BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-18-2010, 03:17 PM   #1
Nicky G
Private First Class
United_States
2
Rep
197
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 135i (M Sport, Premium)
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Baltimore, MD USA

iTrader: (1)

Finally did it -- ordered a JB+

Had my 2010 135i for about 6 months now. Initially I was sure I'd tune, then for a while I was pretty sure I'd leave it stock. Well, I finally broke down, and ordered a JB+. Why the heck not? If it really doesn't throw codes in the default setting, and I can get 25 or so horses out of it, maybe a hair more on 93 octane, I'm now thinking hell yeah. I even upgraded the shipping so it gets here faster. :-D

Definitely didn't want the JB3 or Dinan or anything, I just want a wee bit more punch. Everything else on the car is pure stock, even the RFTs.

Pretty stoked!
Appreciate 0
      06-18-2010, 04:11 PM   #2
SV Concepts III
Lieutenant General
262
Rep
17,021
Posts

 
Drives: BMW Duh
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Santa Clara

iTrader: (13)

Send a message via AIM to SV Concepts III
Congrats, your gonna love it.
Appreciate 0
      06-18-2010, 04:45 PM   #3
jhuber
Second Lieutenant
United_States
2
Rep
232
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 135i
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Fort Benning, Georgia

iTrader: (1)

your gonna love it, for a week, then your going to order a JB3...

but for real the JB+ is great, I had it turned all the way up, bought the BT tool, no codes at, (I wouldn't recommend running it turned all the way up if you don't have the tool but I can say that I don't have codes even with it turned all the way up)

I ended up ordering a used JB3 after a few weeks of having my JB+ because I wanted the ability to switch maps but you will love what the JB+ does to your 1er!
__________________
2010 Le Mans Blue 135i, AA BOV, JB3 2.0, BMS DCI, P3 Boost Gauge, fmxomar Splitters
Appreciate 0
      06-18-2010, 04:58 PM   #4
rramachand
Private
0
Rep
69
Posts

 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Long Island, NY

iTrader: (0)

the Jb+ doesnt throw any codes at all? I really wanted to get one but I didnt want to buy the BT tool..
Appreciate 0
      06-18-2010, 05:08 PM   #5
NewYearsBoy
Colonel
NewYearsBoy's Avatar
United_States
30
Rep
2,365
Posts

 
Drives: IS 300
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bradenton FL

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quick question... Does the JB+ or the JB3 mess up the engine long term??? Because I want my car at like 350hp... Also whats the difference between the JB+ and the JB3??
__________________
--------------------------------------------------------------

"Speed never killed anyone its very important to get that straight, Speed has never killed a soul. Suddenly becoming stationary thats what gets people." - Jeremy Clarkson
Appreciate 0
      06-19-2010, 01:49 PM   #6
FJUNO78
Captain
FJUNO78's Avatar
11
Rep
885
Posts

 
Drives: 25 to 2
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: staten island, NY

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2010 135i  [0.00]
2007 e92 328I  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stoutnj89 View Post
Quick question... Does the JB+ or the JB3 mess up the engine long term??? Because I want my car at like 350hp... Also whats the difference between the JB+ and the JB3??
nobody really knows the answer to this question. People have been running these tunes for 3 years on these cars, and it is rare you hear of any catastrophic damage. With that said, who knows what the effect of these tunes will be in 3 or 4 more years.

JB+ plugs into your tmap sensor while the jb3 plugs into your ecu. With any tune, believe both can throw codes at any time, so buying the scan tool would be a wise choice.

Im thinking really hard about the jb3. but I have read a few times that if something major does happen, and a PUMA case is opened on your car, they can see you had a tune. not sure if this is bs or not, but I dont like that.
__________________
2010 135i - Alpine White - Coral Red- Glacier Trim - Bluetooth - ///M Sport - Paddle Shifters
Appreciate 0
      06-19-2010, 02:29 PM   #7
randomquickness
Brigadier General
United_States
74
Rep
3,656
Posts

 
Drives: 996tt
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Killeen, TX

iTrader: (13)

Congrats! the bt tool is great whether stock or 500+ whp. These cars are apt to throw codes.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-20-2010, 08:49 AM   #8
BahamaBart
Lieutenant
BahamaBart's Avatar
7
Rep
587
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 135i
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: in front of you

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicky G View Post
Pretty stoked!
Your gonna be! I added a JB+ to my daily driver and love it for it gives you usable power. I've been running at default for a little less than 1 year and while I have had issues with the car and thrown plenty of codes not one caused by the JB+.

Install, I found the instructions from SSTT very helpful (good pics). A MUST is to use a USB plug to facilitate releasing the clip. I took an old USB cable, cut it, made a loop to go around my wrist so if it slipped I wouldn't be hunting for it. First time install was 20-25 minutes but from then on it can be done in less than 10 minutes.

Now that I have a BT Scan tool and once I get my new HPFP (car goes in tomorrow); I will, I must try turning up the dial.
__________________
2009 135i Black on Black
Options|Leather| Sport Package| Premium Stereo| Steering Assist | V1
Engine MODS| JB4 install | AR DPs | Berk Axleback | ITG Filter | BHS OCC |
Exterior Bling| Kerscher splitter |
Interior Bling | Bimmian pedals | 3P Cars gauage |
Appreciate 0
      06-20-2010, 09:57 AM   #9
Tochenzo
Second Lieutenant
Tochenzo's Avatar
4
Rep
249
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 135i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: VA

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2009 135i  [0.00]
1998 328i  [5.00]
Send a message via AIM to Tochenzo
I had the same idea as you except I waited over a year before I bought my JB+...then got a JB3 2 weeks later haha
__________________

National Capital Chapter BMW CCA #367673

Appreciate 0
      06-20-2010, 10:01 AM   #10
jojo135
Private First Class
1
Rep
191
Posts

 
Drives: 09' BMW 135i
Join Date: May 2010
Location: northsouth

iTrader: (1)

You should get the bt scanner. Every car is different and they don't guarantee no codes will be thrown. I have the jb3 and on most cars map 5 doesn't throw codes but it did on mine. Default setting on jb3 is map 3 and I was great there. Terry says map 5 shouldn't throw codes but he also says better to be sure and scan the car. I put it in map 5, it threw a tuner code.

Your warranty is worth thousands, the scanner is +/- $250.........sounds like a no brained to me.
Appreciate 0
      06-20-2010, 10:38 AM   #11
IDBMW
Captain
IDBMW's Avatar
United_States
10
Rep
754
Posts

 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Boise, ID

iTrader: (0)

What is the difference between a BT scanner and say a CenTech OBD II code reader. I have a CenTech code reader now
__________________
135i SGM/Black Boston Leather/Aluminum Trim - 6SP MT - Sports Package - Premium Package - Cold Weather Package - Premium Hi-fi System - ipod/USB adaptor - Comfort Access System
Appreciate 0
      06-20-2010, 10:46 AM   #12
randomquickness
Brigadier General
United_States
74
Rep
3,656
Posts

 
Drives: 996tt
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Killeen, TX

iTrader: (13)

^the bt can erase the shadow codes, the others don't.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-20-2010, 03:24 PM   #13
jojo135
Private First Class
1
Rep
191
Posts

 
Drives: 09' BMW 135i
Join Date: May 2010
Location: northsouth

iTrader: (1)

I have the Orange OBD ll from advance auto parts and also the bt scanner. The Orange one does not find the codes the bt does. The shadow faults but also, it doesn't give any other data besides a code. There is really NO comparison.
Appreciate 0
      06-21-2010, 01:15 AM   #14
chesterfan1230
Colonel
chesterfan1230's Avatar
51
Rep
2,561
Posts

 
Drives: a Bat Mobile :)
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NJ

iTrader: (10)

Garage List
2012 335iS  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to chesterfan1230
now order a jb3.
__________________
Current: 2012 335iS
Past: 2006 e90 325xi, 2010 135i
Appreciate 0
      06-21-2010, 01:40 AM   #15
madostrich
Second Lieutenant
United_States
5
Rep
217
Posts

 
Drives: '10 135i Black/Red M-Sport
Join Date: May 2010
Location: SoCA

iTrader: (0)

newbie question: if you GIAC and don't piggyback, you don't have to worry about throwing codes right?
Appreciate 0
      06-21-2010, 10:31 AM   #16
jojo135
Private First Class
1
Rep
191
Posts

 
Drives: 09' BMW 135i
Join Date: May 2010
Location: northsouth

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by chesterfan1230 View Post
now order a jb3.
Appreciate 0
      06-21-2010, 10:39 AM   #17
jojo135
Private First Class
1
Rep
191
Posts

 
Drives: 09' BMW 135i
Join Date: May 2010
Location: northsouth

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by madostrich View Post
newbie question: if you GIAC and don't piggyback, you don't have to worry about throwing codes right?
Stock cars throw codes. If you are asking if your car will throw tuner codes and tell dealer you have tuned the car, I can't answer that question because I don't know for sure but logic tells me yes, you can throw codes with a flash tune. Your car is producing a much larger amount of boost.

Maybe some others know more but I would think a flashed tune would be easier for the dealer to detect. Is there any way to disable your giac?
Appreciate 0
      06-21-2010, 06:12 PM   #18
BahamaBart
Lieutenant
BahamaBart's Avatar
7
Rep
587
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 135i
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: in front of you

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by madostrich View Post
newbie question: if you GIAC and don't piggyback, you don't have to worry about throwing codes right?
Its not a question if it will throw a code but that its on the ECU and detectable by the dealer. Dealer can flash over it at will.
__________________
2009 135i Black on Black
Options|Leather| Sport Package| Premium Stereo| Steering Assist | V1
Engine MODS| JB4 install | AR DPs | Berk Axleback | ITG Filter | BHS OCC |
Exterior Bling| Kerscher splitter |
Interior Bling | Bimmian pedals | 3P Cars gauage |
Appreciate 0
      06-21-2010, 06:30 PM   #19
NewYearsBoy
Colonel
NewYearsBoy's Avatar
United_States
30
Rep
2,365
Posts

 
Drives: IS 300
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bradenton FL

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Thanks FJUNO78!!!
I really want to go with Dinan because they warranty the work... I want to get the stage 2 Ecu upgrade and their intake.... But i could just buy the JB+ now.... Instead of saving up and waiting to do Dinan.. But I want my car to last for a good amount of time, I dont want to burn it out in 3 years..
__________________
--------------------------------------------------------------

"Speed never killed anyone its very important to get that straight, Speed has never killed a soul. Suddenly becoming stationary thats what gets people." - Jeremy Clarkson
Appreciate 0
      06-21-2010, 09:38 PM   #20
BoostedTerp
First Lieutenant
7
Rep
304
Posts

 
Drives: '15 M3
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Arlington, VA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stoutnj89 View Post
Thanks FJUNO78!!!
I really want to go with Dinan because they warranty the work... I want to get the stage 2 Ecu upgrade and their intake.... But i could just buy the JB+ now.... Instead of saving up and waiting to do Dinan.. But I want my car to last for a good amount of time, I dont want to burn it out in 3 years..
I really like my Dinan tune and the peace of mind it provides, but you have to understand going into it that it will never be the best bang for the buck. It is a pretty darn good tune though, and completely transformative compared to stock.
__________________
'15 Black Sapphire M3
Appreciate 0
      06-23-2010, 10:38 AM   #21
135ILess
New Member
0
Rep
25
Posts

 
Drives: 135I
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada

iTrader: (0)

My Pressure pump just left me down.. i had the SSTT.. i removed it before leave it to dealer.. they called me and found hidden code.. so i did my guy who know nothing about car..and said to him i never modified my car, except my tire.... So when i got my car back, he told me there were certain that my car was modified.. he said the manipulation code was thow.. but he said to me that these code happen for something else often... .. STICKED...

i removed the code with a normal BT scan and the hidden code was there.. So the BT scanner it a most!!
Appreciate 0
      06-23-2010, 02:23 PM   #22
NewYearsBoy
Colonel
NewYearsBoy's Avatar
United_States
30
Rep
2,365
Posts

 
Drives: IS 300
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bradenton FL

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
BoostedTerp... Thanks I will go with Dinan... Just got the car and still getting used to it.... Cant wait to go to a car show and pop the hood... ;^)
__________________
--------------------------------------------------------------

"Speed never killed anyone its very important to get that straight, Speed has never killed a soul. Suddenly becoming stationary thats what gets people." - Jeremy Clarkson
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 PM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST