BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read




 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-29-2014, 10:45 AM   #1
IEDEI
Banned
United_States
799
Rep
4,693
Posts

Drives: L'Orange
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Brooklyn, NYC

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW 1M  [4.62]
TPMS sensors?

Anyone selling any? or KNOW which type we need? Any links or insight into where i should buy these?

From what i've found, we need the 2010+ TPMS sensors right? I'd like a set to get installed on my winter wheels setup.
Appreciate 0
      10-29-2014, 01:09 PM   #2
flzrider
Captain
19
Rep
721
Posts

Drives: AW 1M
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Miami, FL

iTrader: (1)

Not exactly the info you were looking for, but in my case, I just coded the TPMS out when I got a 2nd set of wheels/tires. When TPMS is coded out the system defaults to the RDC system (rolling diameter calculation). So I get the best of both worlds, no light on my dash, no sensors to buy, but I still maintain the safety system.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      10-29-2014, 01:15 PM   #3
IEDEI
Banned
United_States
799
Rep
4,693
Posts

Drives: L'Orange
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Brooklyn, NYC

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW 1M  [4.62]
Quote:
Originally Posted by flzrider View Post
Not exactly the info you were looking for, but in my case, I just coded the TPMS out when I got a 2nd set of wheels/tires. When TPMS is coded out the system defaults to the RDC system (rolling diameter calculation). So I get the best of both worlds, no light on my dash, no sensors to buy, but I still maintain the safety system.
well last winter i ran no TPMS in the winter on my 135is, but it sucked because when i had a slow leaking flat tire happen to me i hadn't been checking the tires constantly. So this time i'd like to have TPMS installed......
Appreciate 0
      10-29-2014, 01:57 PM   #4
flzrider
Captain
19
Rep
721
Posts

Drives: AW 1M
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Miami, FL

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by IEDEI View Post
well last winter i ran no TPMS in the winter on my 135is, but it sucked because when i had a slow leaking flat tire happen to me i hadn't been checking the tires constantly. So this time i'd like to have TPMS installed......
I assume you simply installed tires with no sensors, but didn't recode the car, right? Re-coding the computer would have enabled RDC and would have caught that.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      10-29-2014, 02:03 PM   #5
IEDEI
Banned
United_States
799
Rep
4,693
Posts

Drives: L'Orange
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Brooklyn, NYC

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW 1M  [4.62]
Quote:
Originally Posted by flzrider View Post
I assume you simply installed tires with no sensors, but didn't recode the car, right? Re-coding the computer would have enabled RDC and would have caught that.
ah interesting. yeah i just put on the tires and let the warning sit around all winter. i didn't even know there is a backup RDC
Appreciate 0
      10-30-2014, 07:25 PM   #6
Em/1
Lieutenant
Em/1's Avatar
United_States
26
Rep
485
Posts

Drives: 2011 1M VO
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2015 Audi A3  [0.00]
2015 Porsche Macan S  [0.00]
2011 BMW 1M  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by flzrider View Post
Not exactly the info you were looking for, but in my case, I just coded the TPMS out when I got a 2nd set of wheels/tires. When TPMS is coded out the system defaults to the RDC system (rolling diameter calculation). So I get the best of both worlds, no light on my dash, no sensors to buy, but I still maintain the safety system.
Nice--I just learned something very useful!
Appreciate 0
      10-31-2014, 03:26 PM   #7
IEDEI
Banned
United_States
799
Rep
4,693
Posts

Drives: L'Orange
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Brooklyn, NYC

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW 1M  [4.62]
anyone with info on where to get the sensors?

thanks!
Appreciate 0
      11-01-2014, 03:54 PM   #8
MDORPHN
Colonel
128
Rep
2,884
Posts

Drives: AW 1M
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Wash, DC

iTrader: (0)

Dealer or Tire Rack.

Neil
Appreciate 0
      11-03-2014, 09:01 AM   #9
flzrider
Captain
19
Rep
721
Posts

Drives: AW 1M
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Miami, FL

iTrader: (1)

Some board sponsors also sell OE brand sensors: http://www.1addicts.com/forums/showthread.php?t=338026
__________________
Appreciate 0
      11-10-2014, 05:15 PM   #10
TUN3D
Major
TUN3D's Avatar
90
Rep
1,147
Posts

Drives: none
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: none

iTrader: (17)

IEDEI > I just got my sensors a few days ago. I was lost in space when I started looking. I went to T P M S.com -- problem solved.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      11-25-2016, 08:12 PM   #11
Em/1
Lieutenant
Em/1's Avatar
United_States
26
Rep
485
Posts

Drives: 2011 1M VO
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2015 Audi A3  [0.00]
2015 Porsche Macan S  [0.00]
2011 BMW 1M  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by flzrider View Post
Not exactly the info you were looking for, but in my case, I just coded the TPMS out when I got a 2nd set of wheels/tires. When TPMS is coded out the system defaults to the RDC system (rolling diameter calculation). So I get the best of both worlds, no light on my dash, no sensors to buy, but I still maintain the safety system.
Is coding out the TPMS and easy do?
Appreciate 0
      03-17-2017, 12:53 PM   #12
Ronin135
Enlisted Member
Ronin135's Avatar
7
Rep
31
Posts

Drives: 2012 135i M trim
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Denver

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
TPMS or RDC

This should definetly be a sticky! I just bought a winter set of rims and was debating whether to get sensors or run without. Now I know to run RDC , but the question is this something an owner can do or is it still a shop function.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:01 PM.




1addicts
1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST