BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-17-2011, 04:36 PM   #1
sparoz
Brigadier General
sparoz's Avatar
Australia
71
Rep
4,845
Posts

 
Drives: VO 1///M; AW X3 30d
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sunshine Coast

iTrader: (0)

Data logger options?

I did try to , but not much come up. What's everyone using? Like to have gauges like oil temps, IAT, etc as well as track data.
__________________
1///M - Valencia Orange
X3 30d - Alpine White

Under Six Seconds http://www.under6s.com
Appreciate 0
      11-17-2011, 04:44 PM   #2
int2str
Captain
int2str's Avatar
Germany
18
Rep
655
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 135i
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (2)

I use a Bluetooth ODBII adapter off eBay and an Android app called "Torque" for logging / gauges:
https://market.android.com/details?id=org.prowl.torque

For timing and video data I use an Android app called "Trackmaster":
https://market.android.com/details?i...id.Trackmaster
Appreciate 0
      11-17-2011, 04:50 PM   #3
Snertz
H O O N
Snertz's Avatar
United_States
10
Rep
580
Posts

 
Drives: ein M?!
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NY

iTrader: (9)

Send a message via AIM to Snertz Send a message via Skype™ to Snertz
Lots of different routes to go for this. If you're running a piggyback tune they can tap the data off the canbus and log to a laptop via usb. Otherwise you could go for a standalone setup by a variety of companies out there.

For track data you could use something like the Traqmate setup.

Personally I was running a proceed on my old 135i and was using that to log AFRs, boost, oil and water temps etc. Currently looking into an Innovate Motorsports LC-1 / MTX-L setup to log AFR's
__________________

U WOT M8?
Appreciate 0
      11-17-2011, 05:32 PM   #4
Advevo
Captain
47
Rep
914
Posts

 
Drives: White 1M
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Country where the taxes are too high!!

iTrader: (0)

Get aim solo DL and connect it to the can bus.

Then you have

Wheelspeeds
brake pressure
oil temp
water temp
gas pedal position
gear
and lots more

BMW PT6 protocol
Appreciate 0
      11-17-2011, 05:39 PM   #5
EmmDrei
Lieutenant
Germany
8
Rep
401
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 Saphire Black 1M Coupé
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: 300km to the Nordschleife

iTrader: (0)

A very cool 'lightweight' logger which also allows onboard videos with (GPS) data overlays:

http://gps-laptimer.de/Home.html

I use it both on my IPhone (for timing and as the logger) and on my IPod (with a tomtom mount to make onboard vids). Great little gadget for those that want something that just works without spending a fortune.

Not a pro solution, but great for the user that just wants some basic info during a trackday.
__________________
The best piece of road - worldwide.
Appreciate 0
      11-17-2011, 05:43 PM   #6
EmmDrei
Lieutenant
Germany
8
Rep
401
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 Saphire Black 1M Coupé
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: 300km to the Nordschleife

iTrader: (0)

Andre, do you actually have a Solo DL? Have you been able to use it yet? I was thinking of getting one for my e36. Have you run into anything negative so far?
__________________
The best piece of road - worldwide.
Appreciate 0
      11-17-2011, 06:53 PM   #7
gobuffs
Captain
8
Rep
614
Posts

 
Drives: E30 M3 S65 (race car)
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Texas

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by EmmDrei View Post
Andre, do you actually have a Solo DL? Have you been able to use it yet? I was thinking of getting one for my e36. Have you run into anything negative so far?
I wouldn't get a DL for an E36...there's no point over the regular SOLO. You can't get the data from the ECU....maybe thru a hack OBDII option, but not the data like you can get on the newer cars with the CAN BUS.
Appreciate 0
      11-17-2011, 07:18 PM   #8
EmmDrei
Lieutenant
Germany
8
Rep
401
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 Saphire Black 1M Coupé
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: 300km to the Nordschleife

iTrader: (0)

gobuffs: I was hoping I can at least get some basic data from my ECU (such as brake and throttle info), but I haven't spoken to the german AIM people yet. Do you have an idea what works on an e36 ('93, 325i)? I need GPS timing. I need predictive timing and I need to save that info. If I can get additional info from the ECU, that would help. Any ideas are greatly appreciated!
__________________
The best piece of road - worldwide.
Appreciate 0
      11-17-2011, 09:30 PM   #9
gobuffs
Captain
8
Rep
614
Posts

 
Drives: E30 M3 S65 (race car)
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Texas

iTrader: (4)

The ABS on a 93 E36 doesn't talk to the ECU. There is no way to get brake data. AIM doesn't list the E36 ECU as a compatible ECU. I am pretty sure the only ECUs they lust as compatible run CAN BUS. A 93 325 isn't even OBDII, there is very little info you can get from that ECU.

The GPS and lap times you can get from the SOLO for $400 (I think that is the price of the SOLO)
Appreciate 0
      11-18-2011, 01:55 AM   #10
sparoz
Brigadier General
sparoz's Avatar
Australia
71
Rep
4,845
Posts

 
Drives: VO 1///M; AW X3 30d
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sunshine Coast

iTrader: (0)

Thanks everyone! I think the Solo DL looks like might do everything I want. Does it log boost pressure vs time as well?
__________________
1///M - Valencia Orange
X3 30d - Alpine White

Under Six Seconds http://www.under6s.com
Appreciate 0
      11-19-2011, 05:14 PM   #11
sparoz
Brigadier General
sparoz's Avatar
Australia
71
Rep
4,845
Posts

 
Drives: VO 1///M; AW X3 30d
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sunshine Coast

iTrader: (0)

Just found the Cobb accessport. Is there any thing like that without the tune? I want to have something that can measure all the parameters so I can see what each mod does.
__________________
1///M - Valencia Orange
X3 30d - Alpine White

Under Six Seconds http://www.under6s.com
Appreciate 0
      11-19-2011, 07:23 PM   #12
Advevo
Captain
47
Rep
914
Posts

 
Drives: White 1M
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Country where the taxes are too high!!

iTrader: (0)

peter.

I have a Solo DL. It works perfect it s everything i wanted.

But for you the SOLO is good enough. Because E36 has no can to get those parameters from the ecu.

But the solo gives GPS lap time and predictive lap time. 0 to 100 sprints or 0 to 160 sprints etc.

Just put it on you're front screen it recognize the track you're on or otherwise you can put coordinates in so it wil recognize the track start finish next time.
Appreciate 0
      11-19-2011, 08:02 PM   #13
MDORPHN
Colonel
41
Rep
2,544
Posts

 
Drives: AW 1M
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Wash, DC

iTrader: (0)

I'm using a SOLO timer and have installed a P3 v.2 vent gauge (which plugs into the OBDII port).

Neil
Appreciate 0
      11-19-2011, 11:35 PM   #14
m3kerry
SCCA STU
m3kerry's Avatar
United_States
11
Rep
609
Posts

 
Drives: 335i Dinan stage 2 / 1 M
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Little Rock

iTrader: (0)

Race-keeper works really well.
__________________
Thanks to: Hixson BMW, Race-Keeper, Koni, BimmerHaus, & Hoosier
2012 SUMMER NATIONALS SCCA PRO-SOLO BONUS CHALLENGE WINNER
2012 SUMMER NATIONALS SCCA PRO-SOLO A STOCK CHAMPION
2012 SCCA DIXIE A STOCK CHAMPION
www.facebook.com/thatsrightracing
Appreciate 0
      11-20-2011, 02:19 AM   #15
sparoz
Brigadier General
sparoz's Avatar
Australia
71
Rep
4,845
Posts

 
Drives: VO 1///M; AW X3 30d
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sunshine Coast

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MDORPHN View Post
I'm using a SOLO timer and have installed a P3 v.2 vent gauge (which plugs into the OBDII port).

Neil
The P3 looks good.
__________________
1///M - Valencia Orange
X3 30d - Alpine White

Under Six Seconds http://www.under6s.com
Appreciate 0
      11-20-2011, 08:47 AM   #16
Franklin Joseph
Captain
11
Rep
758
Posts

 
Drives: X5 - MCS - M3
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MDORPHN View Post
I'm using a SOLO timer and have installed a P3 v.2 vent gauge (which plugs into the OBDII port).

Neil
The p3 only displays boost right?
Appreciate 0
      11-20-2011, 10:14 AM   #17
MDORPHN
Colonel
41
Rep
2,544
Posts

 
Drives: AW 1M
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Wash, DC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Franklin Joseph View Post
The p3 only displays boost right?
Nope, those were the first generation units. I also have egt, coolant temp, iat, ignition timing, charging amps, and a couple of other things!

Neil
Appreciate 0
      11-25-2011, 06:32 PM   #18
sparoz
Brigadier General
sparoz's Avatar
Australia
71
Rep
4,845
Posts

 
Drives: VO 1///M; AW X3 30d
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sunshine Coast

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MDORPHN View Post
Nope, those were the first generation units. I also have egt, coolant temp, iat, ignition timing, charging amps, and a couple of other things!

Neil
I just want to have these parameters logged and accessible from my computer. Don't really care for the gauges.
__________________
1///M - Valencia Orange
X3 30d - Alpine White

Under Six Seconds http://www.under6s.com
Appreciate 0
      11-25-2011, 08:06 PM   #19
mattm
Lieutenant
mattm's Avatar
United_States
10
Rep
501
Posts

 
Drives:
Join Date: Aug 2008

iTrader: (0)

Try http://www.chasecam.com/ Data and video.
__________________
Matt Murray

I am perfectly capable of learning from my mistakes. I will surely learn a great deal today.
Appreciate 0
      11-25-2011, 09:38 PM   #20
sparoz
Brigadier General
sparoz's Avatar
Australia
71
Rep
4,845
Posts

 
Drives: VO 1///M; AW X3 30d
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sunshine Coast

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattm View Post
Try http://www.chasecam.com/ Data and video.
Thanks! Looking into it right now.
__________________
1///M - Valencia Orange
X3 30d - Alpine White

Under Six Seconds http://www.under6s.com
Appreciate 0
      11-26-2011, 01:15 AM   #21
M3 Adjuster
Brigadier General
41
Rep
3,572
Posts

 
Drives: 1988 M3 gone .. 1M HERE!!
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Dallas, Tx

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Advevo View Post
Get aim solo DL and connect it to the can bus.

Then you have

Wheelspeeds
brake pressure
oil temp
water temp
gas pedal position
gear
and lots more

BMW PT6 protocol

on my wish list....
__________________
Lone Star BMW CCA Chapter president, Chief Driving Instructor
Appreciate 0
      11-26-2011, 01:19 AM   #22
sparoz
Brigadier General
sparoz's Avatar
Australia
71
Rep
4,845
Posts

 
Drives: VO 1///M; AW X3 30d
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sunshine Coast

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Advevo View Post
peter.

I have a Solo DL. It works perfect it s everything i wanted.

But for you the SOLO is good enough. Because E36 has no can to get those parameters from the ecu.

But the solo gives GPS lap time and predictive lap time. 0 to 100 sprints or 0 to 160 sprints etc.

Just put it on you're front screen it recognize the track you're on or otherwise you can put coordinates in so it wil recognize the track start finish next time.
Advevo, where did you get yours from? Did it come with all the necessary cables and instructions on how to connect it to the canbus? It looks simple to hook up if I got the right wires. Also, where did you run your cable through? The steering column, driver's kick or underneath the glove box?

Many thanks - just trying to vision how I can hook it up before I get it.
__________________
1///M - Valencia Orange
X3 30d - Alpine White

Under Six Seconds http://www.under6s.com
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24 PM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST