BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-09-2012, 09:35 PM   #1277
Gdubz
Private First Class
 
Gdubz's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Crimson Red 135i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fairfax, VA

Posts: 172
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to Gdubz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gdubz View Post
Today driving home from work, same deal: "Service Engine Soon" and I get the AP and plug it in, two codes thrown.

Quote:
P0302 - Cylinder 2 Misfire Detected
P29CE - Misfire, cylinder 2
Rocking the "Stg1 Aggressive I8A0S v301.ptm" map w/ 93 octane, about half a tank of gas left.
Couldn't reproduce the misfire with the BMW Tech doing a ride-along, but the car stuttered slightly and he was saying it's likely the fuel pump not being able to provide sufficient fuel that the tune is demanding, and not a problem with the injectors...

He's installing the catless DP's for me today and I'll flash Stg2 tomorrow, see if I still throw codes.

Anyone know the specific values the maps change? From what (stock) to what (stage1). The tech said he might be able to better diagnose the issue if he knew what the actual values were. I could datalog for him, but what my car outputs isn't necessarily what the values SHOULD be, so he can't tell what's wrong.
__________________
Gdubz is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-09-2012, 10:00 PM   #1278
f1rst 1
Lieutenant
 
f1rst 1's Avatar
 
Drives: '09 Cayman S
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Denver

Posts: 456
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gdubz View Post
Couldn't reproduce the misfire with the BMW Tech doing a ride-along, but the car stuttered slightly and he was saying it's likely the fuel pump not being able to provide sufficient fuel that the tune is demanding, and not a problem with the injectors...

He's installing the catless DP's for me today and I'll flash Stg2 tomorrow, see if I still throw codes.

Anyone know the specific values the maps change? From what (stock) to what (stage1). The tech said he might be able to better diagnose the issue if he knew what the actual values were. I could datalog for him, but what my car outputs isn't necessarily what the values SHOULD be, so he can't tell what's wrong.

Had the same issue with misfires. I swapped plugs around, and the misfire always followed the coilpack. Replaced a coilpack for 45 bucks from the dealer and the problem was solved. Haven't had an issue since, new or old maps.
__________________
Current: 2009 Cayman S
Former:

2013 BMW 335i XDrive M Sport 6spd:::::Cobb Tuned '09 135i
f1rst 1 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-09-2012, 10:25 PM   #1279
Gdubz
Private First Class
 
Gdubz's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Crimson Red 135i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fairfax, VA

Posts: 172
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to Gdubz
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1rst 1 View Post
Had the same issue with misfires. I swapped plugs around, and the misfire always followed the coilpack. Replaced a coilpack for 45 bucks from the dealer and the problem was solved. Haven't had an issue since, new or old maps.
Replacing the plugs tomorrow, will look into the coilpack tomorrow when I pick up my car.

Cheers for the info!
__________________
Gdubz is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-09-2012, 10:31 PM   #1280
f1rst 1
Lieutenant
 
f1rst 1's Avatar
 
Drives: '09 Cayman S
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Denver

Posts: 456
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gdubz View Post
Replacing the plugs tomorrow, will look into the coilpack tomorrow when I pick up my car.

Cheers for the info!
np...my issue would go away as soon as I flashed it back to stock....the second I boosted with the Cobb installed, I got an immediate power loss, an SES light and an amazing motorboat sound from the car.
__________________
Current: 2009 Cayman S
Former:

2013 BMW 335i XDrive M Sport 6spd:::::Cobb Tuned '09 135i
f1rst 1 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-10-2012, 09:13 AM   #1281
Gdubz
Private First Class
 
Gdubz's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Crimson Red 135i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fairfax, VA

Posts: 172
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to Gdubz
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1rst 1 View Post
np...my issue would go away as soon as I flashed it back to stock....the second I boosted with the Cobb installed, I got an immediate power loss, an SES light and an amazing motorboat sound from the car.
This sounds exactly like my case. I went back to stock yesterday and tried to reproduce the code before going to the BMW service center, couldn't pull it off no matter how much throttle I gave it. Tech said to reflash again and try to throw the code and viola...

Only problem is I can't replace parts under warranty if the flash is on there when the Tech reads the codes. So starting with the cheaper-to-replace parts: spark plugs.
__________________
Gdubz is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-10-2012, 09:26 AM   #1282
f1rst 1
Lieutenant
 
f1rst 1's Avatar
 
Drives: '09 Cayman S
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Denver

Posts: 456
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gdubz View Post
This sounds exactly like my case. I went back to stock yesterday and tried to reproduce the code before going to the BMW service center, couldn't pull it off no matter how much throttle I gave it. Tech said to reflash again and try to throw the code and viola...

Only problem is I can't replace parts under warranty if the flash is on there when the Tech reads the codes. So starting with the cheaper-to-replace parts: spark plugs.
Have you purchased the spark plug socket adapter yet? You'll need that to remove the plugs. How many miles are on your car? Just an fyi, my car only had 18k on it when this happened...I swapped plugs around before I bought any parts and found that it kept following the same coilpack so I'm still running stock plugs. Lemme know how it all goes and what the issue was.
__________________
Current: 2009 Cayman S
Former:

2013 BMW 335i XDrive M Sport 6spd:::::Cobb Tuned '09 135i
f1rst 1 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-10-2012, 10:19 AM   #1283
Gdubz
Private First Class
 
Gdubz's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Crimson Red 135i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fairfax, VA

Posts: 172
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to Gdubz
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1rst 1 View Post
Have you purchased the spark plug socket adapter yet? You'll need that to remove the plugs. How many miles are on your car? Just an fyi, my car only had 18k on it when this happened...I swapped plugs around before I bought any parts and found that it kept following the same coilpack so I'm still running stock plugs. Lemme know how it all goes and what the issue was.
Yeah, I purchased the Bosch plugs and socket from BMS. 52,3xx miles on my 08 auto-trans 135i. I purchased it used a little over a year and a half ago with 38k miles on it and I haven't had the plugs swapped since I got the car.

I should be getting a call in an hour or so about when I can pickup the car, I'll bring up the coilpack with the tech and share the results.
__________________
Gdubz is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-11-2012, 02:55 PM   #1284
Gdubz
Private First Class
 
Gdubz's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Crimson Red 135i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fairfax, VA

Posts: 172
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to Gdubz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gdubz View Post
I should be getting a call in an hour or so about when I can pickup the car, I'll bring up the coilpack with the tech and share the results.
Well, I just now finally got the car back. Tech removed the old spark plugs and even though my Cobb AP was throwing Cyl2 Misfire codes, the plug from Cyl5 was the one coated in gas. He installed the new spark plugs and swapped the coil pack positions. So if I run into misfire troubles again, and Cyl5's plug is dirty, then it's definitely an injector problem and not a coil pack problem.
__________________
Gdubz is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-11-2012, 07:05 PM   #1285
evilstib
Bimmer Newbie
 
Drives: CSM N54 Prem/Comf/Sound
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bear's Ass Canada! (Fort Mac)

Posts: 292
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to evilstib
Anyone else notice a shutter/stutter/shimmy/shake in the car once full boost and you let off the gas a bit?

I'm running stage 1 + FMIC 4.01. Seems odd.
evilstib is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      05-11-2012, 07:13 PM   #1286
1911A145
Captain
 
1911A145's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Port Saint Lucie, FL

Posts: 773
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by evilstib View Post
Anyone else notice a shutter/stutter/shimmy/shake in the car once full boost and you let off the gas a bit?

I'm running stage 1 + FMIC 4.01. Seems odd.
Yes
1911A145 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-12-2012, 03:57 AM   #1287
RimasRS
Colonel
 
RimasRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i MT 2009 AW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Europe

Posts: 2,397
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ErvGotti View Post
I got it once, but all I did was shut off the car and restarted and it fuctioned normally afterwards.
So it shouldn't be like that? Because I see it every time when hook up AP to my car tried to reflash map doesn't work. What should I do
RimasRS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-12-2012, 06:49 AM   #1288
RimasRS
Colonel
 
RimasRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i MT 2009 AW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Europe

Posts: 2,397
iTrader: (0)

Oh great I uninstalled and reinstalled COBB today and now when I connect to PC it says my AP no longer containing my stock BACK UP file it suggests to recover it when I'm pressing ok it crashes to "not responding program" What to do now?
RimasRS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-12-2012, 04:14 PM   #1289
ErvGotti
Major
 
Drives: 2008 135i 6MT
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bury St Edmunds UK

Posts: 1,168
iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2008 135i  [3.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by RimasRS View Post
So it shouldn't be like that? Because I see it every time when hook up AP to my car tried to reflash map doesn't work. What should I do
Quote:
Originally Posted by RimasRS View Post
Oh great I uninstalled and reinstalled COBB today and now when I connect to PC it says my AP no longer containing my stock BACK UP file it suggests to recover it when I'm pressing ok it crashes to "not responding program" What to do now?
Yeah it shouldn't be like that, I'd Email Cobb directly and see what they come up with.
ErvGotti is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-12-2012, 04:19 PM   #1290
1911A145
Captain
 
1911A145's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Port Saint Lucie, FL

Posts: 773
iTrader: (4)

Can someone tell me what the stage 1 aggressive v4.01 with just a DCI is suppose to run for boost levels? I am showing 15.8 with a taper of 12.5 toward redline. I thought stage 2 would be running those boost levels since the stock turbo is topped out at 18-19 PSI?

Is the AP boost number reading a total of what both turbos are putting out as a whole (like 8+8=16 psi) or as a whole (15 pounds per turbo)

Im confused on these things and would appreciate any insight. I also plan on going with the stage 1 +FMIC soon and then eventually DP stage 2 map. how much more boost over that 15 psi number am I to expect? Thanks all.
1911A145 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-12-2012, 05:40 PM   #1291
Lambobimmer
Captain
 
Drives: 2009 Z4 sDrive35i DCT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Harrisburg, NC

Posts: 794
iTrader: (10)

15 for Stage 1 and 18 for Stage 2 is about right. I have ran both and that is about what I saw.
Lambobimmer is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-12-2012, 11:50 PM   #1292
1911A145
Captain
 
1911A145's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Port Saint Lucie, FL

Posts: 773
iTrader: (4)

ok thanks!
1911A145 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-13-2012, 06:49 AM   #1293
RimasRS
Colonel
 
RimasRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i MT 2009 AW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Europe

Posts: 2,397
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ErvGotti View Post
Yeah it shouldn't be like that, I'd Email Cobb directly and see what they come up with.
Thank you. Strange but you were the only person who paid some attention to my questions. Thanks again will try to contact COBB
RimasRS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-13-2012, 07:08 AM   #1294
RimasRS
Colonel
 
RimasRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i MT 2009 AW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Europe

Posts: 2,397
iTrader: (0)

Does anyone tried to hook up AP to PC last few days for me it doesn't work and I found

ATTENTION - COBB Tuning is experiencing a server outage that is impacting our forums, blog, AccessTUNER software downloads, AccessPORT firmware updates, map conversion utilities and some downloadable documents. We are working to resolve the issue as quickly as possible. Thank you for your patience.
RimasRS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-13-2012, 03:58 PM   #1295
f1rst 1
Lieutenant
 
f1rst 1's Avatar
 
Drives: '09 Cayman S
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Denver

Posts: 456
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gdubz View Post
Well, I just now finally got the car back. Tech removed the old spark plugs and even though my Cobb AP was throwing Cyl2 Misfire codes, the plug from Cyl5 was the one coated in gas. He installed the new spark plugs and swapped the coil pack positions. So if I run into misfire troubles again, and Cyl5's plug is dirty, then it's definitely an injector problem and not a coil pack problem.
nice...any other updates after a few days?
__________________
Current: 2009 Cayman S
Former:

2013 BMW 335i XDrive M Sport 6spd:::::Cobb Tuned '09 135i
f1rst 1 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-14-2012, 10:58 AM   #1296
COBB Tuning
Major
 
COBB Tuning's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin, TX

Posts: 1,044
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RimasRS View Post
Oh great I uninstalled and reinstalled COBB today and now when I connect to PC it says my AP no longer containing my stock BACK UP file it suggests to recover it when I'm pressing ok it crashes to "not responding program" What to do now?
What version of AP Manager are you using? The servers for APM and firmware updates should be working better now.

Boost levels will vary with atmospheric conditions as these cars target load, not boost (this is the OEM logic). 15 psi at Stage 1 levels would be normal.

Misfires on these cars are very common. Here is a video describing why you only see those codes when tuned (at first) and how to diagnose coilpacks versus plugs.

Ian

COBB Tuning is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-14-2012, 02:00 PM   #1297
RimasRS
Colonel
 
RimasRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i MT 2009 AW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Europe

Posts: 2,397
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBB Tuning View Post
What version of AP Manager are you using? The servers for APM and firmware updates should be working better now.

Boost levels will vary with atmospheric conditions as these cars target load, not boost (this is the OEM logic). 15 psi at Stage 1 levels would be normal.

Misfires on these cars are very common. Here is a video describing why you only see those codes when tuned (at first) and how to diagnose coilpacks versus plugs.

Ian
COBB servers still doesn't work at least I cant update my app also AP manager doesn't work because it goes for updates and then crashes.
Thanks for giving me a bit attention. Just a few questions more.
When I go to Live DATA>Boost it shows 0.00 psi or when I'm accelerating it goes up but never goes below 0.00 I can see few strange lines also on Live data log list these --->
Attached Images
 

Last edited by RimasRS; 05-14-2012 at 02:13 PM.
RimasRS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2012, 10:18 AM   #1298
MaC-N54-E82
N54 Lover
 
Drives: 2008 135i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: OR

Posts: 101
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JHOOPS2 View Post
Something definitely isn't right somewhere. I am IJEOS as well, and so far I have zero issues to report. I would uninstall it from the AP and re-download it again. Maybe something became corrupt at some point during the process.
Switched the tune from Stg1 v4.01 Sport ST to Stg1 v4.01 Sport LT and it runs beautifully! v4.01 is buttery smooth!
__________________
MAC
2008 N54 E82|AW over CR
Sport|Premium|Cold Weather|Comfort Access
BMW PE|COBB Tuned|M3 FSB|Michelin PSS|
B12 Pro-Kit|M3 Rear Subframe Bushings
MaC-N54-E82 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:21 AM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST