector will have power. Re-installing the sunroof switch panel is the opposite of removal. Install the back edge first and then snap in the front edge until the clips click.

Appreciate 1
      03-31-2008, 03:38 PM   #2
tenxaday
Private First Class
tenxaday's Avatar
2
Rep
129
Posts

Drives:
Join Date: Sep 2007

iTrader: (0)

does the radar work well when its that high, i always leave mine in the middle of the window?
__________________
E90 335i Crimson Red
Powder Coat Black Staggered CSL 18'/ BMS Intake / AC Schnitzer ACS3 Front Lip (rep) /
Appreciate 0
      03-31-2008, 03:47 PM   #3
AndyM
Lieutenant
AndyM's Avatar
60
Rep
530
Posts

Drives:
Join Date: Sep 2007

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tenxaday View Post
does the radar work well when its that high, i always leave mine in the middle of the window?
I think the only issue would be getting hit from behind. I get very good alerts as I am approaching a signal.
Appreciate 0
      03-31-2008, 05:11 PM   #4
jeremyc74
Banned
United_States
74
Rep
5,972
Posts

Drives: '08 135i Montego/Terra
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Evansville, IN

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tenxaday View Post
does the radar work well when its that high, i always leave mine in the middle of the window?


It's actually giving it a better forward view, but less from behind. I mount mine down low usually because that's your best shot at picking up LASER, but realistically anywhere in the windsheild will work pretty well.


Nice write up OP. I usually mount mine just off the dash, but this is less visable and a shorter wire run. I may put mine in the exaclty the same spot. :thumbup:
Appreciate 0
      03-31-2008, 05:38 PM   #5
rainman128
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
35
Posts

Drives:
Join Date: Jan 2008

iTrader: (0)

Nice post...but if you really want to be secretive and out of the way...may I suggest mounting it under the steering wheel...(how?...still figuring that part out )
__________________
:wink:
Appreciate 0
      03-31-2008, 05:50 PM   #6
AndyM
Lieutenant
AndyM's Avatar
60
Rep
530
Posts

Drives:
Join Date: Sep 2007

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rainman128 View Post
Nice post...but if you really want to be secretive and out of the way...may I suggest mounting it under the steering wheel...(how?...still figuring that part out )
The big names all offer detectors with remote displays.
Appreciate 0
      04-03-2008, 05:43 AM   #7
mateo
Addicted Member
9
Rep
603
Posts

Drives:
Join Date: Jul 2007

iTrader: (0)

Kick ass. Nice write-up.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Appreciate 0
      04-03-2008, 05:57 PM   #8
mateo
Addicted Member
9
Rep
603
Posts

Drives:
Join Date: Jul 2007

iTrader: (0)

Andy is the DYI king.

Do you know what wire was a constant hot? My solo 2 doesn't come on with the key.

Thanks.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Appreciate 0
      04-03-2008, 06:16 PM   #9
AndyM
Lieutenant
AndyM's Avatar
60
Rep
530
Posts

Drives:
Join Date: Sep 2007

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mateo View Post
Andy is the DYI king.

Do you know what wire was a constant hot? My solo 2 doesn’t come on with the key.

Thanks.
I do not. Sorry, I only work with Hot/Switched. I assume there is one in the roof panel. Spend some time with VOM and you should be able to find one.
Appreciate 0
      04-03-2008, 07:09 PM   #10
mikeo
Santa Fe Concorso
mikeo's Avatar
United_States
37
Rep
2,984
Posts

Drives: '11 M-sport 328i, '13 X1 28i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Santa Fe, NM

iTrader: (3)

Nice write up, Andy, thanks. Got to hardwire my V1 this weekend.
Appreciate 0
      04-03-2008, 08:04 PM   #11
larryn
Major General
United_States
479
Rep
9,011
Posts

Drives: '97 332ti, '16 F82 M4
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Seattle/London

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeo View Post
Nice write up, Andy, thanks.
+1 Great write up.

I added this, and the other new DIYs to the stickied index post.
Appreciate 0
      04-03-2008, 08:24 PM   #12
Templedogg
Captain
24
Rep
799
Posts

Drives: 135i, Trailblazer SS, 1934 PU
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lake Stevens, WA

iTrader: (1)

Nice job Andy, great write up...you beat me to the DIY. I had my camera out last night and took one before pic and then wasted 30 minutes (the time I thought the whole job would take) trying to nicely unlatch the hooks in your first pic. I gave up when the wife told me dinner was ready and keep thinking about it. While doing dishes I cleaned a mini spatula and it came to me....BAM within 10 seconds with the mini spatula I was able to unlatch them. I then just resnapped them cause the UFC Fights were starting. Your angle of the arrows in the first pic are PERFECT.
Appreciate 0
      04-03-2008, 08:59 PM   #13
cozza
///Mthusiast
cozza's Avatar
Australia
53
Rep
1,752
Posts

Drives: M135i (March delivery)
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia

iTrader: (0)

Hi Andy, great write ups! This may be a little off topic, but do you know if there is there a power source among the wires in the map light / sunroof switch panel that is only live when the car is locked? I'd like to hook up an LED panel that activates only when it's locked...
__________________
///M135i: AUTO | ALPINE WHITE | CORAL RED LEATHER | HEATED SEATS | SUNROOF | NAV | DAB TUNER | HARMAN KARDON | PERFORMANCE BITS 'N' PIECES
Appreciate 0
      04-03-2008, 11:47 PM   #14
denial
Second Lieutenant
denial's Avatar
7
Rep
249
Posts

Drives: 135i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Louisiana

iTrader: (0)

Man I tried and tried with a butter knife. Eventually I just got fed up with it and felt like I was going to snap the light cover off. So instead I managed my fingers into the roof liner and popped it out that way (as suggested). There's a little bit of a trick to maneuvering your fingers far enough in to be able to push the latches, but after you figure it out, it's cake.

Thanks for the writeup btw.
Appreciate 0
      04-05-2008, 09:00 AM   #15
romka7
Private
0
Rep
85
Posts

Drives:
Join Date: Jan 2008

iTrader: (0)

I have been trying for an hour can't get the panel off. There are metal clips along the the whole edge, are those the ones you are pushing back or there are other clips that snap on to those. Also do I push up with the knife and pull the panel down? Thanks for the write-up.
Appreciate 0
      04-05-2008, 09:17 AM   #16
AndyM
Lieutenant
AndyM's Avatar
60
Rep
530
Posts

Drives:
Join Date: Sep 2007

iTrader: (2)

This thread on e90post may help in showing the tabs better than I explained.

There are two tabs along the front edge. They are located approximately at the maplights. You need to pus the tabs toward the back of the panel to release the front edge. The front edge needs to be released first.

edit: here is a picture of the clips from the side.
Appreciate 0
      04-05-2008, 09:20 AM   #17
AndyM
Lieutenant
AndyM's Avatar
60
Rep
530
Posts

Drives:
Join Date: Sep 2007

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cozza View Post
Hi Andy, great write ups! This may be a little off topic, but do you know if there is there a power source among the wires in the map light / sunroof switch panel that is only live when the car is locked? I’d like to hook up an LED panel that activates only when it’s locked...
You would need to get in there with VOM and see what is hot.
Appreciate 0
      04-05-2008, 10:09 PM   #18
cozza
///Mthusiast
cozza's Avatar
Australia
53
Rep
1,752
Posts

Drives: M135i (March delivery)
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyM View Post
You would need to get in there with VOM and see what is hot.
Yeah, figured you'd say that
__________________
///M135i: AUTO | ALPINE WHITE | CORAL RED LEATHER | HEATED SEATS | SUNROOF | NAV | DAB TUNER | HARMAN KARDON | PERFORMANCE BITS 'N' PIECES
Appreciate 0
      04-05-2008, 11:21 PM   #19
AndyM
Lieutenant
AndyM's Avatar
60
Rep
530
Posts

Drives:
Join Date: Sep 2007

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cozza View Post
Yeah, figured you’d say that
This should help

I would still check the wires with a VOM.
Appreciate 0
      04-06-2008, 01:30 AM   #20
mateo
Addicted Member
9
Rep
603
Posts

Drives:
Join Date: Jul 2007

iTrader: (0)

Anybody looking for constant power used the big fat red wire on the plug that goes to the sunroof motor.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Appreciate 0
      04-06-2008, 08:41 PM   #21
cozza
///Mthusiast
cozza's Avatar
Australia
53
Rep
1,752
Posts

Drives: M135i (March delivery)
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyM View Post
This should help

I would still check the wires with a VOM.
Thanks mate, I'll come back to this thread when I eventually get my car... in about 3 months!!
__________________
///M135i: AUTO | ALPINE WHITE | CORAL RED LEATHER | HEATED SEATS | SUNROOF | NAV | DAB TUNER | HARMAN KARDON | PERFORMANCE BITS 'N' PIECES
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2008, 10:34 AM   #22
C_Topher
Señor Member
11
Rep
453
Posts

Drives: 135i
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Georgia

iTrader: (0)

On the 1 series, is this a convenient location if you have to press the mute button, or would it be easier with the remotely installed mute button?
__________________
Monaco Blue/Savannah Beige 135i
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:29 PM.




1addicts
1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST