BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-01-2011, 03:47 AM   #23
fatjoez
baller
 
fatjoez's Avatar
 
Drives: lambo
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the crib

Posts: 675
iTrader: (0)

Hey there, I've received 3 private messages this week by people about this.
Here is my feedback / updates


@ Salazar
- The cable needed is OBDII cable, and make sure it says "DCAN" in the description
-- see here for example click here

- for corner delete refer to this list: click here And try and find a setting which relates to what you want, and if you can't, try searching google for "ncs expert corner delete" and see if others may have specified which setting needs to be changed

- angel eye voltage output increase I have no idea how to do this one so can't comment


@ mineo77 (& also a note to everyone)
- I don't know where to start.. don't take offense to anything I say!!
- This is my advice for you & other people considering coding

- NEVER CODE WITH A WEAK CAR BATTERY, if your battery is weak, charge it / buy a new one. because if in the case of mineo77 theres a chance of it dying, it can mess things up if you're in the middle of coding the ecu

- Second, NEVER CODE WHILE THE CAR IS OFF-- This is again to make sure the battery doesnt die...

- NEVER RUSH INTO CODING
-- Always start cautiously
-- BACKUP THE MODULE FIRST
-- Change only ONE OR TWO options, then write back to ECU and test
-- DO NOT MAKE LOTS OF CHANGES ON YOUR FIRST ATTEMPT!!!!


-- READ THIS THREAD CAREFULLY specifically so you know all the information before you attempt anything

-- DO NOT attempt to disable the driver seatbelt gong
--- The reason for this has already been mentioned and is obvious, the setting is located in the Airbag module & some people think the setting MIGHT mean check for passenger and if thats turned off, the airbag might not deploy in accidents!!!!!!

-- can you check the manual & let us know what those error warning symbols explanation is

-- my opinion is it is either something to do with your low battery voltage -- Did you code it when the car was off? or on? ALWAYS code when the car is on

-- also, what Year / Model is your car

-- did you backup your module settings & restore those backups? or did you actually recode the values in the files back to what they originally were... ALWAYS backup the complete file first

-- the Software version shouldn't be a problem 3.1 i think it is, everyone uses it, so yea i think its something I've mentioned earlier..




@ aacabriolet
- click the link to the list I linked to earlier in this thread & see if you can find roof / remote closing from that list

-- to disable the errors related to the bulbs / LEDs thats EASY, and that is actually what I got success on mine, read my early post where I listed all the configuration values to disable go here


Hope this helps everyone, when I get a chance I will update the first post in this thread and make it more of a guide with information / links to read, but till then just follow what I posted

Last edited by fatjoez; 02-01-2011 at 04:00 AM.
fatjoez is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      02-01-2011, 03:58 AM   #24
aacabriolet
Captain
 
aacabriolet's Avatar
 
Drives: '14 435i Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SA

Posts: 836
iTrader: (0)

Thanks fatjoez some food advice there.

Would really appreciate some screenshots like showing us how to backup module etc and any other precautionary measures we should take.

Some other small q's:

- does NCs Expert run on Windows 7 or only older Os like XP

Thanks dude!! Can't wait to get a cable and try this out

Last edited by aacabriolet; 02-01-2011 at 04:11 AM.
aacabriolet is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      02-01-2011, 04:19 AM   #25
aacabriolet
Captain
 
aacabriolet's Avatar
 
Drives: '14 435i Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SA

Posts: 836
iTrader: (0)

fatjoez - would this cable work? http://www.stopshop.co.za/1358-buy-v...cvfg-a09-.html

it says it has support for "Direct Can" which I assume is D-CAN? but do we need 16 pin or 20 pin connector?

Regarding Angel Eyes dimming, perhaps it's "DRL_DIMMUNG" ? - be careful
aacabriolet is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      02-01-2011, 09:23 AM   #26
mineo77
Lieutenant Colonel
 
mineo77's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 135i,1989 PRO3,2001 530i
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Portland,OR

Posts: 1,928
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2010 135i coupe  [3.78]
Send a message via AIM to mineo77
Fatjoez - thanks for the breakdown on things. To follow-up, we only coded 1 thing at a time and had the original back-up file etc. I was unaware of how low my battery was and in hind site I would hook up to power supply.

Those 2 codes are: Cruise control fail, Park selector not engaged (AT car, i am MT so weird to see this) and I am unable to reset my service indicator which I have been able to do in the past.


Did you select E89 chassis?

thanks so much
__________________
mineo77 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-01-2011, 10:03 AM   #27
aacabriolet
Captain
 
aacabriolet's Avatar
 
Drives: '14 435i Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SA

Posts: 836
iTrader: (0)

Why did you select E89 chassis?
aacabriolet is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      02-01-2011, 10:34 AM   #28
AW128i
Major
 
AW128i's Avatar
 
Drives: E82 N51
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Southeastern, PA

Posts: 1,004
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to AW128i
Quote:
Originally Posted by aacabriolet View Post
Why did you select E89 chassis?
Supposedly you have to for the E82/E88.
AW128i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-01-2011, 11:31 AM   #29
aacabriolet
Captain
 
aacabriolet's Avatar
 
Drives: '14 435i Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SA

Posts: 836
iTrader: (0)

Aah I see.

fatjoez (or anyone else that knows): can these same options be coded using the alternative BMW "SSS" software? instead of NCS Expert?

Man these cables are expensive
aacabriolet is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      02-01-2011, 02:07 PM   #30
mineo77
Lieutenant Colonel
 
mineo77's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 135i,1989 PRO3,2001 530i
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Portland,OR

Posts: 1,928
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2010 135i coupe  [3.78]
Send a message via AIM to mineo77
there was no E88/82 chassis code. The guy who was remotely coding stated this is what he uses for both 335i and 135i.
__________________
mineo77 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-01-2011, 02:13 PM   #31
escobar929
Brigadier General
 
escobar929's Avatar
 
Drives: M235i
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hollywood, FL

Posts: 4,281
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
2015 M235i  [0.00]
very cool, might have to give it a try one day
escobar929 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-01-2011, 02:48 PM   #32
RimasRS
Colonel
 
RimasRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i MT 2009 AW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Europe

Posts: 2,397
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by escobar929 View Post
very cool, might have to give it a try one day
Better don't! Leave it to somebody who knows what he is doing. I heard some bad stories about coding fail. Better think what you want to code then go to some professional guy, stay safe.
RimasRS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-01-2011, 04:07 PM   #33
Salazar
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 Black 135i
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Dallas, TX

Posts: 208
iTrader: (0)

I was looking around and ran into this place:

http://www.xoutpost.com/bmw-sav-foru...w-scanner.html

The software used there looks very straightforward and simple with check boxes, but at a price.. Don't think ill be willing to pay almost $2000 lol
Salazar is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-01-2011, 04:26 PM   #34
aacabriolet
Captain
 
aacabriolet's Avatar
 
Drives: '14 435i Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SA

Posts: 836
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Salazar View Post
I was looking around and ran into this place:

http://www.xoutpost.com/bmw-sav-foru...w-scanner.html

The software used there looks very straightforward and simple with check boxes, but at a price.. Don't think ill be willing to pay almost $2000 lol
Looks good. I think the SSS software will also be easier and safer to use, I just need a cable now :/
aacabriolet is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      02-03-2011, 01:35 AM   #35
fatjoez
baller
 
fatjoez's Avatar
 
Drives: lambo
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the crib

Posts: 675
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by aacabriolet View Post
fatjoez - would this cable work? http://www.stopshop.co.za/1358-buy-v...cvfg-a09-.html

it says it has support for "Direct Can" which I assume is D-CAN? but do we need 16 pin or 20 pin connector?

Regarding Angel Eyes dimming, perhaps it's "DRL_DIMMUNG" ? - be careful
hey aacabriolet, not sure if it's 16 or 20pin, the only models listed on that page you linked are audis/vws so maybe its not the right one, but that said I thought OBDII was a Universal port so it probably will work if it has DCAN
Just email the seller and ask them if its compatible with your car year/model

regarding DRL_DIMMUNG - Google Translate is your best friend for this coding process, and DIMMUNG is german for DIMMING yes



mineo77
- always code with the car on (the guy who I coded with told me this) to make sure the battery doesn't die on you, and when you know your batteries weak charge it up or buy a new one before coding

- it's really hard to say my friend, if you are sure you have reloaded all the modules you changed from backup files, and still you have these issues, then it is possible that the battery didn't last while you were coding.. just a guess!!!

- yes for 1series and some other ones, you must select the e89 chassis, which I believe is the new BMW Z4, because there is no E82/e88 (1series) chassis in the NCS expert versions on the internet and because E89 is similar and will work fine

- if you find the right cable it should cost somewhere between $50USD to $120USD on ebay or other sellers. This is not very expensive if you think about what possibilities you have with this software.

this is something I want to say to everyone. Everyone likes to say its very difficult and scary and risky procedure. The truth is, if you follow everyones advice about how to code safely and carefully, you should be fine, like me & many others!!

Here is a detailed guide on using NCS Expert
http://forums.bimmerforums.com/forum....php?t=1562077
BUT there is some setup required to get NCS Expert to work in the first place, I don't know the link off by heart so have to look around!
__________________
fs: oem lip spoiler - from e82 135i , pm me
fatjoez is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      02-03-2011, 04:02 AM   #36
aacabriolet
Captain
 
aacabriolet's Avatar
 
Drives: '14 435i Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SA

Posts: 836
iTrader: (0)

Thanks fatjoez.

Something interesting, another guy on a different forum told me to never code when the car is on, and always hook the car up to a charger as the charge must be constant >13.6

Quote:
never leave the car running while coding/programming .. put the car on a battery charger and THEN do it ... battery voltage must be above 13.6V
So i dunno
aacabriolet is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      02-03-2011, 07:08 AM   #37
Dackelone
Moderator
 
Dackelone's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i Silber mit/Rot 6MT N54
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bayern, Germany

Posts: 16,401
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by aacabriolet View Post
Thanks fatjoez.

Something interesting, another guy on a different forum told me to never code when the car is on, and always hook the car up to a charger as the charge must be constant >13.6



So i dunno

My car and the tweenty other 1er's was coded in the parking lot of Burger King in Nuernberg. lol No charger was used. The coding only takes a few minutes.

IF anyone decided to do their "own" coding... you better make a backup file of your OE sw... otherwise you might be screwed if something goes wrong with your coding.

for the few euros I paid to have my car coded... I am a happy camper. Bascially 14 euros per code/change to the car. You can't be that.

Dackel
Dackelone is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      02-03-2011, 07:09 AM   #38
wolfe
Lieutenant
 
wolfe's Avatar
 
Drives: 128i M-Sport / 944 Turbo S
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA

Posts: 491
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by aacabriolet View Post
Thanks fatjoez.
Something interesting, another guy on a different forum told me to never code when the car is on, and always hook the car up to a charger as the charge must be constant >13.6
I'm fairly sure BMW technicians use a battery charger when they're applying an update to the ECU. Seems like a good idea to me.
wolfe is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-03-2011, 10:59 PM   #39
fatjoez
baller
 
fatjoez's Avatar
 
Drives: lambo
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the crib

Posts: 675
iTrader: (0)

The Battery Charger Idea is fine if you REALLY wanna get that protective lol
The truth is though as long as your battery has a decent charge & your car engine is running (as a failsafe for the battery) you should be fine...

The Write To ECU part only takes about 30 seconds or so,
your car battery is free to die anytime except then lol

So yea in general, for the average coder, if your battery's okay,
just start the car & get on with it

OR if you are in europe / have a local coder yeah sure pay them to do it.
I didn't have that luxury haha

But all in all it was a good experience and I'm more than comfortable with coding now as anyone else who has done it will be
__________________
fs: oem lip spoiler - from e82 135i , pm me

Last edited by fatjoez; 02-04-2011 at 07:06 PM.
fatjoez is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      02-03-2011, 11:02 PM   #40
AW128i
Major
 
AW128i's Avatar
 
Drives: E82 N51
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Southeastern, PA

Posts: 1,004
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to AW128i
When you say the car is "on," do you mean with the engine running?? I was under the impression that you shouldn't code the car with the engine running.
AW128i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-24-2011, 06:36 PM   #41
aacabriolet
Captain
 
aacabriolet's Avatar
 
Drives: '14 435i Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SA

Posts: 836
iTrader: (0)

Bump. Any more coding experiences/tips with NCS Expert?

Is it safe to code with the car engine on?? Keep hearing different stories.. Some say u should NEVER code with car on so I dunno?
aacabriolet is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      06-25-2011, 01:23 AM   #42
1LazyBmw
Brigadier General
 
1LazyBmw's Avatar
 
Drives: E82
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Toronto

Posts: 3,987
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by aacabriolet View Post
Bump. Any more coding experiences/tips with NCS Expert?

Is it safe to code with the car engine on?? Keep hearing different stories.. Some say u should NEVER code with car on so I dunno?
Ok let me help you all clarify this.. because I think you guys are getting confused with what everyone is saying about "coding with your engine on"....

First off you do not code with your engine physically running.. when they say your engine has to be on this is what you do:

Put your key fob into the ignition hole.. press your start button once or twice I forgot without pressing down on the brake (auto) or brake and clutch (manual).. then you will turn on the car. Now you can code your car.

I've been coding for 1ers and some e90s for the past few months.. so I guess I can help answer any questions you guys have..
__________________
1LazyBmw is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      06-25-2011, 12:41 PM   #43
aacabriolet
Captain
 
aacabriolet's Avatar
 
Drives: '14 435i Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SA

Posts: 836
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1LazyBmw View Post
Ok let me help you all clarify this.. because I think you guys are getting confused with what everyone is saying about "coding with your engine on"....

First off you do not code with your engine physically running.. when they say your engine has to be on this is what you do:

Put your key fob into the ignition hole.. press your start button once or twice I forgot without pressing down on the brake (auto) or brake and clutch (manual).. then you will turn on the car. Now you can code your car.

I've been coding for 1ers and some e90s for the past few months.. so I guess I can help answer any questions you guys have..
Thanks mate! Appreciate the response. SO just ignition on then, that is what i was looking for thanks

Going to try to enable the digital speedo on my car now.

I select E89 chassis right, and then change BC_DIGITAL_V to "aktiv" ? Then code the car in NCS Expert so it transfers the file over?

Hope it works! What if my KOMBI software (for example) is > the DATEN files for NCSExpert? Will I get errors then and my dash freak out like i've heard of?

EDIT: ok jumped the gun and did it and it works got the latest DATEN files so that probably helped.

Thanks

Last edited by aacabriolet; 06-25-2011 at 01:32 PM.
aacabriolet is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      06-25-2011, 02:32 PM   #44
1LazyBmw
Brigadier General
 
1LazyBmw's Avatar
 
Drives: E82
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Toronto

Posts: 3,987
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by aacabriolet View Post
Thanks mate! Appreciate the response. SO just ignition on then, that is what i was looking for thanks

Going to try to enable the digital speedo on my car now.

I select E89 chassis right, and then change BC_DIGITAL_V to "aktiv" ? Then code the car in NCS Expert so it transfers the file over?

Hope it works! What if my KOMBI software (for example) is > the DATEN files for NCSExpert? Will I get errors then and my dash freak out like i've heard of?

EDIT: ok jumped the gun and did it and it works got the latest DATEN files so that probably helped.

Thanks
Glad I can help... let me know if you have any other questions.
__________________
1LazyBmw is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24 AM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST