BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-22-2013, 10:25 PM   #1
NJ1
Enlisted Member
NJ1's Avatar
United_States
2
Rep
37
Posts

Drives: 2011 135i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

N55 fault code help please

I'm running a stock 2011 135i N55 DCT with JB4 stage 2

Recently on two occasions when starting the car the Engine Malfunction (reduced power) warning showed. Shutting the car off and then starting it back up makes it disappear. Also the car has developed a rough idle as the temperature dips. Also get some loud backfires going from first to second

So I decided to read what codes it was throwing and they are as follows:

2C90 Blow-Off valve mechanics -- Ignore, tuner code
28A0 Throttle-valve angle pressure -- Ignore, tuner code
2C6F No Description Found (Boost pressure sensor, electrical: Short circuit to B+)
277A No Description Found (Air mass sensor, signal: Short-circuit or line break (open circuit))
AAAA No Description Found
0000 No Description Found

Found the 2c6f and 277a codes on n54tech but still need help.

Does anyone know what the two other codes are? and what should I do to fix the issue based on these codes? Check the wiring and connections? Check the charge pipe for breaks?

I really don't know. Any help would be much appreciated. I have to take the car in for a oil change so I would like to figure this out if I can before I clear the codes and bring the car into the dealership.
Appreciate 0
      12-23-2013, 02:16 AM   #2
BMist371
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
219
Posts

Drives: 2012 135i Vert
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Lenoir, N.C.

iTrader: (1)

Your air sensor is located on your charge pipe, so I would check for charge pipe related issues first since it is relatively easy to get too. Im sure someone else can chime in with the other codes. But it would definately seem like that could very well be the issue.
Appreciate 0
      12-23-2013, 07:06 AM   #3
ONDEMAND
TORQUE
ONDEMAND's Avatar
17
Rep
312
Posts

Drives: with 3 pedals
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USMFA

iTrader: (0)

^ +1

Start with the charge pipe. Check the connections on both ends (throttle body and lower CP) and overall for any cracks. Remove the MAP sensor and access the condition of it and the O ring.
__________________
2011 135iCP | 6MT | M-SPORT | FBO PS1 + Inlet | Koni Yellows | MPSS |550i Clutch | 93oct | 355/454
Appreciate 0
      12-23-2013, 02:11 PM   #4
NJ1
Enlisted Member
NJ1's Avatar
United_States
2
Rep
37
Posts

Drives: 2011 135i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

I won't be home till late tonight when it's too dark to really check out the charge pipe properly. I will check it tomorrow more thoroughly during the day and I will keep you guys posted. I hope it's nothing too crazy and that maybe it is just a leak
Appreciate 0
      12-23-2013, 03:06 PM   #5
NJ1
Enlisted Member
NJ1's Avatar
United_States
2
Rep
37
Posts

Drives: 2011 135i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

I just stepped out during lunch to check real quick and the charge pipe where it attaches to the throttle body is slightly loose. With not too much force I can move it up and down about a quarter inch to half inch up and down. Could that be the issue? How do you tighten it?

Also I should probably mention that I had broke the tmap clip when I installed my jb4 a few months ago . Never had an issue till recently it seems tightly secured in there though. Don't judge me :-/ I just put some rubber bands on there now to make sure it's tight. Could that also be causing my issues? Before anyone says anything I'm still learning lol

Last edited by NJ1; 12-23-2013 at 03:30 PM.
Appreciate 0
      12-23-2013, 04:03 PM   #6
Lmaiuri
Second Lieutenant
18
Rep
204
Posts

Drives: Le Mans 135i M-Sport
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Arlington, Virginia

iTrader: (0)

When you do things wrong on these cars, codes tend to pop up. Even when you do things right, gremlins are everywhere. I think you should replace your sensor and you should get a blow-off valve with an after market charge pipe as well. You can't break things that are critical to your cars performance (i.e. the senors that dictate air density and fuel metering) and just put rubber bands on it dude.

Edit: codes are definitely calling for a new MAP.
Appreciate 0
      12-23-2013, 04:49 PM   #7
NJ1
Enlisted Member
NJ1's Avatar
United_States
2
Rep
37
Posts

Drives: 2011 135i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

Rubber bands are a very temporary fix till I get a new sensor. Where can I purchase a new tmap sensor?
Appreciate 0
      12-23-2013, 06:55 PM   #8
Suds
EX One Addict
Suds's Avatar
United_States
12
Rep
344
Posts

Drives: 2011 Audi S4, 2008 Vette 6mt
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lone Star State

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NJ1 View Post
I just stepped out during lunch to check real quick and the charge pipe where it attaches to the throttle body is slightly loose. With not too much force I can move it up and down about a quarter inch to half inch up and down. Could that be the issue? How do you tighten it?

Also I should probably mention that I had broke the tmap clip when I installed my jb4 a few months ago . Never had an issue till recently it seems tightly secured in there though. Don't judge me :-/ I just put some rubber bands on there now to make sure it's tight. Could that also be causing my issues? Before anyone says anything I'm still learning lol
If you can move the charge pipe up and down at the intake connection, my guess is that the charge pipe is about to break, Mine broke two weeks ago, the two sides of the charge pipe tore off with a Nice Big Boom. Thankfully I was about 4 blocks from my house and had already purchased an aftermarket CP.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      12-23-2013, 07:51 PM   #9
NJ1
Enlisted Member
NJ1's Avatar
United_States
2
Rep
37
Posts

Drives: 2011 135i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

Where can I order a new tmap sensor?

Tired of worrying just bought evolution racewerks charge pipe, now I just need to figure out where I can purchase the sensor
Appreciate 0
      12-23-2013, 08:10 PM   #10
Suds
EX One Addict
Suds's Avatar
United_States
12
Rep
344
Posts

Drives: 2011 Audi S4, 2008 Vette 6mt
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lone Star State

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NJ1 View Post
Where can I order a new tmap sensor?

Tired of worrying just bought evolution racewerks charge pipe, now I just need to figure out where I can purchase the sensor
I would check the dealer first, at least find out how painful it might be.

Oh, my ERCP took some work to put on. Overspray on the inside on the O-Ring lands that needed to be polished off and the flexible coupler was too short for my liking. I have a longer coupler on order from siliconeintakes.com

Last edited by Suds; 12-23-2013 at 09:44 PM.
Appreciate 0
      12-23-2013, 09:11 PM   #11
BMist371
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
219
Posts

Drives: 2012 135i Vert
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Lenoir, N.C.

iTrader: (1)

ERCP is a nice unit. Just installed the black anodized one and matching IC kit on my vert. Awesome fitment. Love the constant power in the cold winter air. Car is begging for a downpipe. OP, the chargepipe shouldnt move. Mine was very firm and in place. Something is wrong most likely. The ER is a quick and easy swap.
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2013, 12:10 AM   #12
NJ1
Enlisted Member
NJ1's Avatar
United_States
2
Rep
37
Posts

Drives: 2011 135i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

For anyone wondering where to get tmap sensor I found it at ecs tuning for $86.84
http://www.ecstuning.com/Search/Site...sor/ES1884768/
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2013, 10:56 AM   #13
ONDEMAND
TORQUE
ONDEMAND's Avatar
17
Rep
312
Posts

Drives: with 3 pedals
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USMFA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NJ1 View Post
Where can I order a new tmap sensor?

Tired of worrying just bought evolution racewerks charge pipe, now I just need to figure out where I can purchase the sensor
Just got one from Turner. Took them a day or so to ship it out and had it in maybe 5 days tops. I hate those fragile little clips!
__________________
2011 135iCP | 6MT | M-SPORT | FBO PS1 + Inlet | Koni Yellows | MPSS |550i Clutch | 93oct | 355/454
Appreciate 0
      03-05-2017, 11:48 AM   #14
John ler
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: Audi s3
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Yorkshire

iTrader: (0)

Sorry to bring old thread back to life, but did you sort this problem out, please ? Thanks
Appreciate 0
      04-12-2017, 02:03 PM   #15
playground
Lieutenant
Hong Kong
14
Rep
480
Posts

Drives: M3
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: North York

iTrader: (0)

Bump, have been getting 2C6F No Description Found (Boost pressure sensor, electrical: Short circuit to B+) lately.
__________________
Become like water my friend.
Appreciate 0
      04-12-2017, 02:06 PM   #16
Xer0449
Private First Class
16
Rep
145
Posts

Drives: 14' Evo GSR
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: LA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by playground View Post
Bump, have been getting 2C6F No Description Found (Boost pressure sensor, electrical: Short circuit to B+) lately.
Do you have the JB4 BT connect kit by any chance?
Appreciate 0
      04-12-2017, 02:09 PM   #17
playground
Lieutenant
Hong Kong
14
Rep
480
Posts

Drives: M3
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: North York

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xer0449 View Post
Do you have the JB4 BT connect kit by any chance?
Nope, car's stock aside from intake and charge pipe.
__________________
Become like water my friend.
Appreciate 0
      07-09-2017, 10:25 AM   #18
kevinjt
Second Lieutenant
kevinjt's Avatar
33
Rep
255
Posts

Drives: 335i M-Sport 14'
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Puerto Rico

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by playground View Post
Bump, have been getting 2C6F No Description Found (Boost pressure sensor, electrical: Short circuit to B+) lately.
Did you figure what was the issue ? Im having the same problem
Appreciate 0
      07-28-2017, 06:15 PM   #19
Mad E92
Private First Class
8
Rep
107
Posts

Drives: 2011 BMW 335i
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: San Francisco, California

iTrader: (0)

I have the same 2C6F code!! How can we fix this?
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:47 AM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST