BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-01-2010, 07:38 PM   #1
ralawren
Private
0

 
Drives: 2010 128i Arctic White, Sport
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Damascus, MD


Posts: 72
iTrader: (0)

Oil level 3/4 after Annual Oil Chg

I just had my annual oil change done and the dashboard oil indicator only shows 3/4. Is this normal? Is it always supposed to be less than full to provide room for expansion? Seems kind of odd!
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2010, 04:30 PM   #2
ianc
Ex '87 Carrera
United_States
13

 
ianc's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 TiAg 6MT 135i
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Redwood Shores, California


Posts: 738
iTrader: (0)

Should be full. Go back to BMW and have them add more. Buy a quart or two while you're there so you can top off yourself without the hassle of fighting them for it.

ianc
__________________
"I will tell you there is a big difference between driving money and driving blood, sweat and tears." - PorscheGuy79

"I got 328 loaner and was impressed with performance. It feels much faster than my 135i." - MOCKBA
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2010, 06:30 PM   #3
JB135MDCT
I'm just a cook
United_States
11

 
JB135MDCT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 135i DCT
Join Date: May 2010
Location: MD


Posts: 965
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ralawren View Post
I just had my annual oil change done and the dashboard oil indicator only shows 3/4. Is this normal? Is it always supposed to be less than full to provide room for expansion? Seems kind of odd!
I assume you went to VOB. It is not normal, please go back and show them and explain how much of your time they wasted.
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2010, 07:08 PM   #4
ralawren
Private
0

 
Drives: 2010 128i Arctic White, Sport
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Damascus, MD


Posts: 72
iTrader: (0)

[quote=JB135MDCT;8428241]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ralawren View Post
I just had my annual oil change done and the dashboard oil indicator only shows 3/4. Is this normal? Is it always supposed to be less than full to provide room for expansion? Seems kind of odd!
So I called the SA to ask if I was really a qt low. He said no, it takes 1-2 days for the car to reset the oil level. Doesn't sound right to me. I also asked if the service indicator that said I needed service in 6000 miles was correct. I had the oil changed because it was 12 months old but I only have 10,500 miles. The SA said that they don't reset the service indicator that I would need to bring it in when it said it was time. They would then change the oil again. Somehow I doubt it.
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2010, 07:19 PM   #5
MikeinAlexandria
Lieutenant
United_States
13

 
Drives: 128i M Sport Convertible
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alexandria, VA


Posts: 567
iTrader: (0)

The indicator does take time, maybe an hour or so, but not days. It sou ds like they put six quarts in. When I changed my oil, it took seven quarts, and within an hour of driving around, the oil indicator showed full. I check it every time I get gas, just like the old dipstick, but now, I can do that without getting my hands greasy!
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2010, 07:54 PM   #6
ralawren
Private
0

 
Drives: 2010 128i Arctic White, Sport
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Damascus, MD


Posts: 72
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeinAlexandria View Post
The indicator does take time, maybe an hour or so, but not days. It sou ds like they put six quarts in. When I changed my oil, it took seven quarts, and within an hour of driving around, the oil indicator showed full. I check it every time I get gas, just like the old dipstick, but now, I can do that without getting my hands greasy!
. I agree, I am definitely low but my service ticket says the used seven quarts! Guess I will have to give the service manager a call and have them ship me a quart. Will keep you all updated, thanks for the help.
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2010, 08:51 PM   #7
JB135MDCT
I'm just a cook
United_States
11

 
JB135MDCT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 135i DCT
Join Date: May 2010
Location: MD


Posts: 965
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ralawren View Post
So I called the SA to ask if I was really a qt low. He said no, it takes 1-2 days for the car to reset the oil level. Doesn't sound right to me. I also asked if the service indicator that said I needed service in 6000 miles was correct. I had the oil changed because it was 12 months old but I only have 10,500 miles. The SA said that they don't reset the service indicator that I would need to bring it in when it said it was time. They would then change the oil again. Somehow I doubt it.
Drive on flat section of 270 for 10 minutes. I check it when I get to the parking lot at work. Full service performed in 6k is correct.
Appreciate 0
      12-03-2010, 10:42 AM   #8
Tom K.
Major General
United_States
53

 
Tom K.'s Avatar
 
Drives: '07 328iT, '13 Boxster
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Maryland


Posts: 5,390
iTrader: (0)

[quote=ralawren;8428474]
Quote:
Originally Posted by JB135MDCT View Post
I also asked if the service indicator that said I needed service in 6000 miles was correct. I had the oil changed because it was 12 months old but I only have 10,500 miles. The SA said that they don't reset the service indicator that I would need to bring it in when it said it was time. They would then change the oil again. Somehow I doubt it.
The SA is correct. The mileage countdown is not reset after a time based oil change - which is to your advantage as you will get your next free change in 6,000 miles. Many of us don't care for the extended oil change intervals and try to have it changed at least once every 8,000, so be happy your dealer did not reset the computer.

Tom
Appreciate 0
      12-03-2010, 11:38 AM   #9
JB135MDCT
I'm just a cook
United_States
11

 
JB135MDCT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 135i DCT
Join Date: May 2010
Location: MD


Posts: 965
iTrader: (0)

[quote=Tom K.;8431974]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ralawren View Post

The SA is correct. The mileage countdown is not reset after a time based oil change - which is to your advantage as you will get your next free change in 6,000 miles. Many of us don't care for the extended oil change intervals and try to have it changed at least once every 8,000, so be happy your dealer did not reset the computer.

Tom
Strange. I did not post the quote.

Oh, Don't do this "[quote=Tom K.;8431974][quote=ralawren;8428474]"
Appreciate 0
      12-03-2010, 09:20 PM   #10
Tom K.
Major General
United_States
53

 
Tom K.'s Avatar
 
Drives: '07 328iT, '13 Boxster
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Maryland


Posts: 5,390
iTrader: (0)

Sorry, I should have noticed the error. Try clicking on "quote" to reply to that message!

Tom
Appreciate 0
      12-04-2010, 09:58 AM   #11
shodanusmc
Captain
7

 
Drives: 09 135 Vert
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chicago burb


Posts: 736
iTrader: (0)

I change it every 6 months. Thjey pau for one, and I can afford the $80 for the other.
Appreciate 0
      12-11-2010, 12:57 AM   #12
ralawren
Private
0

 
Drives: 2010 128i Arctic White, Sport
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Damascus, MD


Posts: 72
iTrader: (0)

Ok so I have to eat a little crow for not reading the gauge correctly. My oil is at Max, which is the hash at 3/4 mark. The extra space is in case you overfill and the 1 warning will come on. Same goes for minimum which is at 1/4. Below this a -1 will appear. I figured this out after talking to the shop manager. Apparently the computer displays are different and the SA wasn't sure how to explain it. Of course last night the plastic cover over the drivers side door/carpet caught on my pant cuff and ripped out. So it back to the dealer anyways. I do love to drive this car and don't plan on going back to an Acura!
Appreciate 0
      12-11-2010, 02:12 PM   #13
Tom K.
Major General
United_States
53

 
Tom K.'s Avatar
 
Drives: '07 328iT, '13 Boxster
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Maryland


Posts: 5,390
iTrader: (0)

Ah - the "dreaded user error" strikes again!

Glad everything worked out for you. Incidentally, I've discovered some nice driving roads not too far from you in the Frederick City Municipal Forest.

Tom
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 AM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST